We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, receptionists a bit hit and miss.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Dona Filipa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dona Filipa Hotel
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good hotel, receptionists a bit hit and miss.”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at this property. Quality food, quality rooms and pool and breakfast all very good with the omelette man being the best ever. I would recommend it to anyone staying in the area. One major problem is the golf transfer system. The course is 15 mins away and the transfer coach only takes 8 and is a free for all! Receptionist will not take anything to do with it and this made it very stressful for our group. Simple solution - get a bigger bus and provide a proper service. I am looking forward to staying in this hotel again but I would think twice about using it for a golf break - or just bite the bullet and get a taxi. The coach transfer service resembles a Ryanair flight with the same customer service.Pity!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PJN555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJW_Hotels_Portugal, General Manager at Dona Filipa Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear PJN555,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for the time dispensed on writing a review on Dona Filipa Hotel. We greatly value our guests feedback. We are most pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed our Hotel and services.

Unfortunately, there seemed to have been some issues with our transfer service to one of our golf courses that were not up to your satisfaction. We do apologize for the frustration this seemed to have caused your group. However, all our business partners are well aware that the shuttle service is available for individual guests only - due to the bus' limited capacity. It is unfortunate that this information was not passed on to your group. Our website also states this transportation for golfers.

As you may comprehend, we cannot be responsible for the transfer of group bookings, as we are not able to transport that many golfers. To service our guests the best possible way, we do provide a third party transfer service at a preferential rate.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Dona Filipa Hotel in the near future, so you may yet again experience the excellent service and rooms, as you stated in your review.

With kindest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    105
    49
    11
    8
See reviews for
47
117
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The recent refurbishments have really improved the hotel and it looks much more like a 5 star hotel. The pool and surrounding area is extremely clean and very comfortable. Great choice for breakfast including freshly made egg dishes. The room was large and had everything I needed. Location is excellent and it's only a few steps away from the Praca which has great restaurants and live entertainment.
My only minor gripe is that when arriving in reception as a solo female traveller, there were lots of smiling faces staring at me, but no-one offered to help me with my bags. They all looked poised to be helpful, but weren't quite sure what to do! Check in is now a desk, which can cause a queue as only a limited number of people can be served at once. However, this is only a minor point and certainly wouldn't stop me going again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VS2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

We have just returned from our 5th golfing holiday to Dona Filipa and San Lorenzo which has been hugely successful.
The hotel’s public areas has been extensively refurbished to a very high standard which is a mixture of Portuguese and contemporary design.
Some rooms has been refurbished with the remainder due to be complete in a few months. The rooms we had were of the old deign but still good, very clean and well presented.
The staff are very welcoming, helpful and courteous.
On this visit we sampled the Fisherman’s Buffet which is held on Sunday evenings in the terrace restaurant overlooking the pool. There was a big selection of seafood dishes both hot and cold and also beef and pork carved order. I would thoroughly recommend it. The hotel operate a voucher system where meals can be purchased in advance reducing the cost to dine in either restaurant.
The hotel’s breakfasts are fantastic especially the omelettes which are cooked to order.
We played golf at San Lorenzo which was good but needs some attention to the tee boxes which had uneven and course grass. Still a great course which is a fair test to golfers of all abilities.
In summary:
Greatly refreshed Hotel in great location, serving good food by good staff.
San Lorenzo still one of my favourite courses that needs some TLC.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the garden looking east have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mo883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just back from a short golf break with friends and we had a great time. We arrived at 9:30 AM and we were given early check-in. The rooms were fine, maybe a little tired if I'm being picky. We played golf at San Lorenzo as part of our package which is great course to play. The hotel has an excellent pool area and swimming pool and attentive waiters made afternoons round the pool very enjoyable. Breakfast was a buffet and was ok. We ate out for dinner at nearby restaurants which are a very short walk so I can't comment on any other meals. Overall this is great value when combined with golf at San Lorenzo. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Perfect to go there with your little one.
The kids clubs is great. You can go to play with your kid even if you don't pay (if you stay with him).
It is very baby friendly, except the stairs everywhere (to go to the restaurant or to take the lift).
The room was fanstastic to share it with child : such big. Enought place to put the cot in the corridor (between the room and the bathroom).
The restaurant of the hotel for the evening is very nice: good food. No animation but nice. Ok to go with the pram with a sleepy child or ask for a high chair...

It is a shame that the people at the reception was not nice: most of the time, they were unpleasant. That's unexpected in a such expensive and nice hotel...Also, they were not able to give advice on what we can do in the area... Weird!

Outside the hotel, a lot of nice restaurant with beautiful view on the sea...
The beach is really beautiful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emeline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 7 nights. The renovations are now complete and it makes accessibility easier. The rooms were nice and clean, but not fantastic. Somewhat tired and old. The staff are fantastic and helpful.
The breakfast, which is complimentary, is fantastic! Plenty of selection, including an egg station. The views from the hotel are breathtaking.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a quality hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Azlan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Been to Dona Filipa Hotel and I was not disappointed. Great staff and excellent service. However, beware of the renovation work. Given one is tired after day of golf, accessibility is a problem we need to climb stairs to go to the rooms. Rooms are spacious but looking tired.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kamafly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almancil
2.2 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 16 in Almancil
1,432 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
#3 of 16 in Almancil
252 reviews
2.6 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#3 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 163 in Albufeira
956 reviews
17.8 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
2.2 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#7 of 49 in Quarteira
1,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dona Filipa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dona Filipa Hotel

Property: Dona Filipa Hotel
Address: Avenida do Mar | Vale do Lobo, Almancil 8135-034, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Almancil
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Almancil
#5 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
#6 Romantic Hotel in Almancil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dona Filipa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Atlantic, located a mere 100 metres from the beach and the proud owner of the renown San Lorenzo Golf Course, Dona Filipa Hotel welcomes all, with a touch of glamour and the essence of true quality and personalized service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dona Filipa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dona Filipa & San Lorenzo Golf Hotel Almancil
Dona Filipa And San Lorenzo Golf Resort
Meridien Almancil
Le Meridien Almancil
Almancil Le Meridien
Dona Filipa Hotel Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing