We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect Tuscan retreat”
other travelers have booked this property
Garden from the first floor
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden from the first floor
An antique coat of arms The house from the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Garden from the first floor
An antique coat of arms
The house from the garden
Particular of the dining room on the terrace
Dining sitting room on the terrace
The house from the road to Montisi
Dining room on the terrace: enlarged table
House from the wisteria berceau
Roses at the conservatory
Sunset on the terrace
Dining room with fireplace
AC  Kitchen
Dining al fresco on the terrace:3 tables sitting 16 people
House at night
Old copper water jugs
Pool
Yellow sitting room
Fountain in the garden
Small sitting room with satellite TV
Particular of the small sitting room
Blooming iris
Red twin double bedroom at ground floor
Garden
AC  bluedouble bedroom at the first floor
From the magnolia tree
Orange AC first floor double bedroom
A stone bench in the garden
First floor family bathroom
(one of 7)
First floor family bathroom
The castle of San Giovanni d'Asso and the house in front of it
AC twin -double bedroom at the mezzanine
Ground floor family bathroom
First floor sitting room
Particular
View on the XIII century castle
Arriving to the house in
P.zza V.Emanuele II
Bathroom at first floor
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
San Giovanni d'Asso, Montalcino, Tuscany

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
747LisaD
Fort Wayne
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The perfect Tuscan retreat”
Reviewed November 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I recently stayed here with 11 of my friends for our 50th birthdays. When we walked into the home all I could say was, "Wow!" The location was amazing among the hills of Tuscany and the home had so much charm. As Federica showed us the many rooms of the house we were so enchanted with bedroom after bedroom, quaint sitting areas, ample dining for our party of 12 and outdoor living that beckoned us for morning coffee and nightly wine. We watched each morning in the distance as a shepard pastured his sheep, The home was large enought that we had space and privacy, but the public rooms of the house drew us all back together. The home was very clean and the rental included housekeeping for 4 hours each day. We took full advantage of having meals prepared 3 of our 6 nights. Grazia, our lovely cook, was so accomodating to our large group. She was a joy to work with. The location allowed us to day trip to beautiful hilltowns like Cortona, Montepulciano, Montalcino and Pienza. Federica has thought of everything to make a Tuscan vacation absolutely flawless.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, charm and the Tuscan feel.
Liked least: The walk uphill from the car park, but its Tuscany!
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana3putt
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Trip of a lifetime -- I shall never forget. Magnificent setting and home.”
Reviewed October 9, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

A group of us descended upon this villa in September for about a week. The villa is incredibly comfortably furnished, and the location and views are amazing. We kept walking through it the night we arrived and honestly had to pinch ourselves. We had magnificent meals at the table and also terrific morning coffees. I loved listening to the bells, and watching the sheep run across the fields each morning. We were across the street from a castle and could go over for a quick bite or drink and that was also great. We hiked one day to the Zen Garden. I could have spent a month in there and not seen everything.
Everything was so perfectly done in this villa. I have rented many of my own properties on trip advisor, so I am a discerning customer. I give this 5 stars.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen, pool, back patio....views from everyplace and bells. 8am each morning. Loved them. The garden was lovely.
Liked least: Tough parking for a big van for this. We had to walk downhill to get to it each day. It was ok...just not easy. Small cars should have not problem.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RJRSK
stockton
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It couldn't be more perfect!”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We were a family party of 16 staying at Villa Consuma for a period of one week. Even tho we read all we could about Consuma before booking we were still not sure what to expect.
It was beyond anything we imagined. A beautiful old family home full of warmth & character.Totally charming! Beautifully kept with impeccable grounds and of course the wonderful swimming pool. During our stay we continued to find surprises, great pictures, lovely books, unusual fixtures. We had the first dinner,it was perfect We also took the wine & truffle tasting in the ancient wine cellar. That was a hit for all. Now we all love truffles.
We enjoyed the little restaurant in town! The teens took a stroll one evening, later told us they had a treat for us the next evening. After dark they took us out a ways & the darkness was lit up with fluttering little lights,which were the fireflies. Was delightful.
We took day trips to local towns easily.
Federica & staff were great. We would all love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beauty of the villa its comfort & views
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2015TaraC
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Villa for a big group in an amazing setting”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We rented the villa for almost a week. We were a group of 10 people (plus a toddler). The villa is beautiful on its own. In addition, we enjoyed the town and the people we met; the villa was an easy drive to many of the famous Tuscan hill towns; we had a wine and truffle tasting in the Villa's cellar; and we had a mid-stay dinner and cooking lesson with Grazia and Denise. [The last two organized through Federica (owner)]. Every person loved it. It was perfect. Thank you Federica!! I highly recommend this villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamatis2...
Athens, Greece
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent solution for a large group”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

La Consuma is a very big villa with 8 bedrooms which is perfectly located at the heart of the most beautiful area of Tuscany, right a the border of the famous Val d' Orcia. The interior is simple, in a rather typical Tuscan house style but definitely adequate. The garden is beautiful and large and there are more than enough rooms in the villa where a lot of people can sit together or in groups. We never felt "cramped". There is also a very nice and big wood oven, for those who know how to take advantage of one. Because of the time of the year we did not use the pool but it looked quite big and nice.
All in all, we were a group of 16 plus a baby and we all had a wonderful time. I would say that the number one advantage of this villa is its size and location. Everything one might want to visit is maximum one hour away.
The owners are very helpful and so is the man in charge there and the cleaning lady.
Most importantly and very conveniently, literally 20 steps away from the villa, right across the road is an excellent restaurant, La Locanda di Castello which offers top quality Tuscan food and has a charming manager, very good cook and very friendly service, highly recommended.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evelina90...
Siena, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“the most wonderful villa I've seen in Tuscany”
Reviewed December 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

La Consuma is more than asimple hystorical house for me, it's my home in Tuscany. In the middle of San Giovanni d'Asso, it is in front or the medieval fortress and the church. There's a very good restaurant a few steps away from the door and one of the best in the surroundings.
The House has seven doublenrooms each one with bis own bathroom, several living rooms a terrazza facing the garden where you can have breakfast. But the Best parte is their swimming pool inthe garden facing the citywalls. You san look at the Tuscan rolling hills while swimming...impossible tonforget the view once youve een it....I'll recomend this House for a weekly Stay so you can visita also Pienza, drink Brunelloin Montalcino and visit Montepulciano.

Traveling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille, France
Reviewed January 29, 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: atmosphere and staff
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing