We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're looking for quality french cuisine in a pleasantly classy ambiance try it!”
Review of Couleur France - CLOSED

Couleur France
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Faro, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“If you're looking for quality french cuisine in a pleasantly classy ambiance try it!”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Living nearby I had driven past Couleur France many a time without ever stopping to visit it. Until yesterday. The restaurant benefits from an exquisite setting. Modern architecture in what looks like a purposely built structure with a decoration in very good taste and superb landscaping. There are a couple of independent dining areas and the numerous glass surfaces contribute to create a great atmosphere both indoor with a very modern fireplace kind of ;-) and also of the well lit garden outside, The service is professional and discreet - as it should be and you will not have to endure all those visits to the table to ask you whether you are enjoying it which became kind of fashionable in the region lately. The menu at Couleur France is extensive enough for you to have a choice but small enough for you to keep track of the options as you read one after the other gastronomical proposals. They work on a set menu basis of 5 plates from the amuse-bouche to the dessert for a fixed price. It is definitely not cheap but given the quality, the service and the ambiance I thought it was well worth it - of course I won't be going there very often...
If you're looking for quality french cuisine in a pleasantly classy ambiance try it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JOSE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    39
    20
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Classy corner for a top-value lunch”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We've been promising ourselves a trip to Couleur France for a couple of years without getting there, but decided this time to make the effort and try the much-praised lunchtime option.
Good decision! The establishment oozes quality from top to bottom while we opted to by-pass the 10 euro 'main course, drink and coffee option' - wreckless for a Yorkshireman I know - the fuller menu was excellent in every regard, with all four members of our group ordering different items at every turn and all coming up with top marks all round.
The staff were friendly and professional throughout, even though we were not at our sartorial best having decided to visit on a whim after a desperate experience on the golf course.
The whole experience ended talk of hooked tee-shots, shanks and missed puts at a stroke and replaced it with a stream of positive, appreciative tones.
There was certainly advance envy for the lucky people who will be attending Christmas Day lunch and the New Year's Eve bash.
If only....

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank CarefulYorkshireman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best restaurant in the Almancil area”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

A very modern restaurant which is cosy in winter months but cool with outside spaces in the summer. A great choice of food from an international menu. Don't be fooled by the French name. Moderately priced and well - presented. This is the place we go for a holiday 'last night' treat. Has an outside champagne bar.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank theduchess64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Relaxed atmosphere. Good Food, friendly service - just what you would expect from a restaurant in this price bracket. Would definitely return for a special occasion.

Helpful?
5 Thank Quintsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
184 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“excellent meal”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Had a excellent meal here saturday night in a party of eight --5 course special comes with 2 set courses-- and a amous bouge,nice goats cheese flan and a pleasant strawberry sorbet-- had an very nice garlic prawn starter and then the medium size rib eye steak--comes with hand cut chunky chips -- we shared about 6 bottles of local wine and plenty of water--about 60 euro a head in total--the waiter service were for ever topping up every ones water and wine glass, bit too often for my liking but it wasn't a problem--everyone enjoyed there selection and all the wines were fine so a very good thumbs up from me

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank licksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Couleur France also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing