We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conference hotel outside Oslo.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Thon Hotel Vettre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thon Hotel Vettre
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Asker
Certificate of Excellence
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Conference hotel outside Oslo.”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This is a conference hotel, definately. Outlook is 70'ies, but renovated. Rooms are simple, but also recently renovated. Location suitable for conferences or so, not for the tourists wanting to see Oslo (app 50 min from airport by train). There is basically nothing nearby. Food (buffet table) was a pleasant suprise, both in the morning and dinner. Service was ok.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maunolito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geir L, General Manager at Thon Hotel Vettre, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your obesrvation about the 70's exterior is quite correct, the buildings were constructed in 1979-1982.And it is correct that everything is renovated, we did all the rooms in 2006, we added 46 new rooms in 2010 and restaurant etc. is also modernized. we are currently planning a new renovation.
We are located outside Oslo, but as the bus to the city centre stops 200 meters awy from the hotel, it is perfect for tourists who do not want to bring the car into the city. Or have aglass of wine:) The bus drive is about 30 minutes.
Hope to see you back another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    67
    24
    6
    1
See reviews for
30
15
6
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asker, Norway
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I live in this vicinity and thought I would add that the coastal path that runs from here towards Leangbukta is really beautiful. One can also walk towards the fjord path heading south. In either direction, the coastal paths are part of the Norwegian system. This hotel also has a very well-equipped small grocery a few meters from their entryway. Not the big views from the rooms, perhaps, but very well situated for very enjoyable and lovely hiking tours. Just ask the staff, and they can point out the specifics to get you going. In addition, the paths are plowed in winter towards Leangbukta, making it passable all-year, in particular, up to Hvalstrand.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank JuneinNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

I would like to recommend this hotel. Service is perfect, location is nice. Big towels and an excellent breakfast. So no powder orange juice but real fresh made. There is even a chef preparing an egg the way you want it. Only negative point is that the bed has a soft matrass. My room had a little balcony so you could also sit outside. The room had also a big socket to plug in all your devices.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polleke74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I participated at this years Rotary fall meeting at this particular Thon conference site. Everything seemed to run smoothly and I have no complaints at all. A very nice room offering a clean bathroom. The food served at the Saturday night dinner was excellent. However, two courses were serving the same red cabbage, which somehow could easily have been replaced by at least an other vegetable.The swimming pool actually was much too cold, but it was at least a refreshening morning experience to me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GUMOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
205 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I guess I was among the lucky ones, as I was given a nice room on the top floor in the A building close to the reception area. The room was modern, fresh, clean and with a ok size.

During the weekend I visited one of my colleagues who stayed on the first floor, and the room was different: Worn, outdated and boring.

The food was not too bad at all, I had the four course menu every day and was not dissapointed. Maybe some strange combinations (two fish dishes of which the first one was bitter and tasty, and the second one was salmon without much taste) but overall a good experience.

There is a supermarket not far from the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the top floor in the A building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ContrailsfromNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

This Hotel is located right off the main road from Asker towards Drøbak. Nice garden and though this primarily is a conference Hotel it works great if you need to stay over with kids. Very nice indoor pool. Rooms Are nothing special but are well maintained and clean. Breakfast is very good with eggs and omelett chef preparering what you wish. Can easily be recommended

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mobiletraveller64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Thon Hotel Vettre is a medium sized hotel located about 30 minutes from Oslo. We stayed in a standard room with a queen sized bed and it was obvious that they had recently renovated the rooms as they have modern decor. The bathroom had a big shower (with a mirror in the shower!). The only negative thing about the rooms was that the mattress was a bit on the soft side. The dinner was really nice and they had an omelet station for the breakfast buffet. The service was great and they really did a good effort to make sure that we had a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marell82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Asker
1.1 mi away
Scandic Asker
Scandic Asker
#2 of 3 in Asker
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Leangkollen
11.3 mi away
Scandic Holmenkollen Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holmen Fjordhotell
Holmen Fjordhotell
#28 of 39 in Akershus
150 reviews
10.2 mi away
The Thief
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
1,546 reviews
11.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Union Brygge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Vettre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Vettre

Property: Thon Hotel Vettre
Address: Konglungveien 201 | Vettre, Asker 1392, Norway (Formerly Golden Tulip Rainbow Vettre)
Location: Norway > Eastern Norway > Akershus > Asker Municipality > Asker
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Asker
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Vettre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Vettre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing