We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good evening eating out”
Review of Pig & Whistle

Pig & Whistle
Ranked #32 of 153 Restaurants in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $33
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Filey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good evening eating out”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had evening meal here on chance no booking made beforehand. We got a table and had a two course meal which was lovely. It describes itself as continental but I viewed the menu with a British slant. Everything we had was cook beautifully. The wine by the glass was very good value. I would go again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clipps11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigandwhistle, Owner at Pig & Whistle, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Clips 11, thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at our restaurant , and always from a senior contributor . We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip. Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    59
    20
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
159 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“The pig & whistle delivered once again”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We dined at the Pig & Whistle on Friday night last. All 3 courses were top class. Good wine choice with staff reccomendations. Service was very good and there was a nice atmosphere. I will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MikeLough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigandwhistle, Owner at Pig & Whistle, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Mike. Thank you for taking the time to write about your visit to our restaurant, obviously always great to receive such positive feedback especially from a senior reviewer . We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to the Algarve. Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really lovely evening”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here last night with our three year old daughter. The staff were really friendly and the food superb. Great meal and experience, by far the best we have had during our visit.

Highly recommended and will visit again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peepo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigandwhistle, Owner at Pig & Whistle, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear peepo, thank you for taking the to write about your experience whilst visiting our restaurant, and pleased you rated us so highly. I will pass your comments onto the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back . Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent red wine, food was quite good.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The food was nice and tasty, portions were acceptable and if you're eating late then this is ideal. We had some very good red wine, which was excellent. The service was okay, although a few minor errors. Overall I gave this 3 stars as I think that the selection of food could be better, for example the special fish dish was Salmon.... Honestly this should be red snapper, Squid/octopus or a native Portugese fish.

The rib eye steak was tasty with red Thai curry style, although could be hotter for my taste.

The prawns for a starter were normal sized and we've had giant prawns with piri piri at another restaurant, which was much tastier.

It's a good restaurant overall and you'll enjoy eating here, but there are better restaurants to go to. Check out my other reviews to find out more.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guitarman1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigandwhistle, Owner at Pig & Whistle, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guitarman. Thank you for taking the time to write a review abut your experience to our restaurant. It doesn't seem to follow suite of all the other reviews. You mentioned our service had a few minor errors, but failed to let me know what they were . Always keen to know of an error however minor. Our fish of the day was actually Salt Cod, not salmon, bought from a Portuguese fish market fresh that morning. As our food is freshly prepared and the sauces made from home made ingredients, I am sure if you wanted the red Thai curry sauce hotter and asked for it then the chef would have accommodated this for you. We do hope that when you return you will visit us again and we will cater for your taste requests. Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Simply the best meal fo our holiday”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

You would never look twice at this place from the roadside but once inside it's like a tardis! A small inside restarant leads through to a courtyard where you dine under the stars. A good selection of food which was beautifully presented by attentative staff. Well worth a visit and I guarantee you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank weloveholidaysuk_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigandwhistle, Owner at Pig & Whistle, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear all. Thank you for taking the time to discover our restaurant and what seems to be your most enjoyable evening. It sounds like you all thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and glad we made your holiday complete, especially with the tag name "we love holidays" and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip. Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pig & Whistle also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Pig & Whistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing