We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even good in the rain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Alambique

Alambique
Ranked #8 of 151 Restaurants in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kent, England
Level Contributor
117 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Even good in the rain!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Visited Alambique last night. Was as usual up to its high standards. They provide a nice appetiser so no need for starter and a great wine is Casa Palmera which is only €20 on the menu so although restaurant is quite expensive, it can work out to be reasonable if you've been there a few times. Also get a fee glass of port at the end :)

Helpful?
Thank M.Pickering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    123
    50
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

A wonderful restaurant with first class service and the food is fantastic.
A glass of champagne welcomes you as you arrive and you get really spoilt

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent meal and good atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Great food and service, good atmosphere and surroundings, not cheap but well worthwhile. A quality night out!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlanHB45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Trip to Alambique march 10th 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Having looked around for a resaurant for the last night of our holiday to impress my friends I booked the Alambique and was hopeful of a good result.I need not have being concerned because the evening went like clockwork.My friends are not experienced upmarket restaurant visitors, they tend to see a meal as food only, and do not see any need to pay more than the basic cost of the food. They were greeted and seated most charmingly by a very polite young waiter.the first words from Susan who was my friends wife was will we need a mortgage to pay for the meal.I reassured her she would not, however everyone seemed a little apprehensive at first.We were given a complimentary glass of champange as a welcome apperative, and two of the group of seven ordered a sardine starter.Meantime the waitress appeared with an interim starter of sardines for the female members of the group and a melon and strawberry starter for members or the group who had ordered the official sardine starter,as I was one of the group who had not ordered a starter the waitress placed the intrem starter at my position, my friend who had ordered the official starter immediately pinched it off me thinking the waitress had made a mistake,she asked Charles why he had removed the plate and his answer was it must be mine because Peter had not ordered any starters.Hope you are still with me, I'll carry on,The waitress then explained to Charles that because he had ordered a sardine starter he would not be needing a complimentery intrim sardine starter starter, just a melon and strawberry interim pre starter, starter, the conversation continued between the waitress and Charles for some time untill he began to understand., I recognized that the charmingly vivacious waitress had used a little negative psychology to tease him delightfully, and in a jokingly way over the situation.However owing to a cold Charles was not sufficiently receptive to her delightful banter to realise he had been delightfully and cleverly reprimanded for being wrong, this.I found was very entertaining and the night went well from thereon.Food,service, and ambience were all excellent.Will return next year, hope it remains the same. Congratulations to all the staff for an excellent evening.PS it is not expensive. Peter from the West Midlands.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

we were welcomed on arrival with complimentary champagne and sat in front of the fire on a chilly evening and placed our order,we decided on only main courses and were pleasantly surprised to receive a lovely complimentary appetiser,our food was excellent as was the service and seemed good value for money, would definately go again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank parish293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alambique also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
 
Vale do Lobo, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Alambique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing