We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location with wonderful hosts”
Review of Tornoalago

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Torno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tornoalago
Ranked #5 of 8 Torno B&B and Inns
Southern England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location with wonderful hosts”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We have just returned from a short break in Tornoalago and can't praise it highly enough. Firstly, Torno is an excellent base for sight seeing around Lake Como: it has several good places to eat, a small shop, a ferry landing point, a bus stop and a couple of bars! Secondly, the Tornoalago accommodation is very smart and well appointed. Our warmest praise, however, is reserved for the proprietors Cristina and Rainer, who are charming, incredibly friendly, and very generous hosts. We would recommend Cristina, Rainer and Tornoalago unreservedly to anyone visiting Lake Como.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mac2ontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
41
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We visited Tornoalago when it was fairly quiet - probably due to the extended winter weather rather than the beginning of spring that we had hoped for! Despite this, our stay at Tornoalago was a welcome break from our travels around Italy and what a lovely setting.

We stayed in the Rosso room which had more than enough space for myself, my husband, our baby girl, her cot and all of our luggage. The kitchen was wonderfully equipped, including salt & pepper and olive oil. What was a real bonus though, was a washing machine! Wifi connection excellent and tehy provide a selection of DVDs too. The decor was tastefully done and includes a few nice handicraft artworks. I really can't fault this place, my only regret was that we didn't stay longer (and didn't have better weather!)

We didn't have the pleasure of meeting Cristina, but Rainer was lovely and was really helpful in getting us sorted with picking up our hire car on the last day.

Tornoalago is a little way out of the main town centre of Como, but the local ferry makes it pretty easy to get in and out.

And it's the simple things that make this place lovely - the 'serenity', the lack of cars and the (very friendly) ducks at the ferry terminal.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparkslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The apartments are very clean, comfortable and well equipped. They are run by a very nice couple who cannot do enough for you. Torno itself is a beautiful village with fantastic views of the lake and mountains, particularly if you walk into the surrounding hills. It only really has a couple of shops and restaurants hence if you're staying more than 2 or 3 days you'll find yourself on the bus or ferry to Como town or Bellagio, but if you are looking for some peace and quiet away from other tourists Torno is perfect. Thanks again to Cris and Rainer who helped make our stay such an enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sid5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

After reading a lot of TripAdvisor reviews for accommodation on Lake Como we settled on Tornoalago - and what a great decision that was. From the very first time we contacted Rainer and Cristina via email, the service they provided was excellent. Every email was full of information and helpful tips many months before we even arrived. We booked for three nights in early July - but could have much more time there - “a home away from home”.
Originally we were going to stay at Bellagio but decided we wanted something less crowded and touristy. Torno certainly provided that - and much, much more. It is a very nice and quiet little place right on the lake.
Our initial concern was about getting there from San Giovanni Station with, at the time, confusing, or non-existent, bus and ferry schedules. This concern was put to rest when Rainer informed us he would pick us up and drop us back at the railway station. Thanks for this great service Rainer!
In reality, getting to Torno is very easy. The bus leaves from the railway station and stops just above Torno - about a five minute walk downhill to your accommodation. The ferry is about 10 minute walk from the railway station and is only 3-4 stops to Torno - then a two minute walk to your accommodation. This makes it so convenient once you start travelling around the lake on the ferry. We also made use of the bus to go back into Como for the day – easy as and cheaper than the ferry!!
As a family of four adults we opted for the apartment CASETTA, which has two levels. It has a fully furnished open space kitchen and dining room on the ground floor. Up the stairs is a double bedroom, a living room with a double sofa bed and the bathroom (shower). The living room has also a small balcony overlooking the alley. Everything you need! Spacious, clean and a great place to unwind and relax!
Torno has a few nice restaurants which Rainer and Cristina recommended. We tried to go to these but they were fully booked. If you are going to Torno in “peak season” make sure you book in advance. However, there is a supermarket and a delicatessen nearby that have a very good range of supplies and a small pizza outlet (I think it’s called Primavera). Rainer recommended the pizzas and boy was he right - they were great! We actually had takeaway from there on two nights and ate in our ‘dining room’. Make sure you do the same. One other night we went to a restaurant - Crotto Piazzaga - that is a 45minutes/one hour walk up the hills behind Torno - a wonderful experience! Although we didn’t get the chance to take advantage of it, Cristina and Rainer have a wine bar that looked like a great place to be - on our ‘to do list’ next time we go to Torno!
Both Rainer and Cristina were fantastic hosts and gave us many suggestions about how to fill in our three days on Lake Como. Wonderful and ‘spot-on’ advice!
Torno/Tornoalago was one of the best experiences we had on our month-long trip to Italy. Thanks Cristina and Rainer for everything that you did to make this possible.
Our advice - don’t even consider any other place when visiting Lake Como!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank BobAustralia62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australis
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We spent 10 days in Torno as 'guests' of Cristina and Rainer staying in the Rosso apartment. We were 2 couples travelling together. Cris and Rainer collected us from Como station and drove us to our accommodation. The accommodation was smart, modern and extremely comfortable. Cris and Rainer welcomed us to their cavern/winebar, where we met other guests and locals and were treated to fine wines and local meats and cheeses. They took us to a fantastic restaurant in a nearby local village where we shared a wonderful meal and evening with other guests and 'friends'. Our 'hosts' were always there for us when we needed their advice on local knowledge. Torno is a quiet, typical Italian village, free from the trappings of tourism, but close to the fantastic shopping in Como and the buzz of Bellagio. We hope we can return to Tornoalago. Thank you Cris and Rainer for your hospitality.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EleanorAustralis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Tornoalago is a welcoming place in a small village along Lake Como. If you want peaceful relaxation on beautiful Lake Como look no further. There is an attached wine bar and the ferry is less than a hundred metres away. I was very happy with our stay here and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muninn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here in September. Torno was quiet, peaceful & Italian. It is very low key. There were few tourists and no shops in the village. There is a a small supermarket, a dairy, newsagents & gelateria a seven minute walk away uphill on the main road.
The only eating place in Torno is the Albergo. The food is fine & the staff helpful.There is a restaurant 20 mins walk away & another at Piazzaga, which involves a beautiful walk up the mule track which took us about one & a quarter hours. (We are in our 7's)Of all the enjoyable days, the walk to Piazzaga for lunch was my favourite.
There are buses along the top road & the ferry stop is 2 mins from the apartments.
I can recommend Trattoria San Giacomo in Bellagio( for lunch) & whilst in that area Varenna is well worth a visit.
We were collected from Chiasso by Cris & taken back there, at no extra charge, which really simplified the travelling.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siena82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torno
3.3 mi away
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#4 of 32 in Como
852 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Imperiale
Grand Hotel Imperiale
#1 of 2 in Moltrasio
795 reviews
1.8 mi away
Villa d'Este
Villa d'Este
#1 of 7 in Cernobbio
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
Grand Hotel Tremezzo
#3 of 8 in Tremezzina
1,068 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Villa Flori
Hotel Villa Flori
#5 of 32 in Como
471 reviews
3.4 mi away
Metropole Suisse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tornoalago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tornoalago

Property: Tornoalago
Address: Via Bartolomeo De' Benzi 17, 22020 Torno, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Lake Como > Torno
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Torno
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing