We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good superior 3* hotel - great restaurant and location”
Review of Scandic Bryggen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scandic Bryggen
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Honningsvag
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Great location for visiting Nordkapp - only 30 mins drive away. Really good food in the restaurant (dinner) and good buffet choice (breakfast). Unstocked fridge in room and underfloor heating in bathroom. Some views of the surrounding mountains and harbour but not a great view from any room. Decor of the room was a bit stark - battleship grey furniture - 1 armchair plus small table. Good for short visit.

Room Tip: best views probably from rooms 01-05 on st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 223 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2011

A small and cosy hotell in Honningsvåg, close to the North Cape. Nice rooms, very good standard. Excellent breakfast and restaurant.
The hotell is situated at the harbour and you can really feel the forces of nature when you stay there. This time is was full storm, but the noise is not high in the rooms.
All hotels are expensive in Norway and the prices here are average.
I have stayed here before and will sure use them again on my next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jechstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2011

Nice rooms (clean and spacious), nice staff, huge and varied breakfast, and included all amenities needed for a business or leisure trip. The staff also set our complimentary coffee/tea in the lobby with some fresh baked goods, which was a nice added touch. Would definitely recommend and stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kdgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2010

located at a fishermen wharf, the hotel is literally built over the water. unfortunately, the furniture of the rooms looks closer to plastic than to wood. staff just so-so. breakfast was acceptable. high price for the service rendered, but honningsvag is like this. i rather sugest to look for a cabanna at villages at the north

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atontao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Let me be very clear: The hotel is absolutely not worth the money. The price is 1000 norwegian kroner pr person, abouth 135 Euro.
The reason for these high prices is the Northcap, some 30 km from Honningsvag.
The beds are very hard and eventhough the hotel is situated in the habour, there is noise from the fishingboats around the clock. The view from the room is nice but does not compensate for the price of the room.
But as we schould learn. The standard of many hotels in Norway is this basic and expensive. If there is a turistattraction nearby, its almost garanted a high price for the hotel room. Even the most basic hotels. Maby thats why we saw so many autocampers on the roads. These facilities are probably better than most hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lonech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

After a very long drive we arrived at this hotel, to find it to be so expensive our credit cards tried to bend away from the place. The room was tiiiny, the TV had very few channels, and the bathroom was old and worn out. The only plus sides to this hotel is a good breakfast and good beds.
I would try to find somewhere else to stay. It's not worth 1700 NOK per night.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Lexidh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2007

This Hotel was just what one wants in a location like Honningsvag. I was there with my husband and our two children, ages 5 and 8. The Owner, or the man who checked us in anyway, was charming and extremely helpful. He walked to our room with us and made up the bed for our girls himself. He recommended a local restaurant for us for dinner, which was within 5 minutes walk, and it was just excellent, I had the salmon of course. The hotel itself lies on a dock over the ocean. The room was very comfortable, roomy, and quiet. The beds were crisply clean and dressed in butter-yellow duvets on lofty comforters. In the morning, the breakfast buffet was laid by the impressive gentleman whom, I assume was the owner. He seemed to take genuine pleasure and pride in serving and visiting with the guests. The breakfast was wonderful, especially for those who enjoy the goods of the sea. We were there only one night, but we enjoyed walks around town, the fresh sea air, the sights and sounds of the seaside, and the charm and beauty of Honningsvag. I was sorry to go, and have thought back fondly on the experience many times.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinktrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honningsvag
9.7 mi away
Nordkapp Turisthotell
Nordkapp Turisthotell
#1 of 1 in Skarsvag
42 reviews
5 mi away
Hotel Arran Nordkapp
Hotel Arran Nordkapp
#2 of 4 in Honningsvag
88 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nordkapp Vandrerhjem Hostel
Nordkapp Vandrerhjem Hostel
#2 of 2 in Honningsvag
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Arctic Hotel Nordkapp
Arctic Hotel Nordkapp
#2 of 3 in Honningsvag
2 reviews
9.6 mi away
Kirkeporten Camping
Kirkeporten Camping
#1 of 3 in Skarsvag
81 reviews
3.8 mi away
Nordkapp Camping
Nordkapp Camping
#1 of 2 in Honningsvag
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Bryggen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Bryggen

Address: Vaagen 1, Honningsvag 9750, Norway (Formerly Rica Bryggen Hotel)
Location: Norway > Northern Norway > Finnmark > Nordkapp Municipality > Honningsvag
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Honningsvag
Price Range: $137 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Bryggen 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Bryggen is centrally located by the Honningsvag harbour. The hotel offers panoramic views over the surrounding sea. The local area offers a wide range of activities: hiking, sea fishing, bird safari and the popular North Cape cliffs and the North Cape Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scandic Bryggen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing