We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nocturnal natural dining experience!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gourmet Natural at the Ermitage

Gourmet Natural at the Ermitage
Ranked #5 of 151 Restaurants in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gourmet Natural is a new style of steak restaurant, featuring all free range, 100% grass fed beef. Fish, sea food and vegetarian options available. service is attentive but no stiff, it helps you to relax into the spirit of the restaurant. Magnificent garden with a beautiful cocktail bar.
essex, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nocturnal natural dining experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Loved this place. Tables set outside in natural surroundings, with option of terrace seating for those who don't want the full outside experience. Ambient lighting highlights the well maintained, clean, well planted outside eating areas. Looks great at night and is a treat for the eyes.
Starters were huge! Sadly the steak, which was a lovely cut of meat, was over seasoned with salt for my liking, but cooked to perfection. all side orders were plentiful and presented well and tasted lovely. Service was great, though fairly quick, with not much time between courses. Staff friendly and very pleasant and polite..
Chilled and relaxed like the restaurant setting itself. Food prices comparable to good UK steak restaurant.. Though in this setting, you get so much more.
Overall an excellent outside dining experience. Would definitely go back and recommend to family and friends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank apesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    61
    25
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stunning surroundings, food and service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We went here twice in one week. Everything was excellent.
One to try if you´re in the Algarve for a treat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I really wanted to enjoy this restaurant, and it was OK, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Decided to try this restaurant for my birthday meal when on holiday. Pictures on website looked lovely, it was a nice evening and we reserved an outdoor table in the very picturesque courtyard. Good reviews for the food, so I was really looking forward to the evening.

Initial impressions were good on arrival, however they then couldn't find our reservation. These things happen, but it was how they dealt with it that was the problem. We were made to stand and wait (despite the restaurant being pretty much empty at this time), eventually after about 5 mins they found it and we were escorted to our table. Service was quite slow, but this didn't bother us as we were in no hurry - others may have been irritated at how long the waiting staff took, again despite not being busy. We both ordered medium steaks - when they arrived, my husband's was cooked properly, but mine was well done. Given this is famous for being a steakhouse, and cooking two steaks together, it was very surprising that the two were so different. I just ate it though as it had taken so long to arrive I couldn't be bothered to complain and start the process all over again. It tasted OK. However, the Potato Dauphinois were to die for - really fantastic. All in all, it was an OK meal, but nothing special. Not worth the price, and I've had many good meals in the Algarve, both expensive and inexpensive that were far better. Nothing to make me think I'll go back any time soon, nor recommend it to others.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RayRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nieuwkoop
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“still going trong”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

This restaurant is still going strong concerning price/quality.
Very attentive manager, sr. Popescu, a real host.
Coming back doesn't mean that 'you've seen everything' because the quality of food and service is excellent.
Perhaps to much staff running here and there, which makes the atmosphere a bit nervous.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Prins-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

The steaks served in this restaurant are from Uruguay and are of a quality I have not experienced before quite simply the best.The restaurant itself is set in a beautiful traditional Portuguese villa with courtyard and gardens very very pretty the food is wonderful and service excellent,and for the quality I thought pricing to be very good do try the local wines so good they keep for themselves you cannot get in the UK

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Irene753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet Natural at the Ermitage also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Gourmet Natural at the Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing