We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best steak” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gourmet Natural at the Ermitage

Gourmet Natural at the Ermitage
Ranked #5 of 151 Restaurants in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Gourmet Natural is a new style of steak restaurant, featuring all free range, 100% grass fed beef. Fish, sea food and vegetarian options available. service is attentive but no stiff, it helps you to relax into the spirit of the restaurant. Magnificent garden with a beautiful cocktail bar.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We visited the restaurant and arrived quite early, but unfortunately hadn't made a reservation. We were given the last table available which was inside and in the corner - definitely not at all atmospheric or enchanting in any way, but at least we got a table.
The main seating area outside looked absolutely gorgeous and would have made our experience much more magical.
The steak was superb in every way.
This was an expensive restaurant and given where we were seated, unfortunately wasn't good value for money.
Overall though, I would recommend and visit it again.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    61
    25
    13
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Yummy steak - HUGE portions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Wow. So impressed with this place for the 2nd time. What great starters, steaks, sides and service. Love it.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Portugal611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“1st class restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

Dined with family all had steaks for mains different cuts all excellent , I had prawn starter excellent , this restaurant is very professionally run , lovely setting court yard outside , high season it was very bizy , wine list. Excellent , we have paid more for meals Not nearly half as good . Will definitely be back

Helpful?
1 Thank Seaview1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Standards have slipped”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

Dined here again recently and was really looking forward to it.
However I have to say our experience fell far short of expectations.
In the 1st instance they have pulled the " value" menu which is a bit sneaky as it is still being advertised in a lot of the local magazines and supposed to be offering exceptional value.
There was 4 of us 2 couples.
The food was good and I won't quibble here as it was up to scratch however where I have a gripe is the outrageous claims in terms of value.
We were charged what was in effect Michelin star prices for a product which was simply not at that level.
Worked out at approx €85 per head which is certainly not "extremely honest" prices in my book even for Quinta Do Lago. As I said my crib is not with the food which is good but rather the misconception that this represents an evening for price weary diners...I think it would be fairer to say that this is an expensive resteraunts for special occasions and treat it as such but don't go there expecting to have a reasonably priced night. If that's what your looking for perhaps better to to go to the new Tapas resteraunts around the corner....

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TheQuiteMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgustinGourmetN, Owner at Gourmet Natural at the Ermitage, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear Customer

Thanks for your review.

We understand that your disappointment centers on the fact that at the time of your visit our "value" menu as referred to was not available. This is the case since 2011 every summer. Our apologies we didn't transmit this clearly to you in our advertisement. Please rest assured there is no bad intention or dishonesty behind it. We will look into altering our advert.

The title of the review could be also misleading. The title is: "standards have slipped". When in fact the food was nice and there is no negative comment about any standard being down. Again we are sorry the set menu we had before was not available.

The value of the bill value mentioned in your review could be also misleading to TripAdvisor users and needs to be explained. The total per person you suggest is 30% higher that the average bill for a 3 course meal (wine included). Of course a bill this high can happen when the most expensive items of food, beverage and wine are ordered.

We make no claims of being Michelin star restaurant. We are a Uruguayan steak restaurant where at the heart of our patio you see passionate chefs cooking with wood fire and embers. We import 100% Grass fed certified natural Beef. We produce very simple food with quality products.

The restaurant is regularly visited by Sports, Music and cinema celebrities that sit next to locals and holiday makers surrounded by our warm hospitality and care for our profession. Definitely this is a restaurant for special occasions where a 3 course meal is not more expensive that any of the Beach Restaurants in the area.

The place you recommend called "Tapas & Vinhos" is fantastic new addition to the restaurant scene in the area. We also recommend this restaurant to TripAdvisor users. But it is again misleading to think it is the same experience or type of venue. Two very different themes.

Again thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Probably the best in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Eight of us went last week and we were all amazed at the place, no expense spared but done very tastefully.Menu is Steaks mainly but also fish and chicken, all done very,very well and portions are very large,starters can be shared.Staff seem to be very well trained and very helpful. With recommendations on both the food and wine which we took and they were correct.However it is the visual appearance and the layout that really impress especially as one has to approach it by a lane.This is one of the places Ihave been to anywhere ,it reminds me of a place in Lima, Peru which is also very impressive.I will be going again a few times ,verbally looking forward to it.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank einstein57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gourmet Natural at the Ermitage also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Been to Gourmet Natural at the Ermitage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing