We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, romantic and patronising.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pequeno Mundo

Pequeno Mundo
Ranked #33 of 151 Restaurants in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Phone no 00351 289 399 866‎
Jersey CI
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely, romantic and patronising.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival we were looked at like scum by the other diners. We felt totally out of place as we didn't wear jackets and ties however, we thought our money is the same as everyone else's so we just got on with it. We had an amazing time at this restaurant, for seven of us the bill was euro 800. The waiter came over at the end and said one of the other diners mentioned that he thought we would be trouble however, he was pleased with our behaviour. I would return to this restaurant. We are all 29 yo, bankers and I am married.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jersey-1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    45
    15
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This restaurant was recommended to us by a friend that has been going there for 20 years. Our taxi driver said he'd return to collect us in 3.5 hours as he stated that the meal will be an experience and not one to be rushed....his timing was correct. We were welcomed and shown through to the courtyard for an aperitif and a perusal of the menu. The setting was beautiful, we were surrounded by a range of stunning plants and flowers - the atmosphere was lovely and the food was perfect. It felt like a secret hideaway - perfect.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZoeH287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“a little too pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Love the outside surroundings,but left disappointed with the quality of food,which is overpriced.Either improve the food to match the price or bring your prices down.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kevinohara1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Still the best restaurant in the Quinta Do Lago/Almancil area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have been coming to Quinta Do Lago on holiday for most year's for the past fifteen year's and this is still not only our favourite restaurant in the area and we have eaten at all the so called top places but is also the best restaurant without a doubt.
I would describe the restaurant as French in style and the food is fantastic and they have some really famous dishes which have been on the menu for year's like the Mussel Soup with Puff Pastry over the top, the Prawn Curry and the Chicken Breast with Pasta and Mushroom sauce. The Chateaubriand is also superb and they have two amazing desserts which are the Chocolate Profiteroles stuffed with Vanilla Ice Cream and this layered Raspberry dessert in between thin biscuits with a fruity sauce. I don't think you will find a bad dish on the menu. They also have a great wine list and great decanters.
The setting is also fantastic and delightful. Part of the restaurant is in a old court yard and the rest in an old country house. The tables are really nice. On a beautiful summer's evening the restaurant is amazing.
The service is also fantastic. A lot of the staff have been at the restaurant since it opened over ten year's ago which show's you how good they are and we have got to know them well. They do a great job. I also have to mention the Mangaer/Owner Joaquim. He is not only a really nice man who we have known since the restaurant started but he is so very good at his job and runs the restaurant superbly. This makes such a difference. He even allows us to order extra vegetables with our meal as they are not offered as side dishes.
So basically this restaurant is hard to fault and if you won't a really great meal while staying in the local area then Pequeno Mundo would be my first choice. It will not disappoint you.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pequeno Mundo stay at the top!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

After 2 weeks at the best restaurants in Almancil area, Pequeno
maintains their position at the top! Setting, Fine food and excellent service. An experience every time. Thanks Derek
at megagardenstore.com

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pequeno Mundo also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Pequeno Mundo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing