We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All in all, fantastic.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pieve a Pava

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pieve a Pava
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“All in all, fantastic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Well we have been back a couple of weeks in a very wet England but the memory of our stay at Pieve a Pava still burns bright.
We booked Pieve a Pava for week away just myself and my wife, our first visit to Tuscany, on the basis of the tripadvisor reviews, slighlty apprehensive as it had such good reviews, can any place be that good? Well it is. Why?, it is so good, it is hard to explain until you experience it for yourself. It is, basically down to Jonny and Rita's hospitalitly, a magic mix of laid back attentiveness ,as it has been commented on previously, and I can only concur. The rooms are a lovely a mix of traditional Tuscan antiques with modern additions, comfy and clean. I don't think the pictures on here do it justice. The outside spaces, as the inside, are emmaculately kept. Not many have commented on the value aspect, and at first It appeared expensive - well there was no in room mini bar, trouser press and all that other usless stuff four star hotels have to have. But, what you do get because of this, is a peaceful, restful retreat. As much free soft drinks as you need, on tap tea and coffee, with a piece of home made cake as well. Or fruit if feeling healthy.
Jonny's restaurant recommendations and little hand drawn maps were always spot on. Jonny or Rita were always there to join us for breakfast at 9ish in the morning, even though they had been up for a few hours already, I thought that was a very nice touch and an example of the way they do things . We were spoilt slightly, as we did have the place to ouselves for our weeks stay.
There has been comment in other reviews regarding the cost of one of Rita's meals. We did not find this the case at all, the last night when two new couples arrived at Pieve a Pava, Rita cooked a lovely meal, four courses with wine etc etc. All for a set price, and a discount for my wife as she does not drink alcohol.
All in all, fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuggJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
19
36
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

We were just so lucky to be able to spent a week at Pieve a Pava.

It was our first time in Tuscany and won't be the last on this little piece of heaven.
Rita and Johny are amazing hosts and it only took minutes to fell in love with their dogs, too.
The location, the lovely design and interiors of the guesthouse and the outstanding homie feeling left us speachless for a few days.
Pieve a Pava is located perfectly to visit Montalcino, Siena, Pienza, Montepuliciano etc. Johny was very helpful arranging visits to wineries and bike tour routes. The 1000 Miglia coming by close by together with the Picknick lovely prepared by Rita was one of the highlights.
Rita does magic in here kitchen and surprises every day with freshly baked bread and cake and here awesome cantucchinis. Don`t miss having dinner there as well. On some evenings she cooks and Johny adds the wines to make the evening even more perfect.

All in all, for us THE PLACE TO BE south of Siena. We will remember this place forever and are for sure returning later this year.

Room Tip: No room is like the other and the larger ones are really worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kleineLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

a group of us were in tuscany doing photo shoot for a fashion magazine in singapore...after looking at various options on the website we found this place which has 5 rooms to accommodate the whole group.
i can only say that although we encountered sudden cold storm and snow fall which gave us lots of logistic problem during our shoot, we have lots of fun time and great memories staying at pieve a pava.
johnny and rita are superb....johnny helped us whenever he can, from fetching us from the main road(our transport could not get through the snow) to giving us ideas where to go to do our photoshoots.
we wake up to the aroma of rita's bakes every morning and she cooks us the best italian meals we had druing our trip....putting the great restaurants in the cities to shame...
it is a really beautiful place, nice rooms, beautiful surrounding despite the cold and the snow....we love the sitting area where we will gather for chit chats before dinner each day...it's a wonderful wonderful experience and we were all sad to leave at the end of the trip.
rita and johnny, anais and charlotta and the two lovely horses...we miss you all!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnny1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We recently returned from spending two weeks in Italy, traveling from Venice south to Pompei, with stops along the way. With no question, Pieve a Pava was our most wonderful stay through the entire trip, The rooms are spacious and cozy with a true Tuscan charm. There was a continuous fire in the living room fireplace that made for the perfect spot to enjoy a glass of wine before bed. The location is perfect, perfect views, not too far from the nearest town, but secluded enough to provide an intimate,Tuscan feel.

The owners, Rita and Johnny, were two of the most hospitable people we met on our trip. Rita, by far, cooked the most amazing meal we had. If you do stay here, be sure to have her cook you up one of her homeade Italian meals, truely amazing, and all homeade! Johnny provides information for all the best places to visit, which is so helpful. He was kind enough to set us up with a lunch and tour at the Avignonesi Winery which was SO much fun! Very kind, fun people. It was great getting to know them.

I cannot encourage one enough to spend anywhere from two nights to two weeks here! Truely a Tuscan paradise that we hope to return to soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OFDOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zevergem, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
137 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

I think words will not be enough to describe the feelings!It is a wonderfull spot in a beautifull country, a fantastic experience, a stay in heaven! Rita's food has a 3 stars rating and the hospithality is first class. I can only advise, go there and enjoy!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francoise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

It is hard to put into words what a pleasure it was to be able to stay at Pieve a Pava and to enjoy the warm hospitality of Johnny and Rita. The location is perfect for daily visits to the neighbouring hilltop towns and vineyards as well as picturesque and quiet roads for cycling. Johnny helped us every morning to plan our day from which roads to bike, towns to visit and most importantly places to eat.

The ambiance at Pieve a Pava was magical from sunrise to sunset and there were numerous locations to sit and soak in the peaceful surroundings (serenaded by the bells of the sheep that wandered through the hills below) and magical vistas, usually with an espresso or a wonderful glass of wine in hand. Breakfast was bountiful, with the freshest fruits, meats and cheeses and the best eggs ever, which were greatly appreciated before a day of cycling what seemed to be mostly up hill.

We enjoyed three evenings at the ‘common table’ and had by far the best meals of the trip prepared by Rita, and Johnny ensured that the appropriate wines were served from the prosecco to start to the limoncello to finish, including their own Rosso di Montalcino, which was excellent. Enchanting evenings in the most beautiful surroundings with delightful conversation and outstanding food.

Also playing host was their two charming Jack Russels, Carlita and Anoush, who made us feel at home in their garden and greeted us with great enthusiasm as we returned each day.

The combination of providing such relaxed comfort in beautiful surroundings is a true art that has been perfected by Johnny and Rita!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PMLP_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

A hospitable jewel in the heart of one of Italy’s most fascinating spots, the Crete Senesi, preserved as in the Middle Ages. Make sure you drive around a lot. You will never forget your stay. (And yes, Rita is an excellent cook, with her mastery further enhanced by the disappointing dining offering in nearby towns and villages, bearing little scars of Tuscany’s superb culinary tradition).

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wwalterRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giovanni d'Asso
2.2 mi away
Fattoria Pieve a Salti
Fattoria Pieve a Salti
#2 of 4 in Buonconvento
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.6 mi away
La Locanda del Castello
La Locanda del Castello
#2 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.1 mi away
Podere Ampella
Podere Ampella
#3 of 11 in San Giovanni d'Asso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Lucignanello Bandini
Lucignanello Bandini
#1 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
2.5 mi away
Agriturismo Bagnacci
Agriturismo Bagnacci
#4 of 11 in San Giovanni d'Asso
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Agrituristica La Canonica
Agrituristica La Canonica
#8 of 11 in San Giovanni d'Asso
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pieve a Pava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pieve a Pava

Property: Pieve a Pava
Address: Localita Podere Pieve di Pava 1, 53020 San Giovanni d'Asso, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > San Giovanni d'Asso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in San Giovanni d'Asso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The small borgo of Pieve a Pava is half an hour's drive south from the city of Siena, in a lesser known but particularly captivating part of Tuscany, called the Crete Senesi. It has been converted into a small luxury guesthouse, where one can easily discover the charms of the Tuscan way of life whilst finding 'one's home away from home'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pieve a Pava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pieve a Pava Italy/San Giovanni D'Asso, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing