We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Ristorante G.L.A.V.J.C.
Nearby Hotels
$1,645
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$734
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Posta(Moltrasio)(Great Value!)
$192
$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Grand Hotel Imperiale(Moltrasio)(Great Value!)
$297
$245
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$120
$117
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$77
$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Albergo Ristorante Giardino(Cernobbio)(Great Value!)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Albergo Trattoria La Vignetta(Cernobbio)(Great Value!)
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Miralago(Cernobbio)
$198
$177
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Villa d'Este(Cernobbio)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (89)
Filter reviews
89 results
Traveler rating
29
41
13
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
41
13
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake edgecomo townbalconyviewspathroadsmilancharm
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 89 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were a group of thirteen doing an organised walk around Lake Como. This family run hotel was our first stop for three nights. First impressions were of a hotel that needed a makeover. The rooms were the same but had everything we needed and the view from the window was wonderful. The staff were very surly so we were determined to get them smiling by the time we left. The food at this hotel was amazing and after the first night some of the staff were smiling at our Kiwi sense of humour. The lady behind the desk needs a course in hotel hospitality but the food and the views meant we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelkiwiDunedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were initially disappointed pulling up to Hotel Glavjc, but were very glad we stayed here. We would absolutely stay here again. They have free on-site parking which is immensely important in this area as there is NO street parking. The hotel itself looks like it hasn't been updated since the 70's, and it was genuinely the smallest shower we've ever seen. Imagine standing in a bucket - you couldn't even stand in the shower without standing on both the drain AND the shower curtain. In fact, when standing on the drain, the bucket/shower was filled to my shins within a minute, to demonstrate how small it is. ON the other hand, the food at the restaurant was unbelievable, Even now I can't stop thinking about it. The food was charged to our hotel room and paid upon checkout. It was more expensive than expected, but not unreasonable (we are two professionals in our mid-20's). The best part of this hotel is the amazing views from the balcony. The view can't be beat - it's unbelievable. We were elated and didn't want to leave the hotel when we saw it. There is no tea or coffee tray in the room which is very disappointing, but you can purchase one in the dining room and bring it back to your room to enjoy on your balcony in the morning. The bed was comfortable and the room spacious, despite being dated. The location in relation to Como was great. We had a rental car and were easily able to get into the city, and to other nearby towns and villages. If walking, it would have been a bit of a hike. *Note - there was another room next to us which was open for cleaning while we were there. They had NO balcony and only a small window. This hotel would not have been worth it without the balcony and the view - make sure you request a room with a balcony!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a balcony!
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Four of us on a driving holiday through Europe stayed at the Hotel Glavjc, at Torno on the eastern shore of Lake Como on June 26 for one night. We wished we could have stayed longer. The hotel provided comfortable rooms, with wonderful views over the lake, for 73 euros per couple. Breakfast cost 8.50 euros p.p. but was substantial and offered considerable variety. There's not too many restaurants nearby so we chanced dinner at the hotel and, again, discovered a gem. The hotel is on a narrow road north from Como but is more than worth the effort of getting there. Parking is available on site though its a little tight ... better to practise those three (or four) point turns before visiting. Its not that difficult, just take your time and be careful.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a lake view but better to check beforehand; we did, and were very satisfied. One good point: the hotel has an elevator!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The dining experience was wonderful....the view breathtaking of Lake Como and the Alps. The chicken both grilled and prepared in the oven was moist and the best we had in Northern Italy. Husband said his fries were the best he ever had. Ended with espresso and panna cotta. Lovely time until we got to the register where the lady owner did take credit cards but told my husband that since we did not order the menu of the day it had to be paid in Euros. We were short 4 Euros but had USD and told her to keep a fifty but she ranted on and on about she did not take a credit card.My husband said there was no sign and that he had no problem giving her the fifty but she would not allow it but instead pulled a sign out that was hidden behind some wooden cabinet opposite wall that no one could see. She finally gave in and took the card and not the cash but more importantly ruined a nice meal.

Room Tip: Not many restaurants open going up to Bellagio past Lake Como. This place was busy but helps when you are the only one open.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalgal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We found this hotel after a tiring day driving from Milan to Lake Como. We hadn't made plans on where to stay and took a chance and stopped at Glavjk. We are sure glad we did. The price was very reasonable, and it is included breakfast. Our room had an amazing view of Lake Como. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

Torno is beautiful and we had a wonderful dinner on the water.

Very romantic town. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keen72762
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews