We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive but you don't a lot of options at the North Cape”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Honningsvag
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Honningsvag
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very expensive but you don't a lot of options at the North Cape”
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We wanted to stay the closest to the North Cape and there are not many options.
There are no hotels at the North Cape itself so we decided to stay in Honningsvag.

Checking was a bit laid back and you don't get the feeling that you are a guest.
We had then clocked 4650 km by car in several journeys and were looking forward to be so far north in Europe. No interest shown and no smile either. Same when checking out.
No question whether we enjoyed our stay. A pity.

The room was very small and very expensive (NOK 1680 or € 220). We stayed for less money in the Waldorf Astoria in New York. The room was located in an extension to the main hotel. The bed was in a very special orientation (see the picture) and the bathroom was not up to the expected standard. There was some mold on the tiles in the shower (the cleaning team must be blind).

We could have a nice dinner. It was a seafood buffet but we decided instead of driving to North Cape.

You can park your car outside but beware that during daytime you have to pay a parking fee.

The breakfast was good but we left disappointed in view of the price and the quality of the room. We have good references having stayed in some 9 hotels across Denmark, Sweden, Norway and Finland.

Again yes it is ideally located but you don't have the choice among many hotels. We were disappointed as it was not up to the Nordic standards (my husband is Swedish and we travel a lot to the North).

An alternative is to stay in Hammerfest but that is long journey to get back from your midnight sun sight.

FYI, the tunnel to Honningsvag costed us NOK 192 or € 25 per passage and the access to the North Cape sight costed us NOK 470 or € 60 for a car and 2 passengers (valid for 48h). The sight is fabulous and you really feel to be at the end of Europe close to the North Pole.

So the best is perhaps to visit the North Cape with a mobilehome. You know what you have as room/sleeping facilities.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lov2travelww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    20
    64
    50
    32
See reviews for
19
83
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2009

The first room we got looked ok, but it had a window to the parking place at the back of the hotel. This place is used by busses, and there are a lot of them. I was warned by earlier reviews, that the noise of their motors can be heard half the night. So we changed room and got one in the older part of the hotel (left part). This room seemed to be very old. It looked disgusting. We were not sure, if it was the right decession, to change rooms, but we accepted the situation as it was. In the morning, I had the chance to take a look at the other rooms (when they got cleaned). At this part of the hotel, they all were awful.

The restaurant was really ok. Prices and number of different meals as everywhere in Norway....
Breakfast buffet also was ok.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honningsvag hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2009

I read that when you go that far north, you should consider yourself lucky to find a place to rest. I guess the Rica hotel understood that and, as it must be rather rare that a client returns there, they ensure that you will pay a lot for not much. Most of the clients there are on a bus tour. When we arrived, we had to wait outside as 2 busses were checking in. Then it took almost an hour to be able to use the elevator, as the tour groups were using it. Never had a so small hotel room in all my life. We had 2 suitcases and I had to bing one back to the car. As I was given an internet access card, I tried to connect. As it was not working, I contacted the front desk to be told that they had experienced problems recently with the WI FI in some sections of the hotel. The were expecting the problem to be resolved in a near future !!!. I was told to come down in the lobby with my laptop because it was working there. But with all those tours, there was not a single chair available .Then I asked for the Sauna. Same thing. It is out of order and they were expecting to have it repaired withing a week or 2. But the worse happened in the morning. Imagine 5 tour busses that are scheduled to leave between 8:30 and 9:00 am. Over 200 people invading the restaurant for breakfast between 7:30 and 8:00, they all bring down their luggages at the same time and, as it was raining, they were jamming the lobby awaiting for the busses to pick them up. The only positive side at that place was our dinner in the Hotel Dining room. As the bus tours had their dinner in other rooms, that place was almost empty. We had a great dinner with a very good service All that for over 200 Euros per night!!!. If you are reading this review, it is probably because you are planning a trip to that area. And, despite all what is said, you will probaby end-up in that hotel because there is really not many hotels to choose from in that area.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontariobeachlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Hotel in itself is ok, but totally lacking in charm, that is fairly typical of smalltown Norwgian hotels. I was there on business and I have no idea how much the room cost and thus cannot say anything about the value for money. Also left too early for breakfast, so cannot say anything about that either. However, if you travel with VIPs, be careful! I have never experienced so much hassle at check in and check out. It was embarassing and irritiating and I would not use the hotel for this purpose again.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilja016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2009

Just as a factory can do a job without being pretty, the Rica Hotel Honningsvag processes vast numbers of tour bus guests in batches of 40 at a time to provide somewhere for them all to rest prior to the final push to Nordkapp. Strangely, I used more German at this hotel than I used last time I went to Frankfurt as the clientele are predominantly middle aged German holiday makers.
The service is friendly enough and the rooms functional in a Russian kind of way so nothing to complain about there.
Breakfast is disappointing, suffering from batches of people coming through en-mass and therefore causing a lot of congestion around the buffet. You can buy a drink in the bar area but strangely there is no physical bar with a barman. There is a bar across the road called Brygges which is very friendly and lively when they have a band on.
The location is great, right next to the Hurtigruten ferry terminal and tourist office and the rooms looking out towards the fjord benefit from fantastic views as you can watch the cruise ships coming in and out.
In reality, there is not much choice on hotels in Honningsvag, and if you want to be picky there is a huge amount you could find fault with at this hotel. However, if you just need somewhere to sleep which is within stumbling distance of the Hurtigruten for an 06:15 sailing then you can at least book this knowing what you are going to get.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tree888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walt Disney World, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2009

This hotel is old and its quality is very low.
I loved just the view over the harbour from my window.
Staff was lazy and not helpfull.
Breakfast was quite good but too many tourists were around .

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norvegiasara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2008

Very poor vaule for the money we payed. Room very little, bathroom not in good conditions. I don't recomend this hotel. You can try other accomodation if you are looking for a good service.

  • Liked — Place, staff
  • Disliked — All
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank valusjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honningsvag
0.2 mi away
Scandic Bryggen
Scandic Bryggen
#1 of 4 in Honningsvag
209 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Arran Nordkapp
Hotel Arran Nordkapp
#2 of 4 in Honningsvag
83 reviews
9.5 mi away
Nordkapp Turisthotell
Nordkapp Turisthotell
#1 of 1 in Skarsvag
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Nordkapp Vandrerhjem Hostel
Nordkapp Vandrerhjem Hostel
#2 of 2 in Honningsvag
93 reviews
3.6 mi away
Nordkapp Camping
Nordkapp Camping
#1 of 2 in Honningsvag
93 reviews
9.6 mi away
Nordkapp Caravan Og Camping
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Honningsvag? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Honningsvag

Property: Scandic Honningsvag
Address: Nordkappgata 4, Honningsvag 9750, Norway (Formerly Rica Hotel Honningsvåg)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Nordkapp Municipality > Honningsvag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Honningsvag
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Honningsvag 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Honningsvag is located in central Honningsvag next to the Hurtigruten port and the harbour and it is just 35 km from the North Cape. Our hotel offers 174 flexible rooms. Our restaurant offers a hearty breakfast in the morning and a dinner buffet on evenings. As a guest you always have access to free WiFi. Please note: Scandic Honningsvag is a seasonal hotel open only from May until September. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Scandic Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Scandic Honningsvag reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honningsvag Rica Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing