We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful relaxing place”
Review of Lagunamar Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lagunamar Suites
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Almancil
Tenerife, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“wonderful relaxing place”
Reviewed July 14, 2009

Travelled to lagunamar suites at end of june for 2 weeks with teenagers and young children. We arrived late on sat night so ate in the hotel restaurant which offered set meals or a la carte - really nice food but quite expensive for the amount you got. Rooms were really nice and we were lucky enough to get room 301 with the best and biggest balcony overlooking the pool. Kitchen was adequate and included a hob, microwave, kettle and a small oven with grill but no washing machine or dishwasher which was a bit dissapointing. Large living room with pull out mattress if required. Pool area was spacious and never had any trouble getting sunbeds. Bar had a happy hour every day which proved popular. Team marina staff were excellent with activities from 10am until 8pm including archery , ping pong, water polo and kids club for 2 hours every afternoon. Entertainment at night was limited with some form of show or games from 7pm till 8pm including a reptile show and an eagle show. A couple of nights there was a singer in the bar but only heard from balcony. On a tuesday morning they organise a walk to the nearby lake at quinta where you can have discounted watersports for 2 hours it was a good morning with plenty kayaks and pedaloes. We didnt use the minibus but it went to quite a few places every day including supermarkets and beach and vilamoura most nights at 6pm but you had to make your own way home. We hired a 9 seater van which we had to use daily for trips to beach , supermarkets and restaurants most nights as nothing is within walking distance of hotel but it really isn't an issue if you have a car. There are loads of good restaurants within a few minutes drive we ate in almancil, vale de lobo , quarteira and vilamoura. We visted aqua show waterpark which was a great day out. We also went to quarteira gypsy market on wed which was massive and very busy. Loads of great beaches nearby . Hotel also has a large sun terrace on the roof, a gym , indoor pool, jacuzzi and sauna .

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank y0rkshirebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    14
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
8
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
derbyshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2009

We recently visited Lagunamar with our 14yr and 12yr old daughters. The accomodation was very good, restaurant good but limited menu and quite expensive. The staff were excellent from the receptionist, porters, bar staff and restaurant staff and maid service - could not fault their attention to detail. Our only criticism would be that there was nothing to do in the evening, no entertainment and the games room closed at 8pm. Our daughters were bored silly. We had to take taxis to the marina 20 euro each way, which made the evenings very expensive.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julesbirks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunderland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2008

i stayed at the laguna mar suites in september, i was a little disapointed with the resort, the kitchen was just adequate no oven dish washer.the resort was out in the middle of nowhere. taxis where very expensive, good job they had a free mini bus on site but this was very limited as only 8 seater, the resturant served good meals but very expensive a hotdog with chips was 9 euroes just an example..the resort staff where excellent very friendly and couldnt do enough for you, L Williamson

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank will9695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Stayed at Lagunamar in Sept 08. This is place is situated in a really quite area, very exclusive. I would strongly advise car rental as there is NO shops, restaurants within 30 min walk. Even the beach is 20-30 min walk away.
Also found the area ver expensive but very good quality.
Recommend Julias Bar good food.
Team marina at the hotel were good for our 5 year old but adult entertainment was very poor, thus you really need transport.
Overall a lovely relaxed place but not much else.!

  • Liked — Accomadation
  • Disliked — ~Needing a form of transport
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lee_allen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Almancil
1.5 mi away
Conrad Algarve
Conrad Algarve
#1 of 15 in Almancil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
0.4 mi away
Formosa Park Hotel & Apartments
1.2 mi away
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
Dunas Douradas Beach Club
#2 of 15 in Almancil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
Quinta Do Lago Hotel
#3 of 6 in Quinta do Lago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.4 mi away
Encosta do Lago
Encosta do Lago
#9 of 15 in Almancil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ria Park Garden Hotel
Ria Park Garden Hotel
#14 of 15 in Almancil
3.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lagunamar Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lagunamar Suites

Property: Lagunamar Suites
Address: Urbanizacao Turistica Clube do Ancao, Almancil 8135-170, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Almancil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Almancil
Hotel Class:4 star — Lagunamar Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Lagunamar Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lagunamar Hotel Almancil
Lagunamar Suites Portugal/Algarve - Almancil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing