We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely evening”
Review of Pig & Whistle

Pig & Whistle
Ranked #35 of 160 Restaurants in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $33
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had dinner here last night with our three year old daughter. The staff were really friendly and the food superb. Great meal and experience, by far the best we have had during our visit.

Highly recommended and will visit again.

Thank Peepo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigandwhistle, Owner at Pig & Whistle, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear peepo, thank you for taking the to write about your experience whilst visiting our restaurant, and pleased you rated us so highly. I will pass your comments onto the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back . Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

225 - 229 of 380 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

The food was nice and tasty, portions were acceptable and if you're eating late then this is ideal. We had some very good red wine, which was excellent. The service was okay, although a few minor errors. Overall I gave this 3 stars as I think that the selection of food could be better, for example the special fish dish was Salmon.... Honestly this should be red snapper, Squid/octopus or a native Portugese fish.

The rib eye steak was tasty with red Thai curry style, although could be hotter for my taste.

The prawns for a starter were normal sized and we've had giant prawns with piri piri at another restaurant, which was much tastier.

It's a good restaurant overall and you'll enjoy eating here, but there are better restaurants to go to. Check out my other reviews to find out more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Guitarman1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigandwhistle, Owner at Pig & Whistle, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Guitarman. Thank you for taking the time to write a review abut your experience to our restaurant. It doesn't seem to follow suite of all the other reviews. You mentioned our service had a few minor errors, but failed to let me know what they were . Always keen to know of an error however minor. Our fish of the day was actually Salt Cod, not salmon, bought from a Portuguese fish market fresh that morning. As our food is freshly prepared and the sauces made from home made ingredients, I am sure if you wanted the red Thai curry sauce hotter and asked for it then the chef would have accommodated this for you. We do hope that when you return you will visit us again and we will cater for your taste requests. Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

You would never look twice at this place from the roadside but once inside it's like a tardis! A small inside restarant leads through to a courtyard where you dine under the stars. A good selection of food which was beautifully presented by attentative staff. Well worth a visit and I guarantee you will not be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank weloveholidaysuk_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigandwhistle, Owner at Pig & Whistle, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear all. Thank you for taking the time to discover our restaurant and what seems to be your most enjoyable evening. It sounds like you all thoroughly enjoyed your time with us and glad we made your holiday complete, especially with the tag name "we love holidays" and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip. Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Having been recommended by friends, we decided to visit and it exceeded our expectations. Michelin standard food but with Gastro restaurant portions. It was so good we went twice during our holiday. It is a shame it has a tucked away location. Great service, really friendly staff, fantastic ambience, we would highly recommend to anyone visiting quinto.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ulla V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigandwhistle, Owner at Pig & Whistle, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Ulla, thank you for taking the time to write a review about us. And also for discovering us. We hope that when you return to the Algarve you will visit us again. Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Wow, do NOT judge the small quaint looking little roadside 'pub'........this is a superb little hidden secret of the highest level.
It's a tiny place from outside, and while pleasant looking, it's not an attention catcher, but once you go in its like a time machine which takes you to a different place.
Small indoor pretty dining area, and then outside to a beautiful dinning area, and very cozy.
The service is fabulous, friendly and inviting, and the food.......well, honestly this is arguably the finest food I have ever tasted anywhere in the world.
Number 1 in Almancil is really harsh, this could be possibly number 1 in whole the Algarve!
First class, HIGHLY recommend!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank hubz72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigandwhistle, Owner at Pig & Whistle, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Hubz. Thank you for such a resounding comment, especially from such a top reviewer and experienced travelled person as yourself . From your experiences to rate us so highly I thank you and will ensure everyone who works in the restaurant is passed on your sentiments. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to the Algarve . Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pig & Whistle also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Pig & Whistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing