We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for tasty food in informal setting”
Review of Sr. Frango

Sr. Frango
Ranked #52 of 152 Restaurants in Almancil
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good for tasty food in informal setting”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Found it by accident on Sunday evening and enjoyed it so much that we went back on Monday. Informal and inexpensive tasty food served at long tables. The grilled sea bass was cooked to perfection, the piri-piri just right and the tomato salad excellent. Top that with chips so good that we finished the lot despite the portion being more than we would normally eat. Friendly service if a little slow at busy times. Inexpensive in an area of overpriced rivals.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wyvern29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    91
    56
    21
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Chicken Piri Piri”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Chicken Piri Piri is almost a national dish in Portugal. If you want a great version at a reasonable price come here. We always do when we come to the Algarve, but have never eaten any of the other dishes. Great value for money in any area where restaurants are often overpriced.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
93 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very tasty chiken”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a known place in Algarve for chicken

In fact there is 2 ! This one and Ramires in Guia (the original frango/chicken from guia)

I went to both this time to compare

The chicken (spicy one) was very good and very tasty

The french fries where poorly made the green salad was ok

The service is ok, staff and owner are nice and the prices are fair.

Comparing both places the chiken is better here and thr fries are better on Ramires

Worth the visit anyway

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigfatmamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great if you like lots of salt!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

just back from Sr Frango having ben there for the first time in all the years we have been coming to this area..have had much better chicken Piri-Piri elsewhere. Three of us ate here and all our dishes were overloaded with slat, especially the salads. Mediocre food but very cheap meal. Would definitely not be rushing back

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqs2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albufeira
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“just a name”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Sr. Frango is still sitting on the Diploma from 1984, they didn't have any changes done since that, unfortunately it's not the best chicken ever any more and the prices are having the double charge because of a name and not quality ore quantity. It's a same they still be announced as the best chicken.The service is terrible, never we got asked for a second drink and if we wanted to order no attention from anyone, just the big boss sitting on his table and watching the money comes in.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunshine2973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sr. Frango also viewed

 
Vilamoura, Quarteira
Quarteira, Faro District
 

Been to Sr. Frango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing