We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Restaurante O limoeiro - CLOSED

Restaurante O limoeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $26
Cuisines: European, Portuguese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had a really good dinner here. We both had the fish chowder to start which was lovely & then we had 2 great steaks that were cooked to perfection and a very generous portion. Dessert was also very generous. We had the pineapple and the cheesecake and both were good. The decor is a little dated but we couldn't fault the service or the food and we felt the price was reasonable. We will definitely eat here again if we go back to The Algarve.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulaspice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    64
    31
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very tasty & excellent value lunch”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

As this restaurant is not by the beach nor on a golf course, it was the recommendations on 'Trip Advisor' that encouraged us to visit.

As the area is quiet at this time of year, we were pleasantly surprised to find the restaurant busy - a good sign and we were not disappointed.

The fish soup starter was hot and tasty with chunky pieces of white fish. For our mains, we selected the 7 euro specials which were both delicious and of a good portion size. The side-dishes (included in the price) of mixed veg and sautéed potatoes with chorizo were a great accompaniment.

With a half bottle of wine and water, the bill came to just over 30 euro for two people which was excellent value for such a tasty, filling and comforting meal.

An added bonus was the friendly staff and, especially, the owner who took time out to welcome us and talk to us about local attractions.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Higham Ferrers, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Owner always right”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very dissappointed food was quite tasteless and when we did question the owner the reply was that people travel for miles for Roberts soup not what we were expecting.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Portuguese with a twist”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Robert and Anne have perfected a menu that gives good quality at a good price. There is always an interesting dish of the day - salmon trout with a spicy sauce or even a humble cottage pie is in a class of its own with Roberts treatment. New parking at the rear is a bonus.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank genialgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halstead, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Anniversary Meal”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

This restaurant was recommended to us and we were not dissap
ointed at all. The owner was very welcoming when we arrived, the ambience was just right, the food totally exquisite. The whole meal was cooked to perfection, all the food was full of flavour and the portions were more than adequate. The owner was very attentive and made sure everything throughout the evening was to our satisfaction. Very reasonably priced, a three cousre meal with a bottle of the house wine was a very attractive 75euros, and worth every penny. Thank you Ann and Robert for a pleasant evening.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Therese S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante O limoeiro also viewed

Almancil, Faro District
 
Almancil, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 
Albufeira, Faro District
Almancil, Faro District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing