We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing 5 star stay”
Review of Ria Park Hotel&Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ria Park Hotel&Spa
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful last minute break at the Ria Park Hotel. We know the area around Val de Lobo very well having previously rented villas there on several occasions. This time because we were travelling without our family we decided to stay in a hotel and opted for the Ria Park because of its position and the excellent deal we got. How pleased we were with our choice. The hotel is a mere 15 mins from Faro airport and although we arrived quite late we received a warm and efficient welcome from the front desk staff. The hotel is not as high end as some of the other flashier 5 star hotels in the area but the housekeeping standards and facilities on offer are excellent; what really sets the hotel apart however is the quality of its staff. Without exception they are all extremely professional and well trained and yet friendly - nothing was too much trouble. This was intended as a relaxing break and personally I don't want to feel in awe or intimidated by my surroundings or the people working at the hotel. At the Ria Park we felt comfortable immediately. Our standard room was large and airy and the TV channels on offer were excellent which meant that we could watch Andy Murray win Wimbledon. It was cleaned twi ce a day. Breakfast which was included in our room rate was served on the shady terrace overlooking the magnificent pool and the choice was good. We did not eat dinner in the hotel as there were restaurants in the area that we wanted to try. The pool area was spotless and there were plenty of sun beds scattered around. The pool itself was lovely with clean cool water it was however very deep over much of its area and might not therefore be suitable for non swimmers or those nervous in deep water. There was a small childrens pool alongside but again one would have to be very vigilent if one had very young children. The other guests came from a number of different countries with no single nationality seeming to be in the majority.
We were absolutely delighted with the hotel and already planning a return trip at the end of the summer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank welshbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 462 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2013

Ria Park is a great resort. Its an awesome spot on the algarve!, It has a tropical feel to it, with all the palm trees and green around. The staff is exceptionally sweet and helpful. Its a very relaxed and comfortable property. Our room was perfect, big, soo comfortable and very clean. The big balcony overlooks the rest of the lush green resort. Tho the decor could be a bit more modern, but i guess thats the feel they r going for. Great bathroom and products, they have anticipated all your needs :). The breakfast was super! what a vast selection!! loved it. Did I mention the great service!! The private beach which is only about 500meters away is beautiful, and soo chilled out! There are only a few restaurant options around, wish there were more. It would be nice if there was a mini mart in the resort.

I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryissacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the hotel we found all the staff so helpful and friendly. It was extremely clean and the restaurant was excellent. Going in June is a good choice as there are special offers which make the hotel very good value. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: It is not necessary to pay extra for a back room as hotel in quiet location and front view very plea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were upgraded to this hotel as ria garden was'nt open. What a lovely hotel,staff very helpful and friendly .Rooms lovely and the maid service was excellent ,our bed was rather hard but I mentioned this to reception staff and a mattress topper was provided which made such a difference !! well done ! Breakfast choice was very good . Hotel is a little isolated but some very good beach restaurants just ten minutes walk away . We will return .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sal554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is the 4th time we have stayed at the Ria Park each time just for an overnight stay.
The staff are great. The reception is always a good experience. The rooms are bright & airy with very comfortable beds. The bathrooms are a good size & as you would expect from a 5 star hotel have good quality grooming/bathing products.
The highlight of our stays have always been the breakfasts. We ate outside today & had a very good meal.Not only are there the usual cereals, breads & pastries. They also have a wonderful selection of VERY fresh fruits. The cooked side is equally good with a choice of eggs (fried scrambled & boiled).Bacon,sausage,mushrooms.beans.tomatoes & even potato wedges.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffrey2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We booked the Ria garden but it never seems to be open, they upgraded us a no extra charge.
Nice hotel, great staff, espically reception that helped with every detail we asked.
Pool was lovely and food was good standard but expensive.
Kids club was closed and kids room had no activities to keep our children interested.
I would recommend this hotel as a base but could not stay any longer than a few days.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjccm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We spent a week there for the end of May half term. Overall a good week in an hotel where the service is excellent.
For the rest - it really depends of your style.

Location
It is not far from the beach and there is a shuttle. Also walk able for 10 minutes
But quite isolated and not much to do around so you definitively need a car.
THe taxis are shockingly expensive

Rooms
The rooms are not that big and we were slightly disappointed with the size - especially for a 5*. We had a standard one with sea view. Sea view is partial - mainly from the balcony.
The decor in the room is a bit old and not to everyone 's taste. But it is kept in very good conditions and very clean.

Hotel atmosphere / activities
This was the most surprising to us. The hotel was so quiet. We like it quiet usually but it looks almost desert. We ate one night at the restaurant and we were the only table. No activities are taking place. Kids club was not operating although it was half term but you could use the table tennis etc,,, Not sure if it is always like this or we were at a bad time

Food
The restaurant food was decent but not much choice
Breakfast was good with a decent selection and again excellent service. You could also get pancakes and fresh juice at no extra cost - which is nice.
We used the room service on a couple of occasions - you can get the same menu as the restaurant at no extra charge, Was very good
Pool bar - some good snacks but service could be a bit slow there

Pools
There is a nice outdoor pool with a children one. Very peaceful, kept clean. But the water was so cold
There is also a small heated indoor pool which came handy as we could swim in there

Spa
This was our biggest disappointment. I would actually not called the facility a SPA at hotel. There is a steam room and a small jacuzzi and only one treatment room (which is not very nice at all). The treatment was good however not cheap and let down by the facility.
We were told that there may be some others rooms opened during peak season.... not sure

So overall a decent hotel - the service makes a big difference
But a bit pricey, too quiet and dated for our taste
However if you get a good deal - worth trying out

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ninimayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almancil
1.5 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,678 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ria Park Garden Hotel
Ria Park Garden Hotel
#12 of 14 in Almancil
129 reviews
1.6 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#2 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
#3 of 14 in Almancil
289 reviews
1.1 mi away
Encosta do Lago
Encosta do Lago
#9 of 14 in Almancil
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ria Park Hotel&Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ria Park Hotel&Spa

Address: Urbanizacao Vale do Garrao | Vale Do Lobo, Almancil 8135-170, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Almancil
#4 Spa Hotel in Almancil
#5 Family Hotel in Almancil
#5 Romantic Hotel in Almancil
#5 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
Price Range: $126 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ria Park Hotel&Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE RIA PARK HOTEL & SPA The Ria Formosa Nature Park and the Ria Park Hotel & Spa welcome you to a world of luxury and excellence in the exclusive Vale do Lobo valley. Situated in the Algarve, the Ria Park Hotel & Spa is surrounded by a verdant valley from where you can see the beach and the warm waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Characterised by elegance, charm and luxury the Ria Park Hotel & Spa offers modern comforts and amenities with vast open spaces and breathtaking views. Surrender to the delights of our Spa or discover the best golf courses situated around the hotel. Sample the finest Portuguese and International cuisine at the Terrace of the Lusitano Restaurant, or indulge in the simple pleasure of savouring your favourite drink at the Lobby Bar while watching the Ria Formosa Natural Park. With over 300 sunny days a year, the Ria Park Hotel & Spa is the perfect destination for your holidays, throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ria Park Hotel&Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ria Park Hotel Almancil
Ria Park Hotel And Spa
Ria Park Resort
Ria Park Hotel&Spa Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing