We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quintessential Tuscan getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Locanda del Castello
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
“Quintessential Tuscan getaway!”
Reviewed October 13, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Locanda for a friend's wedding and, between the staff's friendly attentiveness and the picturesque backdrop of Tuscany, our trip was perfect! We didn't have a chance to eat in the restaurant aside from breakfast but the food looked great!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    26
    5
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
66
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

My wife and I just returned from a week in Tuscany followed by a week on the Amalfi coast. The hotel La Locanda del Castello was our favorite place, and the competition for first place was very keen. We landed in Rome, and took the rental car directly to the hotel. Daniella, the front desk manager simply can't be more helpful. She procured bikes for us, and gave us lots of useful information for the area. Our room # 8 was charming, large, with wood beams in the ceiling. The restaurant was so good that we ate there two of our three nights. Latif, the server, is friendly and helpful. The homemade raviolis were some of the best I've ever had.

The advantages of this hotel are numerous, beyond its obvious charm and good service. It is in a very quiet location, just perfect for recovering from a long flight. It is almost equal distance from Montalcino, Pienza, and Monepulciano making it possible to access these places by bike or car. It would be easy to discount this hotel since it is not in any of the big branded hill towns, but it shouldn't be missed. It is a great base to operate from to see the region.

Vic Arrington

Room Tip: Room 8 was excellent. It did not have a bath tub but the shower was just fine. I'm not sure how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victor a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, Ca. USA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This hotel is in a very small town that you can tour easily on foot in less than an hour. There's not a heck of a lot going on albeit we were there on a Sunday night when everything is shut (no car, no gelato!). Having said that, the hotel itself is very nice - located in part of an ancient castle. Our room was large and clean. The staff was very helpful and quite pleasant. After dinner in the courtyard, a band set up and played some very good R&B. We thought the singer was channeling Louis Armstrong, but he sang that way all night! I would have enjoyed staying there for a couple more nights and doing some exploring in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai Region, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We selected this location somewhat randomnly and what a find. We were there for 4 days and could have stayed longer. The staff is wonderfully accomodating, the rooms very comfortable and the scenery beautiful. But the best part was dinner. This area is famous for white truffles and they blend it into the meals and create a fantastic dinner. I can still taste the raviolis from 5 months ago....wow! The location is great as you can reach the popular destinations easily. I definately recommend renting a car. The roads are easy and signage fine. Don't be afraid to take a farm road and see the countryside. And to know you are coming home to a 900 year old castle, a gracious host, excellent wine list and tasteful dinner is a great day!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

After a long day of driving the back roads of Tuscany we arrived at the Locanda del Castello located in a tiny village in the middle of nowhere... away from the noise, lights and bustle of Rome it was a perfect place to spend a few days visitng several local wineries and olive farms. Daniela gave us wonderful advice on which of the many places to visit. The restaurant was as good as a five star restaurant anywhere. We were quite happy to have both suppers at the Castle as we did not relish the idea of driving those country roads at night! The room was spacious and clean very quiet at night. I highly recommend it.
Pat, Ottawa, Canada

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 456Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay here this past June for our honeymoon. The owner/representative (I can't remember her name) was English speaking, extremely nice and polite, and very helpful and accommodating. The room was very elegant, clean, and spacious. There was wireless internet in our room, and there was a computer there as well. The location is very convenient to many cities (Siena, Montepulciano, Pienza, and many more), and there are great views from the hotel. Because of it's location, it would be a great hotel to use as a base. The drive to and from Siena is absolutely beautiful, and we caught the sunset on the way back. We probably took about 100 pictures. The restaurant is also very good, but a little bit pricey in my opinion. We ate there only one night, but we thoroughly enjoyed it. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. We really liked it here, and I would go back if we needed a place in that area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmbell11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 10, 2011

I have been to this hotel (locanda is an inn in Italian- there are about 9 rooms) two times, the third and fourth times it was booked. It was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. Silvana (?) the owner was amazing. She sat and had a glass of wine with us on a number of occasions. My friend only spoke Spanish, but they became best friends in spite of that! The rooms were great. The restaurant was INCREDIBLE -- my veal and pasta with truffles OUT OF THIS WORLD. San Giovanni is a tiny place, and this hotel, and the Truffle Museum next door, are its highlights. It was such an incredible value and the drives to and from the hotel were so beautiful. Breakfasts were great except the cappuccinos at breakfast were made by (very kind) non-Italians and it showed! So I asked for an espresso and some hot milk instead, as was happy.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravelSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giovanni d'Asso
3.1 mi away
La Locanda di Montisi
La Locanda di Montisi
#1 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
172 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#6 of 17 in Montalcino
441 reviews
12.1 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#9 of 17 in Montalcino
141 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
1,162 reviews
6.4 mi away
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel Residence SPA & Beauty Farm
Casanova Wellness Center - Hotel...
#3 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda del Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda del Castello

Property: La Locanda del Castello
Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II No. 4, 53020 San Giovanni d'Asso, Montalcino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino > San Giovanni d'Asso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Giovanni d'Asso
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — La Locanda del Castello 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Locanda del Castello is located in the old part of the small village inside the walls surrounding the Castle of San Giovanni d’Asso, which dates back to the Sixteenth century (1500), built in lime-stone and bricks. La Locanda was completely renovated few years ago trying to pay specific attention to details and retaining as many of the original features as possible. Simplicity, Elegance, Specific attention for details. These are the characteristcs of La Locanda del Castello Hotel. 9 Rooms in total, decorated in a refined manner with antique style furniture. 3 Standard, 3 Superior, 3 Suite. The all rooms have queen size bed. The difference between them is only visible in terms of size, as quality is maintained throughout the range. The suites have an extra sitting area. Each room has a fine view looking out over the village rooftops and over the soft Senesi hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Locanda del Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Del Castello Hotel San Giovanni d`Asso
La Locanda Del Castello Italy/San Giovanni D'Asso, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing