We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend this hidden gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Locanda del Castello
Monte Sereno, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommend this hidden gem!”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed at La Locanda del Castello for two nights in July 2012. Recommended by a work collegue, the place truly lived up to its billing! Upon our arrival, we received a warm and hospitable welcome from Daniela, who speaks fluent English and assisted us in a variety of ways including recommendations of towns which we should visit. The room was very comfortable...spacious and clean. The bathroom was well-equipped and even had two sinks! The lovely, quaint and quiet town of San Giovanni d'Asso served as a convenient 'home base' for two days of travel throughout central and southern Tuscany. We thoroughly enjoyed dinner at the hotel's restaurant...great food and wine!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dano13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    28
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
16
72
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed three nights in early May of 2012. San Giovanni d'Asso is a quiet village but close enough to Siena and other towns in the neighborhood so that you don't have to drive far to do lots of sightseeing. And it's a fun place to walk around on its own. The hotel has been renovated recently and is very comfortable and just modern enough, but still charming and old-fashioned too. Everything works, including wi-fi in your room if you want it. Daniela, the front-desk manager, was super helpful and hospitable, and she had many recommendations for us about where to go and what to see in the area. Daniela was great!
The view from our window was fabulous - we saw a full moon rise while we were there - it was quite romantic. The surrounding countryside is gorgeous, and you see a lot of it as you walk around the village. The restaurant was quite good. We enjoyed meeting the general manager, Massimo, who was hospitable and just a good guy. We want to go back to this hotel!

Room Tip: They're all good, but of course the upper floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My fiancee and I checked in to La Locanda del Castello at San Giovanni d'Asso in mid-July 2012. We immediately felt welcomed by the warm smile and charm of the staff, Daniella, who speaks great English.

The hotel is located in a 13th century castle and thus there are no elevators; that said, it was a short 10-step climb to our room, located on the 2nd floor. Our rooms was huge - very spacious, clean and well-decorated, complete with with satellite TV and air-conditioning (essential in the summer months). Over the two nights we were there, we had no problems with the cleanliness or comfort levels in the rooms at all.

Everyday, we would be greeted with smiles and have a simple breakfast in the restaurant below. Our concierge, Daniella, was most sweet to give us recommendations of where to visit and what to do, and helped us make a reservation at the vineyard tour at Avignonnessi.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel has its own free parking, so I would recommend you drive there. San Giovanni D.Asso is a quiet town, not touristy at all, and serves as a great place to base your travelling to nearby Tuscan towns from.

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd floor if possible, to avoid having to climb too many stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alvin12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crown Point, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
112 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Located in a 13th century castle, La Locanda del Castello, is next to the Museo di Tartufo, Italys first museum dedicated to the truffle. Like the museum La Locanda del Castello exerts an equally powerful effect on your senses. Your sense of taste, touch, smell and vision are all heightened by the atmosphere created by the owner Selvana and her son Massimo who make your stay at the inn very special. You arrive at the locanda piazza where a series of contemporary sculptures are on display then walk through the Castello drawbridge and into the castle courtyard. The intimate ristorante downstairs from the inn (very convenient) is rustic-Italian chic with a private veranda that overlooks the landscape of the town and valley below. When ordering, I would willingly take the advice of the chef whose Nouveau Tuscan cuisine and artful presentation were fantastici . I ate a delicious pici pasta with cacio e pepe (cheese and pepper) one night and another night wild boar ragu’ that was both delicate and bold. The caprese salad and assorted salumi included Lardo di Colonnata, a protected Tuscan delicacy that is particular to the region. My room was decorated with 19th century Italian country furniture combined with touches of French toile fabric to create what I would imagine to be the style of day when traveling from locanda to locanda. An evocative experience in Tuscany's stunning Crete Senesi.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The reception staff operate on a “casual” but very friendly basis so the waitress from the restaurant and the owner showed us our room - a decent size, so was the ensuite shower room. It was clean and the bed was comfortable, ample towels and ample hot water for the shower. Our room was in the main building, several centuries old with walls over 4 foot thick, but we were delighted to have effective AC. Our room overlooked the main road, but there is no traffic so noise was not a problem.

A decent continental breakfast was included with fresh fruit, cereal, cold meats, cheeses and various cakes/bread available. Free Wifi was nice. We had dinner at the hotel twice. We considered the menu it to be a little restricted but very good quality although a little pricey for what we had and so we decided to make alternative arrangements for other evenings but before we returned for the night – there probably aren’t any local alternatives.

Note – if you want to check out early, do so the previous day as reception didn’t open until 9.00.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagellansTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at La Locanda del Castello. San Giovanni d’Asso is a very small hamlet, with very little commerce or attractions other than the surrounding countryside. It is however a very good base for exploring this part of Tuscany. Our room was fairly small but was fine for a short stay. We were shown great hospitality from the staff, with recommendations on a local walk and also setting us up with cutlery and glasses for a picnic on our first night when the restaurant was closed. Breakfast was fairly typical Italian fare though there was some fresh fruit on offer, always a plus for us.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SidekickSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

My wife and I spent 11 nights here at the beginning of May. We were in room 8 which we highly recommend, large with a proper sofa & very pleasingly decorated. A good sized shower room with two basins, and fluffy white towels. The Locanda is at the end of a cul de sac, so very quiet. The approach street is peaceful and characterful. The staff, especially Daniela in the office, and the two owners, mother and son, are charming. We left a pair of reading glasses behind and they were forwarded immediately and in a proper case which the management had somehow obtained. It was a real pleasure to return home each evening. The dining room is atttractive and there is a lovely shaded terrace, also a small, high terrace on the other side of the hotel which we only discovered rather late. Mattress a trifle hard, but we quickly got used to it. Antony H

Room Tip: Room 8 is the best! Best rooms on the street side, no traffic and views over roofs to rolling countr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giovanni d'Asso
6.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
1,151 reviews
3.1 mi away
La Locanda di Montisi
La Locanda di Montisi
#1 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
170 reviews
6.4 mi away
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel...
#3 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hotel Palazzuolo
Hotel Palazzuolo
#2 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
398 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#6 of 17 in Montalcino
431 reviews
11.6 mi away
Castello di Leonina Relais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda del Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda del Castello

Property: La Locanda del Castello
Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II No. 4, 53020 San Giovanni d'Asso, Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino > San Giovanni d'Asso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Giovanni d'Asso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Locanda del Castello 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Locanda del Castello is located in the old part of the small village inside the walls surrounding the Castle of San Giovanni d’Asso, which dates back to the Sixteenth century (1500), built in lime-stone and bricks. La Locanda was completely renovated few years ago trying to pay specific attention to details and retaining as many of the original features as possible. Simplicity, Elegance, Specific attention for details. These are the characteristcs of La Locanda del Castello Hotel. 9 Rooms in total, decorated in a refined manner with antique style furniture. 3 Standard, 3 Superior, 3 Suite. The all rooms have queen size bed. The difference between them is only visible in terms of size, as quality is maintained throughout the range. The suites have an extra sitting area. Each room has a fine view looking out over the village rooftops and over the soft Senesi hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your La Locanda del Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Del Castello Hotel San Giovanni d`Asso
La Locanda Del Castello Italy/San Giovanni D'Asso, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing