We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb food in an authentic Portuguese environment”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pig & Whistle

Pig & Whistle
Ranked #17 of 151 Restaurants in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $33
Cuisines: Contemporary, European, Mediterranean, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
“Superb food in an authentic Portuguese environment”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have been to the pig and whistle several times and in never fails to impress. The surroundings are authentic with great ambience and the staff are friendly and efficient. The food is really excellent with superb presentation and mouth watering taste. I can't recommend it enough! Well worth the visit!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crowfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigandwhistle, Owner at Pig & Whistle, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Crow Factor, thank you for writing about your visits, whilst on holiday, to our restaurant, I am Glad that on your various visits to our restaurant over the time you have been here, have always delivered to your expectations, we look forward to welcoming you back when you are here next. Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    58
    19
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding food and great value.”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We first visited the Pig and Whistle in September 2012 and were very impressed. Our recent visit confirmed our original impression. The food is excellent and well presented and the staff are friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris_McIntosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigandwhistle, Owner at Pig & Whistle, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Chris, thank you for writing about your visit to our restaurant, and pleased to read you returned and that your impressions had not changed. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next return to The Algarve . Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I visted the pig & whistle with family, I absolultely loved this restaurant..the food was amazing, we actually came back on another 2 occasions to try different meals on the menu.
The Restaurant itself is lovely and relaxing, and the waiting staff couldn't be more helpful and very lovely.
I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cherieade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigandwhistle, Owner at Pig & Whistle, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Cherieaide, thank you for taking the time to write of your not only once but a few times experiences whilst on holiday. I will be sure to tell Chris and Bridget of your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip. Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Amazing evening”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We went here as a family of 7 and it was the best meal of our holiday. The staff were all very friendly and especially child friendly. The food was amazing and every course just got better. The price was very reasonable and I would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Almancil and will be going back

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edavidson100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigandwhistle, Owner at Pig & Whistle, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear E Davidson, I am pleased that you and your party of 7 enjoyed your evening with us. We hope to see you again on your next trip back to the Algarve. Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
75 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“excellent quality and value”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We went to the Pig and whistle twice in 4 days simply because we were blown away after the first meal and so went back and were not disappointed in the least.
The welcome, service and food was superb - nothing too much trouble and staff always very attentive without being overbearing.
Lovely atmosphere and not too crowded

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank wightgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pigandwhistle, Owner at Pig & Whistle, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear wight golfer, thank you for writing of your experience whilst on holiday. And such great positive comments, not only once but twice, I am pleased we live up to the reputation and more so the efforts of Chris and Flavio in the kitchen and Bridget and her team front of house. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip. Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pig & Whistle also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
 
Vale do Lobo, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Pig & Whistle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing