We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Now closed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fat Frog

The Fat Frog
Ranked #91 of 151 Restaurants in Almancil
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Now closed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Not a bad place but unfortunately now no longer open. We visited February 2013 but by July it was closed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank blondesally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Closed down”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has closed down and has been closed for months. Not sure how anyone has reviewed it recently. It is not possible they have eaten here for most of this year.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Algarvedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Fixed price, small menu. Good quality International food. Decent wine list at a good price. Well worth a visit

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank OldKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely food but .......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Fat Frog is wonderful - we've been several times and the food is always excellent and beautifully presented. On that basis we would highly recommend it to anyone. The only thing is .... well ... the proprietor is just soo irritating that on our most recent trip to Portugal we were going to go and then decided we just couldn't face it and sadly we know quite a few other people who've said exactly the same thing. They don't have menus as such but everything is written on a blackboard and most people can read perfectly well - but the proprietor insists on standing at your table and reading out the entire menu (yes- all of it! - quite a performance) which is so irritating when you've usually already decided what you want or have just heard him do exactly the same thing with the table right next to you. We've no idea why he does this - it's so unnecessary and spoils what is otherwise an excellent restaurant. So please Mr Fat Frog, if you read this, please stop doing this - we love your food but we're not stupid and it really is so irritating!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kobi54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mablethorpe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Place but don't tell everyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a small restaurant on the outskirts of town but the food is of superb quality. It is a french brasserie and bar in Portugal run by a Scotsman but the mix works. As an added bonus to a dwindling portion of the population the bar area but not the restaurant is equipped with ash trays.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fat Frog also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to The Fat Frog? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing