We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect home base for exploring Tuscany's beautiful Crete Sinesi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Locanda del Castello
Reviewed December 21, 2009

My husband and I stumbled across La Locanda in March of 2007 and our sole regret was that we could only stay one night. This time we stayed a couple of nights and again hated to leave. Massimo and his staff made us feel like family. Our room was beautiful, spacious, clean and comfortable. The restaurant is phenomenal. Even if we weren’t staying at the hotel we’d drive out of our way to eat here.

This is a great central location from which to explore the beautiful Crete Senesi region of Tuscany. You can easily spend the day exploring other towns such as Montalcino, Montepulciano, San Quirico, Bagno Vignoni, Sant'Antimo or Pienza then return to your home away from home at La Locanda for a wonderful dinner and a great night’s sleep.

We will certainly return to La Locanda on our next trip to Tuscany.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nvar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 108 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2009

We had a very comfortable three nights stay at this hotel. Our room was lovely - clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. The staff were friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant was great. I would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2009

The Locanda benefits from a beautiful setting, and a lovely old building. The rooms are a good size, and both bedroom and bathroom are done up using quality materials and fittings. But the BED in our room, albeit a good size, was truly TERRIBLE. The mattress was one of the most uncomfortable we have ever experienced. And after a poor night's sleep, you really, really don't want to find mould round the bottom of the shower. Breakfast was poor compared to any other B&B we have stayed at in Tuscany - no choice, and certainly NO fresh orange juice, homemade jams, local honey or nice breads in sight here - things which many competitors have. La Locanda was one of the most expensive places we stayed at on our holiday this year, and yet it was far superceded by several others - we were not impressed.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ital0file
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2009

We found this delightful hotel purely by chance and were given a very warm welcome by the owner. This personal concern for our comfort was shared by all the staff. The room was smallish but well furnished; comfortable in every respect. The restaurant offered plenty of choice, including local produce and we found the quality to be excellent. Breakfast was a little ordinary and lacking in variety, but pleasant enough.
The hotel is set in a beautiful part of Tuscany, unspoiled by over-tourism. It is an ideal centre for exploring lesser known sites such as the thermal springs at Bagnio Vignoni and Bagni S. Filippo, the wine centres of Montepulciano and Montalcino, and the ancient abbeys of M. Oliveto Maggiore and S Animo. The delights of Siena are well within reach.
The quality of light and the scenery would make this an ideal place to stay for a painting holiday and the hotel would be pleased to host individual painters or an art group.
We wholeheartedly recommend a stay at this charming hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SL67AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

We just returned from 3 weeks in Italy. Our stay at La Locanda was the highlight in Tuscany. The hotel is a gem in a great location for exploring the countryside. What was especially nice was that there was a small refrigerator in our room with water, cokes, etc., which was important since there aren't any vending machines on site! (kidding) :) We did with for a softer bed and pillows, but I think that's an American "thing." The food in the restaurant below was fabulous! They were charming and helpful. We would definitely return. It's the perfect location for exploring.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JoAnnWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

Before we booked this hotel we were told directly by email from the hotel............"your room will have two beds, when you arrive we will tell you about cooking lessons, nearby spas, wine tours and other activities in the area." When we arrived on a Friday about noon, we
found that "two beds" meant one queen and a small, thin broken fold up cot!! There was no one available who spoke English..... .we were okay with that at first.........but as the days passed and no one showed up at the front desk ..........we were unable to discover any of the activities that had been suggested by the email. Of course, we traveled all about without direction, but we had hoped for some extra activities of the locale. Finally on Tuesday afternoon someone came along to tend the front desk................by this time we had decided to leave two days early and search for some other fun. The woman who now tended the desk told us "I don't work on weekends." For goodness sake........she sure took a long weekend!! In any case, she made it clear to us that we would pay for the days we had booked. She was mean and unwilling to even listen to us. We left angry and she shouted and told us what we had done wrong!! I would never stay in this place again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wenchwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drago7, responsabile gestione at La Locanda del Castello, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2008

As regards to the July 2nd 2008 review intitled " Do not stay here" management and staff would like to point out the following:
- From the very first e-mail we think we have tried our best to accomodate the guest's requests from changing dates to choosing from various type of rooms, all different one from another.
- Our hotel does not have twin bed rooms as explained from the beginning, only kingsize double beds.
- At reservation time the guests were offered 1 suite room on the second floor with double bed (kingsize) + 1 single bed or two double rooms ( at a discounted price due to single occupancy) located next to each other on the first floor or 1 suite room on the first floor with a double bed + 1 extra folding bed.
- The folding up bed was offered as a last resort after guests had refused the 2nd floor rooms due to the lack of the elevator and choosing to share the same room.
- At the check-in time the guests requested to move a single, heavy bed from the 2nd floor suite to the 1st floor suite but management could not acccomodate their request due to lack of space for the move.
- We are a small family run hotel and the front desk employee is available from Monday to Friday. During week-ends between family members and English speaking staff we try to suggest guests interesting places to visit in the area while cooking lessons, wine tours, hot-air ballooning , spas treatments etc. need to be organized in advance.
- During that weekend the owner who speaks broken English and the son who is fluent were present and besides general interest questions the guests made no specific demand.
- Our cancellation policy " no penalty for cancellation from booking to 15 days before arrival; 50% penalty for cancellation from 14 to 7 days before arrival; 100% penalty for cancellation from 6 days to arrival day; 100% penalty for later cancellation, no show, or reduction of the stay after check-in"
is and has always been clearly stated in each e-mails from right the beginning.

Furthermore we would like to point out the following points:

- The hotel offered and the guest accepted a complimentary wine bottle.
- The guests without informing hotel staff at their initiative and at their risk completely re-arranged the furniture around their room. This included moving sofa and armchair, Tv and TV stand, chest of drawers, a mirror which was hanging on a wall and damaged as a result of the move ( the cost of the repair was not charged to the guest's bill).
- The hotel management enquiring on why the furniture had been moved was told that it was "normal" for them to re-arrange the room they stay even if management disagreed.
- As a result guests made staff's life miserable!

This is a small 9 rooms family run hotel and we apologize that we cannot satisfy everyone's need.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2006

My friend and I left our husbands behind for a week-long cooking school tour of Tuscany. We were headquartered at La Locanda del Castello, where we were treated like royalty. The hotel is quite comfortable and lovely -- not at all like the homogenized hotels in the States. The furnishings are personal treasures of the proprietress, Senora Silvana, a lovely hostess who took marvelous care of us. Her staff was equally accommodating, insuring that we were happy, comfortable, and making the most of our trip to Tuscany. We thought the restaurant was fabulous and were disappointed that our cooking classes conflicted with the dinner schedule, but did have two fabulous dinners there, and lovely breakfasts each morning.

We started our week somewhat worried because we were unsure what the schedule was. Being "stuck" in the little village of San Giovanni d'Asso for a week might be a bit more relaxing than we had in mind. We were sans auto and there was no public transportation, so we considered walking out to the nearest town with a means of conveyance. Not advised, given the narrow, curvey roads, with no shoulders. So Daniella arranged for us to go on a white truffle hunt with a local expert. (Unique, but not quite what we had in mind!) She did make some calls and our marvelous guide was there first thing next morning to give us a wonderful, personal tour of his countryside. Brava, Daniella!!! She saved the day/week/trip!

When we said goodbye, there were hugs and kisses all around, and even some tears. I would return to La Locanda in a heartbeat -- one of the best travel experiences I've ever had!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MarshaLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giovanni d'Asso
3.1 mi away
La Locanda di Montisi
La Locanda di Montisi
#1 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
175 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#6 of 17 in Montalcino
470 reviews
10.0 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#9 of 17 in Montalcino
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
12.1 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
679 reviews
15.4 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda del Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda del Castello

Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II, 4, 53020 San Giovanni d'Asso, Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino > San Giovanni d'Asso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Giovanni d'Asso
Price Range: $117 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Locanda del Castello 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Locanda del Castello is located in the old part of the small village inside the walls surrounding the Castle of San Giovanni d’Asso, which dates back to the Sixteenth century (1500), built in lime-stone and bricks. La Locanda was completely renovated few years ago trying to pay specific attention to details and retaining as many of the original features as possible. Simplicity, Elegance, Specific attention for details. These are the characteristcs of La Locanda del Castello Hotel. 9 Rooms in total, decorated in a refined manner with antique style furniture. 3 Standard, 3 Superior, 3 Suite. The all rooms have queen size bed. The difference between them is only visible in terms of size, as quality is maintained throughout the range. The suites have an extra sitting area. Each room has a fine view looking out over the village rooftops and over the soft Senesi hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your La Locanda del Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Del Castello Hotel San Giovanni d`Asso
La Locanda Del Castello Italy/San Giovanni D'Asso, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing