We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Environmentaly Friendly 5 Star Resort on the Coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Almancil
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Recently vacationed at this outstanding luxury resort. All sizes of properties avaialable including villas and condo/ apts. Community is gated and regularly patrolled by security staff. Ocean views and sounds, beautiful beach less than 5 min. walk away. Quiet with lots of green space. All sites are climate controlled and the marble floors are heated. Kitchens have evertything you want including dish washers. Clothes washer and dryer also in the condo.Staff exceptionally helpful at no extra cost, arranging car rentals, tours, dinners, tee times and patiently providing all answers to our endless questions. As a result we had a really satisfying holiday with hassle free car rental and not being gouged at various venues, unlike many other vacationers we met, as the resort is well respected in the community. This developement has won several awards since it's inception, including being in the top 25 best luxury hotels in Portugall's Travellers' Choice Awards 2013. As Canadians that have travelled extensively in North America we found this resort to be incredible value for our money.Retirerees Western Canada 3Carolyn3

Room Tip: All the rooms are great and all balconies face the ocean. Some are closer than others. We stayed in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Carolyn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

185 - 191 of 291 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a one week break in Dunas dourados beach club. We stayed in 2 3-bed apartments which were absolutely perfect. They were in the vista section which although us a walk from the clubhouse, has a beautiful view of the sea and enjoys sun on the terraces throughout the day.
The daily cleaning service was poor by anyone's standard. Sand remained in beds, dirty trays in the oven and wine glasses were left on the sideboard unwashed.
The poolside lifeguard and attendant was not at all interested in safeguarding the children. They were parked at their indoor pool which was empty even though there were children playing in the outdoor pools.
The mini club staff were also disinterested in engaging with us. There were 5 children under 5 in our group however as it was not peak season, no activities could be arranged. I was amazed as there were very few other guests in the hotel and so the staff did not seem to be busy.
Poolside drinks and refreshments were available only if we went inside the restaurant to order them which again was rather odd seeing as there were very few guests. I would have thought that the bar staff could have come out to us at intervals to offer refreshments/ menus.
The location and design of the development is fantastic and I would recommend it to young families however the staff were poorly motivated and disinterested at best.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jpkDublin_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Had a 4 night break over Easter in Dunas Douradas. Located right beside a fantastic beach the accomodation is of a really high standard. We had a 3 bedroom (all ensuite) apartment with a great view of the gardens and sea. The apartments are fitted out and finished to a very high standard, all rooms with their own aircon, heated floors in the bathrooms, top quality balcony furniture with all singing and dancing gas barbecue - and best of all all english stations inc sky, bbc , sky sports and rte etc (sometimes its nice to watch tv on hols - even when the weather is gorgeous - I dont feel guilty anyway !)
Its a bit isolated so if you are staying for more than a few days a car is essential as the little shop in the complex is limited (and expensive) The restaurant is fine and will also deliver as room service. Also nice bar with what seems a decent social scene. Check in staff and all staff really efficient and friendly - all in all very hard to fault.
We stayed with friends who had hired one of the villas - WOW ! must be 6/8000 sq feet with huge pool - beautifully decorated - would easily accomodate 2 families - Checked out some of the villas for future stay and M4 and M8 villas are top.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed in a one room appartment (J14) during 6 nights on September 2012. The appartment is very well equipped and we almost feel at home. The swimming pools are great, dispite ocasionally some teenagers doing noise, and the beach is probably one oh the best in Algarve. We went through a 5 km walk on the beach to lunch in Quarteira where are plenty of great fresh fish restaurants. Anyway, the resort restaurant prepares great food at affordable price. The resort is quiet and well treated, clean, with discrete security. We went on a bike ride to Faro island, around 20Km roundtrip, through the beautiful lakes of Quinta to Lago to taste a local speciality "arroz de lingueirão". The room has a secret drawer with a lot of books that we only discovered on the last night! Hope to get back soon...

Room Tip: The rooms far from the swimming pool are more quiet and with better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nunojca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stunning resort. We stayed here for 3 weeks in September. Very impressed with everything. Very Luxurious and very pro customer. Everything was considered. One negative, the pool boy. He lacked any of the the warmth the rest of the resort exudes. He very obviously operated his very own class system at the pool. He had his regulars, or maybe they were the big tippers, either way, he would treat some guests dramatically different than others. We also found him extremely unprofessional, hugging and "high fiving" his favourite guests He would forensically count the number of beach towels we left to be laundered while loading his favourite guests with mountains of towels. One morning we set up at the kiddies pool (we had a new born). The parasol was stowed. I erected it myself. 5 mins later he furiously scolded me for doing so. " That was his job", he snapped, and stormed off. This resort is amazing, for 3 weeks we had the perfect holiday. Our gripe is minute, but it needs to be told, as he is letting the rest of his team down. Stay here, enjoy. It is a fantastic place. Just watch out for the pool boy (Man!).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank allesgutodernicht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I booked two 3 bed luxury apartments. Simply amazing a beautiful resort could not fault anything. It is on the beach where there are beach bars and a short taxi ride from Vale do Lobo. The staff are excellant and could not be more helpful.Would recommend for familes, couples or groups. The apartments are big and spacious.

Room Tip: I stayed in Apartment P15. Amazing it was a 3 bed luxury apartment at the back of the resort. Very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Annah691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Our second visit this summer five nights with out kids was amazing this is truly five star resort in all respects , reasonably priced considering standards , club restaurant excellent , also marias on beach fabulous , the location of this resort is second to none , two minutes from quietish Sandy beach , great space in apartments which are well designed , cleaning excellent . Small shop on site stocked with essentials , 24 hour reception very helpful with emails, faxes , free wi fi every where . Can't wait to go back next year .

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Seaview1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almancil
1.9 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 14 in Almancil
1,740 reviews
18.3 mi away
Vila Vita Parc Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
Pine Cliffs Residence, a Luxury Collection Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
EPIC SANA Algarve Hotel
#2 of 153 in Albufeira
1,179 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Vilamoura As Cascatas Golf Resort & Spa
2 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#2 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunas Douradas Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas Douradas Beach Club

Address: Sitio do Garrao, Almancil 902-8135, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Almancil
#2 Family Hotel in Almancil
#4 Romantic Hotel in Almancil
Price Range: $182 - $674 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dunas Douradas Beach Club 5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully located on the Golden Algarve Coastline between the luxurious resorts of Quinta do Lago and Vale do Lobo, Dunas Douradas enjoys an enviable position in every sense. Imagine the smell of the ocean and the sound of the waves breaking on the shoreline as you wake from a relaxing sleep. Dunas Douradas Beach Club offers 132 quality apartments and 8 villas situated in a prestigious beach front location within Algarve's Golden Triangle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dunas Douradas Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Douradas Beach Club Hotel Almancil
Dunas Douradas Beach Club Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing