We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our daughter's wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Julias

Julias
Ranked #22 of 151 Restaurants in Almancil
Price range: $13 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Julia's restaurant,beach barand lounge. The original beach restaurant. Beware of imitations.
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our daughter's wedding”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I cannot praise Julia's highly enough. Martin and Paulo went out of their way to make to make this the most wonderful day of my daughter's life. It was everything she had dreamed of and more. We had been planning this day for the last year and when there was a last minute hitch with permission to marry on the beach they came to the rescue and in conjunction with the florist transformed the beach bar into a really magical venue for the ceremony and then converted it for the reception and party. The service and food were fantastic with the African rice and Mojito's firm favourites with most of the guests. We had constant congratulations from friends on how this was one of the best weddings they had ever been to and I can only say that Julia's played a very important role in this.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacky G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    305
    135
    69
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“WOW! What a sunset”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Went here with friends for a birthday party at tea time in mid Sept 2012.

We were very well looked after - we stayed in the beach bar area and had drinks only.

LAreg selection of drinks to chose from. When we initially got there there were also groups of friends and families with younger children eating on picnic style benches overlooking a lovely beach and the sea. We saw sunset and then partied hard till 2am.

This bar is definitely recommended. Thanks for a great day out.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denchy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holywell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great beachside restaurant”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Have been to Julia's a several times and found the food to be great along with the service. The location tops the bill and its nice to have live music on Tues and Thursday nights, its a place that you get the beachbar feel with great nosh! Will always come beack whenever in the Algarve.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank MTNesters71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere at Julias Beach Bar”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had drinks most evenings in Julias Beach Bar after a day spent on the loungers and it always had an excellent atmosphere. The staff are fantastic and obviously get a buzz from working there. We also ate there for lunch two days and it was fantastic. I had a tomato/mozzeralla/avocado salad and requested some prawns and it was so fresh and tasty.The wraps are also good. One evening we ended up joining a wedding party and we danced the night away while watching the sunset.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PheebEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Overlooking the beach”
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

I cannot rave enough about the African rice two of us had with our meals. It's fabulous and I need to find the recipe!!!

Location is great but the decor could do with a revamp.

Our waiter was really good. One of us ordered a sirloin steak but they only had one left and the chef said it wasn't good enough to serve so they offered my friend the fillet steak at no extra charge. Excellent customer relations. Other restaurants should be so considerate.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charliesangel02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julias also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Julias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing