We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Things ain't what they used to be!”
Review of Julias

Julias
Ranked #22 of 155 Restaurants in Almancil
Price range: $14 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Julia's restaurant,beach barand lounge. The original beach restaurant. Beware of imitations.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Things ain't what they used to be!”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

Oh Dear! This used to be a great beach bar selling really good fresh food. Now it clearly relies on it's rapidly diminishing reputation to overcharge and under deliver. The crab and avocado salad had no avocado and the chicken Caesar salad was 3 pieces of chicken with some iceberg on the other side of the plate and some packet croutons. Kids menu was a choice of the usual nuggets/fish fingers with chips (€9.50). The decor looks tired as well.

It needs new ownership and quickly.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kinbar02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliasalgarve, Owner at Julias, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for your review
Upon ordering your crab salad you were informed
On the day that we happened to be out of avocado and you were offered alternatives.

The chicken caeser salad is served with 3 pieces of chicken
and they are 3 whole fillets.

The fact that you ordered other side dishes and subsequently did not wish to pay for them
Indicates that you would neither pay for my restaurant if you were to purchase that either.
Please do try and find another restaurant that reinvests in its customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    331
    145
    78
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal, memorable afternoon!”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

The highlight of our annual two week trip to Quinta do Lago was a Sunday afternoon visit to Julia's where the staff were welcoming and helpful and the service was first class. All 8 of us enjoyed wonderful starters and main courses that were cooked to perfection and I can honestly say my Dover Sole (requested with garlic, lemon and butter sauce) was the best fish I have ever eaten. We enjoyed some excellent restaurants during our holiday but none could quite match the wonderful experience of our Sunday at Julia's. Thanks to all at Julia's.
Jerry H.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sun set @ Julia's”
Reviewed August 28, 2014

All ways a pleasure to end a day at Julia's! Lovely view of the setting sun from the restaurant, beach right in front of you, waves on the shore - fabulous! Food great, house wine reasonable, and attentive staff - want more could you want!
See you next year!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beach lunch”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Great for a beach lunch, sandwich and a cold glass of something nice, setting can not be beaten. Staff very helpful. I love the place for lunch.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrsGMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quite fun”
Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

This seems quite a fun restaurant but didn't really work for us. My husband had popped in the day before, had a coffee and booked us in to dinner. When we arrived with our 3 children they had lost our booking - my husband had actually written it down for them when he had visited so it was hopeless that they had lost it! We had to wait for a while but were seated in the end.

The food was fine, there was loud, live music just behind us which was quite good but rather annoyed the children! They thought the singer was too interfering talking to his audience.

The service was totally charmless and the sauces never arrived which we had asked for. They are just very busy, manic and the restaurant is very loud!

My evening ended early because my 7 year old son actually asked to go home without any pudding!!

Probably would have been quite fun for just me and my husband but with long waits for food and loud music it wasn't great for our children - although we all enjoyed the walk along the beach and the sea views.

Helpful?
Thank GypsyB43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julias also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
Vale do Lobo, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Julias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing