We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful food, charming atmosphere and excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ristorante Grissino

Ristorante Grissino
Ranked #78 of 151 Restaurants in Almancil
Price range: $0 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: An excellent professional training with some of the best Michelin Star Chefs of Italy paired with Andrea's talent, is the special treat that awaits you if you chose to visit Ristorante Grissino: Andrea's delicious and beautiful creations are inspired by the traditional cuisine from Calabria and the Toscana.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, charming atmosphere and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Grissino is my favorite restaurant in Algarve. If you want to feel a splash of Italian atmosphere it'll the best choice for you! Everytime I travel to Algarve I attempt to eat here - it's consistently delicious and the service is fabulous.This time I I took my boyfriend for our little anniversary and a premarathon meal. We asked for a wine pairing suggestion and got the owner. Our meal was very good, my boyfriend had the famous Grissino's ravioli and I had pasta with seafoods, both meals and appetizers were served timely and prepared very well, the portions were larger than I had expected, which was nice. What I would like to notice that the manager of the restaurant was very friendly-she congratulated us, then offered some "Prosecco" wine. The visit to Grissino made our important day even more enjoyable!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Evelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ristorantegrissino, Owner at Ristorante Grissino, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you for your visit and your kind review. Please feel welcome to return at any time and we will endeavour to exceed your experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    19
    6
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Faro, Portugal
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Romantic Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

I have never written a review before but I really had to take the time to do this!

Yesterday went to this restaurant with my wife on recommendation of a family member who had been there a few months previous. First of all waiter was very friendly, helpful and inviting hosts.The restaurant had a very intimate and homely setting.

I was so pleasantly surprised with the choices on the menu, pasta dishes, meet, fish plus special courses like lamb and veal fillet.
The food was unbelievable with perfect portion size.Each course was so wonderful in flavour and presentation!!! When it came to the final course....dessert.....we found it so hard to decide on what to choose that we tried one of each.....and even then there was seconds!!! I would recommend this restaurant as a must go.

We had an amazing experience and I would definitely 100% go back!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cnn8192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ristorantegrissino, Owner at Ristorante Grissino, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you that you took the time to write this kind review, Sir. It was a pleasure to hear that you and your family are satisfied with our cuisine. We feel very flattered to know that we deserved to be the first ones to be revised by you! Please feel free to return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
“Terrible service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Disappointing, to say the least. Rude, snob, totallly oblivious of the customer. The food looks good, but the quality doesn't match the prices. The manager was rather arrogant to customers, and we've seen her turn down a small group, arguing they had no room for them, when only seconds later a table was made avalaible. This tiny restaurant apparently has no use for customers...

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Foxgonedigital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ristorantegrissino, Owner at Ristorante Grissino, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Customers,
We are very sorry that we didn't meet your expectations. As a matter of fact, our restaurant is small (as you confirmed as well) and when you arrived, we were out of space. Tables which seemed empty were reserved. Therefore we kindly explained that we were unable to fulfill your desire. You remained standing and caused a discussion, insisting on your right to stay. We gave you all our attention, but had to take care of our guests at some point. It is sad that this has wrongly been interpreted as arrogance.
As to your remark regarding our food, it is not fair to say its "quality would not match the prices" as you didn't have the opportunity to taste it.
Please feel free to make a reservation in the future, which will ensure that this time you will have an opportunity to write a real review about our restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Wonderful for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We having been going to the Algarve for approximately 25 years and for about the last 5 years have gone for lunch to Grissino's in Almancil since we found it one rainy day whilst out looking for something to do away from the beach. The food is outstanding, the service is wonderful and the value for money is unbelievable - ten euros a head for three courses. There are usually three options per course and a complimentary 'amuse bouche' provided whist your food is being freshly prepared. This restaurant is a must if you are in the area - a delightful place to enjoy Italian food in a quiet area away from the hustle and bustle of the main tourist area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CaroleLed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“True Italian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have searched for a true italian restaurant within the algarve for some time now as within a two week break or longer you do require a change from the wonderful portugese food and we fell on this restaurant by chance as we were buying wine from the Wine Shop (on the same road) a fab shop by the way! when we were introduced to the owner of Grissino restaurant and what a lovely man with his italian charm he was, we had espresso in his restaurant during the day and looked over the menu and told him we would return tomorrow we did not book a time but as he promised us a table we turned up at 9pm the following evening and he had reserved us a table it was very busy with every table taken and from the moment we sat down the food was exquisite, tasty, fresh and true italian with an italian owner, his son in the kitchen and wife front of house we thought we were back in Rome! just a charming small restaurant with lots of character and fabulous wine selection, we told him we loved antonori wines which he had a bottle in his collection just brilliant. We were so full as we had not only 3 courses but gifts from the chef also we literally could not move at the end of it but we visit the algarve at least 5 times a year and we will definetly be back, a lovely evening with great food and wine and service which was just 5 star.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LAAWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Grissino also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Ristorante Grissino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing