We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true holidays' retreat!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A true holidays' retreat!”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was the sixth time we stayed at Dunas Douradas Beach Club. 2 weeks in family for relaxing. One of the few condominiums in Algarve segregated from the surroundings and with security/controlled access.Iit is the ideal place for family vacations. Spacious apartments, well equipped, including private jacuzzi, nice common facilities, direct access to the beach, good service. Located in Almancil, the region of Algarve with the best restaurants (including Michelin stars restaurants), with the best Golf courses nearby, with the best tennis Academy (Vale de Lobo) at walking distance.
At Dunas Douradas you can enjoy the best of Algarve! A true holidays retreat! Antonio Vieira da Silva

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunasDouradas, General Manager at Dunas Douradas Beach Club, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear Antonio,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts on Dunas Douradas Beach Club.
We are glad to hear that you chose to spent your family holidays here at the Beach Club one more time, enjoying our excellent facilities, location and service.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,
Evy Ougendal
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    27
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
164
50
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We are just back from a 17 days holiday at DDBC and have some comments to share.
What we liked:
The development layout in general and the proximity to the beach that makes your logistic a lot easier than Pine Cliffs.
The three bedrooms apartment was big enough and, being in an elevated position, had great sea views.
And what we didn't:
The apartments don't have a standard décor. They are individually furnished and decorated and ours wasn't exactly an example of good tastes.
There wasn't television in any room, as you should expect in a resort of this level, but only in the living room, with a DVD player, and in the master bedroom. Believe it or not we also had as a VHS player and an MP3 player as extra perks.
You are lead to believe that there is a Spa at the resort. It just consists of a treatment room beside the gym and this is it.
The Kid's Club is an unappealing room with no natural light in the basement; the weekly activity program is quite boring and is the same week after week so it might get even more boring if you stay multiple weeks.
The resort is not kept as clean as a resort of this level should be. Junk is hanging around for days before being picked up.
The pool area wasn't really up to the standard; most of the sun loungers were broken and the cushions were definitely in need of a trip to the laundry. Most of the pool and beach towels were really worn and sometimes not available. A pool table ready for the scrap yard completed the picture.
The sauna is located in the pool restroom that is not its most obvious location as the they are very busy and not exactly immaculately clean. Most of the times is off and if you switch it on there is always a helping hand ready to turn it off.
There is a gated entrance and a fobbed gate to the beach but funnily enough everybody can get in unchecked from the door leading to the restaurant that is always open. Not good in a place where you assume that your children can move around the pool area safely.
Internet connection is something that you probably haven't experienced for ages as the speed ranges from 0.35 to a top speed of 0.65 mps.
Members of staff are quite polite without overdoing it. I was not surprised when after paying my bill I wasn't even asked "how was your holiday" or said "hope to see you again next year".
All this considered we think that this resort is massively overrated and although we had a decent time there we don't think it will be worth a second visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcello R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunasDouradas, General Manager at Dunas Douradas Beach Club, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to make such an extensive review and we are pleased that you had a decent time with us. I will make a brief comment on each of your negative points.
• We are really sorry the décor in this specific unit didn’t come to your taste. Our resort consists of privately owned units and, like in a boutique hotel, every apartment is individually decorated. This usually creates a pleasant surprise for repeated guests and a big contingency of our guests (more than 50% this year) are repeated guests;
• Our standard specification is to have one television per apartment, but many owners have two televisions and we are taking up your suggestion by asking all owners to follow this policy. We also have additional televisions that can be supplied on request;
• It is a pity that you felt mislead by the Spa section of our website. We have two treatment rooms with very skilled masseurs and beauticians, in addition to the Jacuzzi, sauna and swimming pools;
• The kids club is not just a room where we store kids. They have outdoor and water activities every day and use the kids area just for relaxing and baking lessons. It is not too exposed, which we think is a great advantage as we have the responsibility for several children and it is cool when the sun is at its highest in the middle of the day. We can only say we are sorry that your kids found our program boring;
• Your comment about the resort not being kept clean is a completely new information for me. On the contrary, most reviews are commenting on the cleanness of the place;
• We are in the process of replacing all the sun loungers and cushions around the pool for next season. The weeks you where staying here where exceptionally busy and the number of sun loungers around the pool were not sufficient. As a result of that, we decided to supply an extra 20 we had in the basement, and yes they were in less than perfect condition, but we found it more important to make sure everyone could have a sun lounger. The cushions are impossible to send to cleaning in the middle of August and unfortunately spilt sun lotion left stains on some of them;
• Thank you for your comment on the sauna, we will ask the pool guard to check on this more often;
• The gate that leads into the restaurant is monitored from our cameras in the security room and when strangers walk passed the barrier towards the pools, they will be questioned. I dare to say that we are one of the safest resorts in the Algarve and has in five years never had an incident;
• The internet connection is generally good and fast, but there are areas of the resort where the distance to a hotspot is greater than others and there are fluctuations depending on the number of users;
Best regards,
Evy Ougendal
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is our second consecutive year at the DDBC. As a family of 5 , two adults and 3 kids aged 11/9/6 finding accomodation in good resorts can prove pricy. However, we rented a 2 bed
apartment and asked for an additional bed to be placed in the 2nd bed room. Still ample space.

We love the location. This is one of the only hotels that has a great sea view, and access to the beach 100m from your apartment. The ability to switch between the pool, apartment and beach in invaluable. The grounds are immaculate, and pool is well maintained.
The felxibility of being self catering, but also serviced is also a great touch, so no stress about cleaning up and making the beds. We bbq'ed frequently on our terrace, and the grill is cleaned every day for you.

The food at the pool and hotel was good if you chose to eat there, and the pricing is reasonable.

I pool area is very comfortable, and there is no need to go down early to reserve loungers. Even at 11am there was still availability.
My only criticism is that the pool does not have a sea view, and the resort seems to suffer from a shortage of fresh beach towels, so you may have to wait a few days for a towel change over. They could also do with a table tennis table near the indoor pool, to provide a little more entertainment for the older kids.

We are an active family, so access to the beach, minutes from the VDL tennis centre, and withinh 10 minutes of VDL and Quinta Golf courses is great.

We love it here, and have already booked for next year.

I would definately recommed a car, and for those staying in the resort try and stay in Dounas, Lagoa or Praia, as they are closest to the pool and beach.

Room Tip: If you want to be near the pool , chose the Lagoa , Dunas or Praia as some of the rooms particularly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spyglassLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunasDouradas, General Manager at Dunas Douradas Beach Club, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your long and comprehensive review and we are pleased that you had such a great time.
Your suggestions for more entertainment for older children have been passed on to our Health Club manager. Our beach towels are being replaced, so you should not experience any shortage in the future.
I agree with your comment about renting a car, it can be very useful to be able to see a bit more of this wonderful region, the Algarve. We have a special discount scheme with a leading car rental company, with an office at the airport, and if you book in advance through our reception, we can offer you the advantages of this discounted price.
We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Best regards,
Evy Ougendal
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here during our honeymoon. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful and helped us sort out a problem with our rental car company. The staff in the restaurant was a mixed bag, they were mostly attentive and friendly but occasionally curt and impolite (perhaps they were understaffed that day). One staff member did go out of her way to open the small resort shop for us when we needed salt for a recipe, even though it was technically closed.

The location (next to the beach) is what we came for and the pool was a good fallback plan when we ran into unseasonably cool/windy weather.

We had some problems sleeping due to an unusually noisy A/C unit and a crying infant neighbor, but this certainly didn't ruin our experience.

We got the impression that even though we had a good experience the resort is more designed for families and/or people who want to cook most meals for themselves (full kitchens in each apartment).

Room Tip: If possible, request a room that doesn't border a family with young children. The walls/floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leo_in_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunasDouradas, General Manager at Dunas Douradas Beach Club, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing Dunas Douradas Beach Club for your honeymoon and for taking the time to share your thoughts on Trip Advisor.
We are sorry to hear that the weather wasn’t good the week you stayed with us and that your neighbor had a crying infant and that a noisy air conditioning unit disturbed your sleep. Our modern air conditioning units do not usually make excessive noise, so there must have been an anomaly with the one in your apartment.
Thank you for your kind words about the reception staff. We always strive to offer the highest quality of services, to do justice to the superb resort and location that we are privileged to manage.
Best regards,
Evy Ougendal
CEO – Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Just back from a week at DDBC. Basically nice but lacking in character.
Good points:
-Great apartment set up, good daily cleaning.
-Lovely beach.
- nice pregnancy massage
Bad points:
-Food very average
-Kids club incredibly poorly attended although my girls (3&6) loved going even on their own as Sonia is lovely.
-from Vista it's a hot walk to the beach/ pool esp carrying beach stuff so ended up driving down.
- waiters not very attentive
-some communal loos not very well looked after
- lounger hogging, even if not used all day, leaving very few left for those not friendly with the few pool staff.
-No sports facilities, in fact, apart from pool, beach, gym, there's nothing else.
- insufficient planting resulting in noise travelling at night. Noisy neighbours...

Prefer Four Seasons CC. More facilities, incredibly well attended & happy kids club, better food, better atmosphere, lounger hogging not allowed. Better price too...

Room Tip: With kids, chose one closer to the beach and pool as its a long, hot walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunasDouradas, General Manager at Dunas Douradas Beach Club, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Dunas Douradas Beach Club on Trip Advisor and for the kind words you say about our apartments, cleaning services and particularly Sonia in the Kid’s Club. I will make sure she sees the review, it will make her happy. The Kid’s Club is not something that is easy to plan, as some weeks we have a large number of children attending, others like the week you were there, when there are only a few.
The difficulty in finding a sunbed due to lounge hogging is not a regular event at the Beach Club. However, we have asked our lifeguards to look out for this and apply the rules more rigorously.
As far as the distance to the beach, at 400m from Vista zone, most clients are pleasantly impressed by the close proximity. However, I do sympathise that even this short distance cause some difficulty for a person who is pregnant in a particularly hot week.
I would also like to mention that your comparison with Four Seasons Country Club only makes points in favour of Four Seasons. If a fair comparison is made, we should also mention that Four Seasons Country Club is only a four-star establishment, compared to our five-stars, the apartments only have a partially-equipped, kitchenette compared to our full kitchens, Dunas Douradas Beach Club is 20 years younger so with more up-to-date finishings and design and, most importantly Four Season Country Club is several kilometres distance from the beach. Even after taking the shuttle bus to Quinta do Lago beach car park, the walk across the bridge of the Ria Formosa is still longer than walking from Vista zone at the Beach Club to the beach.
Best regards,
Evy Ougendal
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have just returned from a week at the Beach club.
We have a family of 4 and we booked a first floor two bedroom apartment with roof terrace.
Check-in was straightforward and the staff were welcoming and accommodating.
First impressions the location was modern, well designed and fit for purpose. We were given a map to our apartment, but the site is so well laid out that even the most-geographically challenged could not get lost.
The apartment was clean and well apportioned. Far bigger than resorts such as Sani. The furniture and rugs were probably one season away from replacement but all serviceable.
Kitchen was fully equipped almost two sets of everything and there was a dish washer, washing machine and dryer.
The air conditioning was a little hit and miss (too cold or too hot...and varying in rooms) and the lights and sockets were not working on arrival. Their electricians resolved this within a couple of hours and all was well.
We were a stones throw from the beach and the pool which was fantastic. The only issue we had with the accommodation was that the beds were not particularly comfortable. This could have been resolved with Mattress toppers or new mattress. But we did get back ache by the end of the week.
The leisure facilities were great. There is a spa, gym and pool but that about it. If you want tennis or golf, Vale de lobo is not far. Had great massage in the spa. Would recommend the Sports Massage, it got rid of my back ache from the uncomfortable bed.

We spent most of our time by the pool and the pool staff particularly the waiting staff were excellent, attentive and friendly. Pools were on the chilly side but it was 34 degrees so actually quite refreshing. Lots of families and children so a great environment for families.

We had an issue with the food. Had the BBQ buffet which was poor and it was made worse by a poor lunch by the pool the following day. I complained and they reacted quickly and decisively and showed fabulous customer service. I was really happy and it was refreshing to see a company take feedback seriously and deal with it. Well done to all in Food & Beverages.

As a general statement, the food at local restaurants particularly beach restaurants was not ideal. would advise venturing off the beaten track. definitely stay away from Julia's. We had the worst evening there.

All in all, it was a lovely family vacation and we would most definitely go back. Good quality accommodation, attentive staff and a well though-out and designed resort in a fabulous location.

Finally, don't hire a car. Its not worth it, you wont use it and it is cheaper to use the hotel taxis to go to shops or restaurants.

Room Tip: Lagoa apartments are close to the pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ATraveller01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just back from 10 nights at the fabulous Dunas Douradas Beach Club, and what a great time we had. This is just about the perfect place for a relaxing family holiday, the apartments are just superb - large rooms, beautifully appointed, proper 5-star luxury....definitely up there with other 5 star hotels around the world. Having read reviews saying the beds are uncomfortable I was pleased to find ours to be super-comfy. The mattress was on the firm side but this is how we have it at home so no issue for us whatsoever. The double beds are a pair of beds pushed together, but each side is about the size of a regular double bed, so again no issue.

We spent a long time choosing which apartment to book, finally opting for the Jardim area at the top of the resort. Having since walked around the whole resort I can honestly say that I don't think we could have made a better choice. Our top-floor apartment was private, had amazing views, and was still only a 5 minute walk down the hill to the pool. Our kids (6 & 3) had no problem with this walk each day. We certainly thought that it was better to have tranquility, privacy and excellent views at the top of a short hill, than proximity to the pool/bar etc.

We had 3 terraces outside the apartment, each furnished, with a hot-tub on the upper terrace. This was a big hit with the whole family and a great way to unwind in the early evenings after a hard day at the pool or beach. Does it get much better than sipping pre-dinner bubbly in your private hot-tub with a spectacular view out to sea?

The common areas of the complex are very nice, not spectacular as you find in some 5-star resorts, but certainly of an acceptable standard. The pools are great - the water in late July was at the perfect temperature, just cool enough to be refreshing, just warm enough for prolonged wallowing. Plenty of sunbeds - we never bother getting down early to reserve, so just rock up once we’ve finished breakfasting and lazing about in the apartment, often not until afternoon. We only had one day where we didn’t get adjacent beds for all of us and had to share one bed for an hour or so until others freed up.

The atmosphere at the pool could be described as ‘lively’ without being annoying. If you don’t have kids you might find it a bit off-putting, there are kids playing in and around the pools all day, and it’s a free-for-all with inflatable crocodiles, boats etc. This is an up-market resort though, so the kids are generally well behaved and sensible parenting keeps everything under control. As a family we thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere – the kids absolutely loved it.

The food and drinks service around the pool is good – you don’t get the full-on 5 star treatment that you get in some resorts around the world, but we like that – it’s not overbearing, just friendly and efficient. The food is pretty good, not amazing, but certainly nice enough to be a regular lunch choice through our stay.

The grounds are pristine – it’s a relatively new resort (google maps photos still show it being built!) and has a bit of that feel about it, but the way it’s been done, the architecture of the villas, the mature trees and shrubs planted throughout, the ornate tiled walkways…it’s just a very nice place to be. At night it’s peaceful – just the occasional sounds of people enjoying themselves on their terraces and the ocean in the distance.

The area around the hotel is great – the long sandy beach is superb, there are jetskis and other watersports, beach restaurants (Marias/Izzys/Julias). The Vale Do Lobo Praca is a 10 minute walk down the beach or a 5 minute drive. Loads of great restaurants within a short drive.

Overall, we’ve just had what is probably our best family holiday ever at DDBC – we were able to fully relax – you have this amazing luxury apartment, better than anything you could try to rent privately, and it’s got daily maid service, room service etc. This really is the best of both worlds, you have self-catering but without a load of housework – the maids are there daily to load the dishwasher, make the beds and clean the whole place – you get back from the beach and it’s likely you’ve just checked in!

If you don’t mind paying this sort of money for a beach holiday, just go for it…it’s great.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunasDouradas, General Manager at Dunas Douradas Beach Club, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for spending the time to write such a detailed and nice review. We think you have made an excellent report on aspects of the resort that will be of interest to clients.
To hear that you had a great time and probably the best family holiday ever here at the Beach Club made us feel rewarded and proud of the high standard of service that we strive to offer.
It is interesting, the point you made about google maps still showing the resort under construction. These images are from 2007, but if you look us up on “Bing” or the Apple Maps programme, the images are more up-to-date.
We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Best regards,
Evy Ougendal
CEO
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almancil
1.9 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,547 reviews
6.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 154 in Albufeira
1,036 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#2 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments
2.8 mi away
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
Dom Jose Beach Hotel
#9 of 48 in Quarteira
1,563 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vale do Lobo Resort
Vale do Lobo Resort
#7 of 14 in Almancil
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas Douradas Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas Douradas Beach Club

Property: Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Address: Sitio do Garrao, Almancil 902-8135, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Almancil
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Almancil
#3 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
#4 Romantic Hotel in Almancil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Dunas Douradas Beach Club 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located on the Golden Algarve Coastline between the luxurious resorts of Quinta do Lago and Vale do Lobo, Dunas Douradas enjoys an enviable position in every sense. Imagine the smell of the ocean and the sound of the waves breaking on the shoreline as you wake from a relaxing sleep. Dunas Douradas Beach Club offers 132 quality apartments and 8 villas situated in a prestigious beach front location within Algarve's Golden Triangle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Dunas Douradas Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Douradas Beach Club Hotel Almancil
Dunas Douradas Beach Club Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing