We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the beach heaven for long lunch”
Review of Julias

Ranked #21 of 152 Restaurants in Almancil
Price range: $13 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Julia's restaurant,beach barand lounge. The original beach restaurant. Beware of imitations.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“On the beach heaven for long lunch”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Right on the beach with great views. A bit pricy but for the location and food it was well worth it. Had a very long lazy lunch and was never rushed. It was off season so I think it would be busy and rushed in August. Not lots of tables so would need to book high season. Great food in a great location and a short walk down the beach afterwards to work off some of the guilt!

Visited October 2012
1 Thank Trefleur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great birthday celebration”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We came here with the extended family including three young children to celebrate a 70th birthday. The food was superb and good value and the staff were fab, especially with the children. We would all highly recommend Julia's to anyone wanting great food on the beach. And the views were amazing. A really special birthday to remember.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank millie015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what it is”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Nice place gorgeous views especially but staff rather rude and not interested and dishes are too expensive for the place. But what else: tourists!

Visited October 2012
Thank Flying-birdîe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Dont order the ribs they have no meat on just fat, even when we asked the waiter how they are, the second waiter said ooh bad choice ALSO €9 for the worst kids lasagne ever and €9 for anaemic chips and nuggets ,no ice cream just €9 horrific value, thank god there is Maria's, Izzys and BJs because we will never go near this awful place again

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
10 Thank 1961scunnyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Didnt think much of it”
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We went on a Tuesday evening having read the reviews before coming to Portugal and were so disappointed. It is definitely not fine dining. It is a big beach hut, right on the beach but sea view irrelevant in the evening. There were children running around and football showing on 2 tv screens. We had 3 courses for 3 for 107 euros, no wine and the food was very average to poor.

1 Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliasalgarve, Owner at Julias, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Yvonne,
Thank you for your comments albeit we are rather lost as to where your review was coming from.
You stated that you had read previous reviews and presume that this was your first visit to our restaurant.
From reviews and from visiting our website your would see and read everything there is to know about us and what we do as we have done for over 40 years.
We have never claimed to be a fine dining restaurant , just simply a family friendly beach restaurant that gives its customers freshly prepared cuisine, not pretentious either in anyway unlike the fine dining restaurants you may be referring to!
Yes, there would have well have been children around as it was half-term week and the tv screens would be showing the football if that is what some of our clients' wishes were for. The volume would be controlled in order not to disrupt the evening of the majority of our diners though.
Big beach hut? A rustic beach restaurant that has given quality and service to its clients for many many years. You must have been looking for something else.

Finally.. 3 courses for 3 persons for a total of euro 107 ?
that is euro 35.66 per person for 3 courses...

Given that a dessert has an average price of 5.50 and a starter is around 10 that would mean the main course that you had would have been around the euro 18-22 mark so nothing is incorrect whatsoever.

Our menus have every single item priced and all the menus are the same.
If you felt that this restaurant was too expensive then I ask you to try other dining establishments and receive a bill of less.

In respect of fine dining restaurants , I was probably not even born when 3 people could dine on 3 courses for euro 35 or £30 per head.
thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julias also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District

Been to Julias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing