We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hmmm...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ria Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ria Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“hmmm...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

First off, we had trouble finding the place as the GPS took us to an empty lot, and typing the name of the hotel did not turn up anything. Finally found it after several calls to the hotel. We were exhausted when we arrived as we had a long, harried day of traveling troubles, and I have to say when we arrived I didn't feel very welcome. Not one bit of sympathy for having been lost. Maybe cuz we looked so terrible. Anyway, the Hotels.com site said this place had 2 twins and a sofabed, so I reserved it for me and my 2 adult daughters, but when we got there the gentleman took one look at us and said, sorry the room will not accommodate 3, and we do not have any triples in the hotel. I asked what is would cost for another room and he said, you booked through expedia, you will have to do it through them. Not sure why he couldn't just quote me a rate, but oh well. He did not want to help me at all to find an alternative solution and was curt. I used their guest computer to book right there in the lobby and printed out the reservation for him. Then everything was fine. After that, the service was great and the same gentleman was very helpful. Breakfast at the hotel was excellent, which was included. Location is close to the beach, rooms were nice, although I wasn't near my daughters. Upon checkout I was charged for 3 minibar items that I didn't use, didn't even know there was one in the room, and they reversed the charges even though I think they didn't believe me. Would I stay there again? Not sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeekendWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    111
    38
    19
    14
See reviews for
116
167
8
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Have just spent 4 nights at this hotel and very much enjoyed our stay the location is great and you can walk to a number of restaurants close by on the beach although would not recommend Julia's. the breakfast at the hotel was fairly average from a gastronomic experience but there was a huge selection of choice and the coffee was particularly good. The hotel was lovely and clean and clean towels were provided daily also there was a nice touch with a chocolate being provided when your bed was turned down for the evening. All the staff from Reception to the breakfast waiters/waitresses were friendly and helpful the concierge service was also excellent. It is difficult to compare this to other 5* hotels I have stayed around the world mainly on business but I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to friends. The bar was expensive but not out of line with a 5* hotel and this area of Portugal

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Parjohnyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We thought this hotel was in an excellent location between Vale do Lobo and Quinta do Lago, and a short walk from the beach and the restaurants Julia's, Izzy's and o Antonio's. The staff were exceptionally friendly, especially in the evening when they always knew our name. We particularly enjoyed using the spa, which we always managed to get to use to ourselves - there is a gym, steam room and jacuzzi. I suppose the only downside is that complimentary use is only between the hours of 6 and 8, but that did not affect us at all since we wanted to use the spa before dinner. The outdoor and indoor pool are in a separate part of the hotel and we didn't use those as they seemed very busy but still looked pleasant.

We thought the breakfast was good and comprehensive, with a nice terrace to eat on in the morning sun.

In terms of the room, we stayed in a room with a sea view on the fourth floor which we would recommend, though the garden facing rooms would also be fine. It is a very large hotel and can get busy but the staff were always attentive.

Overall a great trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marimon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I am disappointed at reading some of the reviews of this hotel. It’s a real gem. Whilst they accommodated hundreds of guests due to an emergency flight cancellation they still looked after us during our week’s holiday. I cannot remember an occasion when I passed reception where they did not know me by name despite dealing with hundreds of guests. Mr Fernandez truly stood out in making us feel special as did all the rest of the staff. It’s hard to define a five star hotel. It’s not the luxury, it’s the customer service and how they make you feel special. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We did not use the spa so cannot comment. If there is anything to criticise about this hotel, the in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night, due to flight cancellation. Rooms very average. Pillows poor quality. Food abysmal. Staff not friendly. The reception area looks impressive upon arrival after that - disappointing.
Overrated hotel.
They should visit the Pestana Alvor Praia to see what a 5 Star hotel is really like.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kas3763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ria_Park_Hotels, General Manager at Ria Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent and very short stay with us.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for what we consider is not representative of the level of service we continuously strive to offer all our guests.

We are sorry that we were not able to offer your group a higher level of service but we would like to call your attention to the circumstances that you have stayed with us: a flight cancellation. In this particular situation of great distress and inconvenience to many tourists, we were contacted with just a few hours notice to accommodate almost 300 guests, including dinner (chosen by the airline) and, due to the early departure time for the following day, to provide a lunch package for breakfast.

As I am sure you agree, this is a specific situation and does not adequately represent the experience of staying in our hotel, for vacations or when participating in a event or meeting, so we can only hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again at the Ria Park Hotels, in the near future, to experience our excellent facilities and level of service.


With our kindest regards,

Manuel Baltazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have stayed at this excellent hotel annually over the last 10 years. We have always been made very welcome by the hotel staff who provide a very friendly & excellent 5* service. The hotel is close to a stunning beach with access to a private area controlled by the hotel with sunloungers etc. Hence because of the above we will continue to holiday at the hotel

Room Tip: Always stayed in the same room just along the corridor off from reception overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ria_Park_Hotels, General Manager at Ria Park Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to post your sincere opinion and for your kind words.

It is for us a great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcome you again in your next visit to our hotels.

With our kindest regards,

Manuel Baltazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Part of the nandos group stayed here, great facilities however the food and drink was rather expensive. Staff were great, we used the hotel basement bar following a garden party, suffice to say great time had by all who attended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobbi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almancil
1.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
#3 of 16 in Almancil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#3 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
7.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ria Park Hotel

Property: Ria Park Hotel
Address: Urbanizacao Vale do Garrao | Vale Do Lobo, Almancil 8135-170, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Almancil
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Almancil
#5 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
#5 Romantic Hotel in Almancil
#5 Family Hotel in Almancil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ria Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE RIA PARK HOTEL & SPA The Ria Formosa Nature Park and the Ria Park Hotel & Spa welcome you to a world of luxury and excellence in the exclusive Vale do Lobo valley. Situated in the Algarve, the Ria Park Hotel & Spa is surrounded by a verdant valley from where you can see the beach and the warm waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Characterised by elegance, charm and luxury the Ria Park Hotel & Spa offers modern comforts and amenities with vast open spaces and breathtaking views. Surrender to the delights of our Spa or discover the best golf courses situated around the hotel. Sample the finest Portuguese and International cuisine at the Terrace of the Lusitano Restaurant, or indulge in the simple pleasure of savouring your favourite drink at the Lobby Bar while watching the Ria Formosa Natural Park. With over 300 sunny days a year, the Ria Park Hotel & Spa is the perfect destination for your holidays, throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ria Park Hotel Almancil
Ria Park Hotel And Spa
Ria Park Resort
Ria Park Hotel Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing