We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing as always, particularly the staff and views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Bonjustmarried
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing as always, particularly the staff and views”
Reviewed January 13, 2010

This was our 4th visit to The Beach Club since it opened and as always it was amazing. The two best things about this place are the staff and the views. We usually stay in the 'dunas' or 'vista' blocks and have amazing sea views from our bedroom, living room and terrace. The terrace in the apartments are huge as is the barbecue area with seating for 10. The last time we were there, we were with 3 friends and spent all our time on the beds on the terrace, dipping in and out of the jacuzzi and admiring the gorgeous sea views. We have stayed in many 5 star resorts throughout the world but I have never met nicer, more courteous staff. I don't know if they recognise us by now but they always treat us like long lost friends.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bonjustmarried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    27
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
162
50
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

On the last night of our holiday with DDBC. Despite alot of rain over the Xmas and New year, it has been a great stay for the whole family. Beautiful location, great staff.
Just a warning to all planning a stay here. Hire a car at the airport with Hertz or your usual reliable hire car company. You will need a car here as you can't really walk anywhere outside the complex. The hire car company offered by DDBC Auto Jardim are a rip-off merchants, after insurance expect to pay double what you'll pay at the airport, also expect them to try and hit you with as many charges as feasible.
Otherwise enjoy DDBC ! We'll be back again for the Easter break.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LBSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunasDouradas, General Manager at Dunas Douradas Beach Club, responded to this review, January 12, 2010
Thank you for your for taking the time to send us your review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us as we strive to exceed all our guests’ expectations year round.

Thank you also for providing us with some feedback regarding Auto Jardim. We take special care when selecting our local partners and your feedback about Auto Jardim is very important to us. Your comments have been passed on to them to ensure a better experience for those guests wishing to use Auto Jardim to rent a car during their stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Dunas Douradas Beach Club and thank you again for choosing to stay with us.

Evy, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2009

DDBC is a beautiful well kept complex of apartments and villas which opened in 2008. We stayed in a 3 bedroom Vista apartment which was spacious and very well equipped with quality items. The large balcony terrace was well furnished with a sofa, 3 sunbeds, table and chairs, bbq, fridge and sink. Due to the apartments elevated position we had fantastic views of the coastline.

The pool area was a lovely open space and the apartments by the pool did not intrude at all. The food in the bar by the pool was excellent and the staff were very friendly.

The beach was a five minute walk from our apartment and a further 15 -20 minute stroll along the beach to The Praca area at Vale do Lobo where there are numerous bars and restaurants together with a newspaper shop and a few designer boutiques.

There are also several beach bars and restaurants along the beach in the direction of Quinta do Lago. Julias and Antonios specialise in fish. We had lunch at Antonios which was very basic and extremely expensive. This probably represented the worst value meal we had during our seven day stay and we wouldn't bother returning.

We found the best supermarket was Apolonia in Almancil centre .

We do not normally like to return to the same place the following year but we enjoyed it so much that we rebooked immediately on our return for next year. Our children (early twenties) thoroughly enjoyed the holiday too and were keen to return although it is not a place they would choose as a holiday with friends because it is quiet but they enjoyed a lazy relaxing week in the sun.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pinewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
130 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2009

Although we did not stay at this Beach Club (we stayed in a privately owned villa which is managed by the club), we ate there on several occasions because we had friends staying there. I would definitely consider staying there in future as the facilities for both young and old alike are fantastic. The service is second to none and the staff are very friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CheltenhamLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2009

Just got back yesterday from our second trip to this complex and couldn't be sadder to leave. The apartments and grounds are very pretty traditional portugese style and as such are slightly hilly and 'cobberly' (walking in heels is a challenge!). The reception, bar and restaurant are very chic and rival any boutique style hotel seen in miami or any other major resort for that matter. The location is a little isolated but you can walk along the beach to some fantastic beach bar/restaurants and there is a wonderful Ken Lo chinese restaurant also within walking distance (around 5 to 10 mins depending if you havde children with you or not!). There are plentiful taxis, which reception will arrange for you, and all sorts of restaurants and bars are within 5/10 mins drive away.

However, the Dunas Douradas restaurant is top class and I would have happily eaten there every night. The food was always well cooked and presented (including the children's special menu), there was live music most nights and the waiting staff were attentive but not overbearing. We had with us 2 young children (3 & 2yrs) who can be a bit temperamental when tired but we were never made to feel uncomfortable having them there and the staff were really great with them.

The pool area is fantastic (4 pools - 1 indoors) with a good sized pool for children which is around 1 mtr deep all round. There are plenty of comfortable upholstered sunbeds and the when we were there in September it wasn't busy. All the children played together quite happily, sharing pool toys and the parents chatted around the pools. Although this is obviously quite an upmarket complex, there was no 'snootiness' as I have experienced in some other 5* hotels.

The daily maid service (no service on Sunday) was very good and unobtrusive - although there was no set time they came and were sometimes there late afternoon when we came back to oiur apartment.

All in all, we all had a lovely time and would happily recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiveLoveHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almancil
1.9 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,523 reviews
6.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,010 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#3 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments
7.1 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas Douradas Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas Douradas Beach Club

Property: Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Address: Sitio do Garrao, Almancil 902-8135, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Almancil
#2 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
#2 Family Hotel in Almancil
#4 Romantic Hotel in Almancil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dunas Douradas Beach Club 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located on the Golden Algarve Coastline between the luxurious resorts of Quinta do Lago and Vale do Lobo, Dunas Douradas enjoys an enviable position in every sense. Imagine the smell of the ocean and the sound of the waves breaking on the shoreline as you wake from a relaxing sleep. Dunas Douradas Beach Club offers 132 quality apartments and 8 villas situated in a prestigious beach front location within Algarve's Golden Triangle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dunas Douradas Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Douradas Beach Club Hotel Almancil
Dunas Douradas Beach Club Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing