We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the most helpful hotel staff & managers in Portugal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ria Park Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ria Park Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Probably the most helpful hotel staff & managers in Portugal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

My husband & I stayed here at the end of July, we have visited Portugal many times mainly staying in Vilamoura so we wanted a change of scene. We were delighted with this hotel choice. The room was on the 4th floor, I had asked for sea view & what a superb view we had. The bed was a bit firm for me but housekeeping brought me a mattress topper within minutes of asking, along with extra coat hangers. We were only there for 5 nights and ate in the restaurant on our 1st night. The set price was 35 euros each but we were surprised by the 5 courses we were served, so great value. The staff in the restaurant were so attentive that my husband even got into trouble for filling our own wine/water glasses up himself!
We had a day at the beach which was super, a bit of a walk along a wooded walkway, take your own water as you have to go back along it if you need to go to the shop for some.
We spent the other days round the pool, again helpful staff, Bruno soon got the plan of bringing us 2 beers & a bottle of water! Nothing was too much trouble, it was a pleasure to stay here. Yes you have to pay for taxis to go anywhere because there is not many restaurants around. Can recommend Mr Freddies, 5 mins up the road towards Almancil & La Cabane Quarteira, 20 mins but worth the drive. The laundry service at the hotel was excellent & well priced.Thank you to Manuel & your staff for making our short break great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank goody2808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    111
    38
    19
    14
See reviews for
116
167
8
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We recently stayed at this hotel for a family holiday. We'd stayed at other 5 star hotels in the Algarve previously but wanted to try something new. We were not disappointed with our choice (on the whole). Its location was great, and meant that we were only a short drive away from the beach, golf courses, shopping centre and a multitude of excellent fish restaurants. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful (particularly on the front desk), and the service provided was excellent. However, the facilities were somewhat lacking in comparison to the other hotels we had stayed at in the Algarve. There was no choice of restaurant, and because our family has various dietary restrictions, the choice of food, particularly for lunch, became too limiting. The pool was gorgeous, and fortunately, there was never a problem in finding somewhere to sit, despite the hotel being full. We were staying when the Rugby 11 qualifiers were on, and most of the teams were staying in our hotel. This didn't seem to cause a problem with the service, despite their vast numbers. However, apart from swimming and table tennis, there were no activities for the kids. There were tennis courts but they were a walk away, and it was too hot (even at night) to play. Not entirely the hotel's fault! Unfortunately, the hotel also seemed to have a problem with (presumably) their drains, which put us off our lunch once as the terrible smell kept wafting our way, when we were eating at a table by the inside pool, part of the pool restaurant. This smell also pervaded certain parts of the pool area, so you had to choose your seats wisely. The Spa was a bit of a joke for a 5 star hotel. From what I could see, when I decided to explore one day, there was a jacuzzi (empty), 1 treatment room, and a waiting, changing, showering area, but that was all. Didn't encourage me to go back to book in for a treatment. Breakfasts were lovely, although the gluten-free bread available was poor (considering I let the hotel know in advance that I was a coeliac). No gluten-free options were offered to me at other meal times, so I had to be very careful about what i chose. One other slight problem was that most of the pool and restaurant staff didn't speak much English, so, again, we sometimes struggled to make ourselves understood. The cleanliness around the hotel and the bedrooms was very good. Another annoyance, though, was that they were reluctant to top up our bathroom shower gels and shampoos as we were nearing the end of our supplies, and we had to phone down for these, which has never before happened in a hotel where we've stayed. We used room service once, which was quick, efficient and tasty! Atmosphere around the hotel foyer and bars was rather lacking during the day, and in the evenings, when they could have possibly provided some entertainment. So, instead, we decided to go out for most of our evening meals.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Popsi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ria_Park_Hotels, General Manager at Ria Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Mrs. Candice

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of your recent stay with us. Your appreciation of our services and staff have been conveyed to all concerned, who are grateful for your kindness, and we have also carefully noted all the less positive aspects you call to our attention, to implement changes to further enhance stays of guests with the same concerns, namely in what is in regard to dietary restrictions, and with the housekeeping service, which seemed to not be within our standards in terms of amenities.

In respect to activities for the kids, we are pleased to inform that we do have a Kids Club open from 9 am to 6 pm every day, during school holidays, with plenty of activities which we hope will delight your children during a future stay.

In what concerns to your assessment of our Spa, please note that what you visited was the hotel's Health Club, where we also provide some massages but that is not our official Spa, which is located in an adjacent building, purpose built, and which has its own indoor pool with jet massages and 12 massage and treatment rooms, with aromatherapy Hydromassage and Vichy Shower, amongst others.

Last and certainly not least, we are sincerely sorry for the intermittent problem with a draining system in the property adjacent to the hotel, which occurred during your stay and that was promptly addressed after detection. This was a highly uncommon occurrence and we hope it will not deter you from visiting us again.

Once again, we thank you for your sincere and honest opinion of your stay with us and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to Ria Park Hotel & Spa.

On behalf of the entire staff,

Manuel Baltazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is NOT a 5* hotel. I would give it a 3* at best. The decor is rather tired and the food very stodgey and mediocre- think ham sandwich and chips with the odd pork chop thrown in.

The main problem at this hotel, however, is the total lack of service. The maids failed to clean the rooms properly, missing whole areas of the room and rubbish that may have fallen on the floor and never refilled the mini bar- which I only wanted for water in the room anyway, which we thought necessary in a country where its 30C outside.

There was no doorman that we could see, or that we experienced, and we had to try and attract our own taxis and endure their shrugging of shoulders as an answer to where we could get one. 40 mins of waiting, WE finally found a number and called one. Not the end of the world- but I reiterate- this is meant to be a 5* hotel!

To top it off- the pool side stank of sewage the whole time we were there and to get a drink anywhere near the pool you had to flag the waiters down for 20 mins and when trying to get one yourself, youre told to sit down and wait for the non existant waiters. Dying of thirst and smelling sewage all day is not my idea of a 5* hotel.

As I say, all this would be by the by, if this hotel was a 3* hotel and didnt cost an arm and a leg- but this hotel is not at all cheap and I cant believe they would charge so much for what was actually a rather unpleasant stay.

I would recommend that you go stay somewhere that is a "genuine 5*" somewhere down the road if 5* is what you are looking for. Somewhere far away enough that you cant smell the Hotel's sewage.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ria_Park_Hotels, General Manager at Ria Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Dear Mrs. Jenny,

After carefully going through your review, we find the need to express our opinion that it is our understanding that it is not a fare portrait of the services of our hotel.

Regarding our staffs conduct, as you can certainly see in any of the other recent reviews, housekeeping, front office, doorman and pool staff are constantly referenced by our guests for being genuine, attentive and professional, going to great efforts to serve and make our guests stay as pleasant as possible, so we have difficulty to understand why your experience would be so different. Also, our doorman service is available from 9am to midnight, with two doorman present in the reception hall during part of the shifts or during high demand period, so again we have trouble understanding how you would not see their presence.

The same positive assessment towards our staff is frequently references in regards to our food and breakfast, although we understand that, in this matter, opinions are very subjective.

In what concerns your experience to get a taxi, since we are set in a location that is not a busy street, we have partnered with a luxury taxi service that is known for their high level of service and which our reception always arranges in advance for guests, offering this service if they sense a guest might have the need for it, in particular during check-out.

Nevertheless, we are very sorry to know that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and regret you did not chose to contact us directly, at any point during your stay, with any of these complaints.


On behalf of the entire staff.

Manuel Baltazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

The people are very nice and the location great, however the hotel gave us an "upgrade" from the main hotel to a villa, which was almosta ten minutes walk away. Transport from the villa then meant waiting on the street for 20 mins + until a car arrived. The hotel had clearly over-booked and moved us around out of the main hotel to accomodate. Not a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ria_Park_Hotels, General Manager at Ria Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for not confirming with you in advance the room attribution. We sincerely believe that our resort residences, which are part of the hotel, are of great value to our guests, despite the difference of concept, since they offer the same level of service with the added value of being in a low-key area and with direct access to its own gardened area, two swimming pools and two tennis courts, but we understand that this allocation should have been confirmed with you.

Regarding the complimentary shuttle, we thank you for your feedback and we are glad to inform that measures have been taken to avoid similar situations in the future.

We hope that this less positive experience will not deter you from visiting us again and are looking forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

On the behalf of the entire staff, thank you,
Manuel Baltazar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

After spending a few horrible days in the Crown Plaza in Vilamoura we decided to move out to another hotel, my report on the C P is on the system should you wish to read it, but a tip to the wise, just don't go there! It not a 5 star and presently attempting to fine people €50 euros for bring your own water or any food item.
What a lovely surprise it was then to chance upon the RIA Park.
The hotel is lovely, upon arrival we were shown are room which was a little small for us, but after a 20 second chat with reception we were moved to a much larger lovely room at no extra charge.
I can not speak highly enough of the staff, from the shuttle bus driver to the hotel manager all are a credit to the industry, nothing was too much trouble and any request always carried out with a smile and instantly.
We ate lunch by the pool on a few days and it was excellent, freshly made and of the highest quality.
I have stayed in hundreds of hotels all of the world on holiday and through business and I think you would have a hard time beating the RIA for the service and comfort they provided to their customers.
Note to the manager, thank you, it was a real pleasure.

Room Tip: We had room 120, nice size and very easy to get to the pool and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Glen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

my wife, daughter and i stayed here in the ria park last week. it was excellent, the service, the food , the location. fernando , what can i say - a gem. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this lovely hotel and hope to return next year.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the pool if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank geraldine o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I spent seven days here in June the hotel service was excellent. The breakfast and service is as good as it can get and the location of the restaurant and views is worth the bill alone. We have stayed here over many years and it is one of our favourite hotels in Europe.

Room Tip: The garden rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melp485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almancil
1.4 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
#3 of 16 in Almancil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
18.8 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#3 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
7.3 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#1 of 162 in Albufeira
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ria Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ria Park Hotel

Property: Ria Park Hotel
Address: Urbanizacao Vale do Garrao | Vale Do Lobo, Almancil 8135-170, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Almancil
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Almancil
#5 Family Hotel in Almancil
#5 Romantic Hotel in Almancil
#5 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ria Park Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE RIA PARK HOTEL & SPA The Ria Formosa Nature Park and the Ria Park Hotel & Spa welcome you to a world of luxury and excellence in the exclusive Vale do Lobo valley. Situated in the Algarve, the Ria Park Hotel & Spa is surrounded by a verdant valley from where you can see the beach and the warm waters of the Atlantic Ocean. Characterised by elegance, charm and luxury the Ria Park Hotel & Spa offers modern comforts and amenities with vast open spaces and breathtaking views. Surrender to the delights of our Spa or discover the best golf courses situated around the hotel. Sample the finest Portuguese and International cuisine at the Terrace of the Lusitano Restaurant, or indulge in the simple pleasure of savouring your favourite drink at the Lobby Bar while watching the Ria Formosa Natural Park. With over 300 sunny days a year, the Ria Park Hotel & Spa is the perfect destination for your holidays, throughout the year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Ria Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ria Park Hotel Almancil
Ria Park Hotel And Spa
Ria Park Resort
Ria Park Hotel Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing