We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great birthday celebration”
Review of Julias

Julias
Ranked #24 of 156 Restaurants in Almancil
Price range: $14 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Julia's restaurant,beach bar & lounge. The original beach restaurant. Not just a beach restaurant but a lifestyle for generations for nearly 50 years. While we respect the right of customers to air their views in a virtual world, we also reserve the right to reply accordingly. In a world fake news, we can only deal with situations as they occur in the real world.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We came here with the extended family including three young children to celebrate a 70th birthday. The food was superb and good value and the staff were fab, especially with the children. We would all highly recommend Julia's to anyone wanting great food on the beach. And the views were amazing. A really special birthday to remember.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank millie015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

893 - 897 of 1,152 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2012

Nice place gorgeous views especially but staff rather rude and not interested and dishes are too expensive for the place. But what else: tourists!

Thank Flying-birdîe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Dont order the ribs they have no meat on just fat, even when we asked the waiter how they are, the second waiter said ooh bad choice ALSO €9 for the worst kids lasagne ever and €9 for anaemic chips and nuggets ,no ice cream just €9 horrific value, thank god there is Maria's, Izzys and BJs because we will never go near this awful place again

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
10  Thank 1961scunnyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We went on a Tuesday evening having read the reviews before coming to Portugal and were so disappointed. It is definitely not fine dining. It is a big beach hut, right on the beach but sea view irrelevant in the evening. There were children running around and football showing on 2 tv screens. We had 3 courses for 3 for 107 euros, no wine and the food was very average to poor.

1  Thank Yvonne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
juliasalgarve, Owner at Julias, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear Yvonne,
Thank you for your comments albeit we are rather lost as to where your review was coming from.
You stated that you had read previous reviews and presume that this was your first visit to our restaurant.
From reviews and from visiting our website your would see and read everything there is to know about us and what we do as we have done for over 40 years.
We have never claimed to be a fine dining restaurant , just simply a family friendly beach restaurant that gives its customers freshly prepared cuisine, not pretentious either in anyway unlike the fine dining restaurants you may be referring to!
Yes, there would have well have been children around as it was half-term week and the tv screens would be showing the football if that is what some of our clients' wishes were for. The volume would be controlled in order not to disrupt the evening of the majority of our diners though.
Big beach hut? A rustic beach restaurant that has given quality and service to its clients for many many years. You must have been looking for something else.

Finally.. 3 courses for 3 persons for a total of euro 107 ?
that is euro 35.66 per person for 3 courses...

Given that a dessert has an average price of 5.50 and a starter is around 10 that would mean the main course that you had would have been around the euro 18-22 mark so nothing is incorrect whatsoever.

Our menus have every single item priced and all the menus are the same.
If you felt that this restaurant was too expensive then I ask you to try other dining establishments and receive a bill of less.

In respect of fine dining restaurants , I was probably not even born when 3 people could dine on 3 courses for euro 35 or £30 per head.
thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We arrived late due to late flight in and having missed all the supermarkets we descended on Julia's after being turned away from IzzyS next door. The service was excellent and the food very good. They even gave us some milk and rolls to take away for breakfast free of charge. Lovely location and worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mick981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julias also viewed

 
Almancil, Faro District
Quarteira, Faro District
 
Vale do Lobo, Faro District
 

Been to Julias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing