We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Locanda del Castello
Reviewed September 29, 2011

We selected this location somewhat randomnly and what a find. We were there for 4 days and could have stayed longer. The staff is wonderfully accomodating, the rooms very comfortable and the scenery beautiful. But the best part was dinner. This area is famous for white truffles and they blend it into the meals and create a fantastic dinner. I can still taste the raviolis from 5 months ago....wow! The location is great as you can reach the popular destinations easily. I definately recommend renting a car. The roads are easy and signage fine. Don't be afraid to take a farm road and see the countryside. And to know you are coming home to a 900 year old castle, a gracious host, excellent wine list and tasteful dinner is a great day!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 108 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2011

After a long day of driving the back roads of Tuscany we arrived at the Locanda del Castello located in a tiny village in the middle of nowhere... away from the noise, lights and bustle of Rome it was a perfect place to spend a few days visitng several local wineries and olive farms. Daniela gave us wonderful advice on which of the many places to visit. The restaurant was as good as a five star restaurant anywhere. We were quite happy to have both suppers at the Castle as we did not relish the idea of driving those country roads at night! The room was spacious and clean very quiet at night. I highly recommend it.
Pat, Ottawa, Canada

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 456Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay here this past June for our honeymoon. The owner/representative (I can't remember her name) was English speaking, extremely nice and polite, and very helpful and accommodating. The room was very elegant, clean, and spacious. There was wireless internet in our room, and there was a computer there as well. The location is very convenient to many cities (Siena, Montepulciano, Pienza, and many more), and there are great views from the hotel. Because of it's location, it would be a great hotel to use as a base. The drive to and from Siena is absolutely beautiful, and we caught the sunset on the way back. We probably took about 100 pictures. The restaurant is also very good, but a little bit pricey in my opinion. We ate there only one night, but we thoroughly enjoyed it. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. We really liked it here, and I would go back if we needed a place in that area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KBSanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

I have been to this hotel (locanda is an inn in Italian- there are about 9 rooms) two times, the third and fourth times it was booked. It was one of the best hotel experiences I have ever had. Silvana (?) the owner was amazing. She sat and had a glass of wine with us on a number of occasions. My friend only spoke Spanish, but they became best friends in spite of that! The rooms were great. The restaurant was INCREDIBLE -- my veal and pasta with truffles OUT OF THIS WORLD. San Giovanni is a tiny place, and this hotel, and the Truffle Museum next door, are its highlights. It was such an incredible value and the drives to and from the hotel were so beautiful. Breakfasts were great except the cappuccinos at breakfast were made by (very kind) non-Italians and it showed! So I asked for an espresso and some hot milk instead, as was happy.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravelSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Beautifully located, elegant comfortable rooms with great views.
Wonderful English speaking receptionist who really recommended a wonderful few days of site seeing. Thank you.
This is a great location for seeing this area of Tuscany by car or walking- the views are ever changing and spectacular. The food in the restaurant in the evening is excellent, breakfast was OK, but processed packet ham and cheese of the international variety is really not on in such a location. That was the only negative, and as there were so many other delicious cakes and breakfast pastries it is hard to complain. One morning the lovely young man who served at breakfast offered to make us scrambled eggs for breakfast- as we were English!
Had a wonderful time. many thanks

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefan53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We were bicycle touring and had booked a year in advance. Apparently days earlier they had a plumbing problem and so two rooms were not available. But they deliberately didn't tell us about it until we were nearly there and so we had no choice but to accept lesser arrangements.

Three of us had to stay in a farm house several hundred metres away, walking up and down the hill (dirt country track with no lighting, puddles etc.) to have a drink, a meal etc. The farmhouse didn't even have a cake of soap! This was not what we were paying for.

When we left the manager did not apologise nor offer a discount. It was not until I expressed my deep dissatisfaction that he reduced the price for the three inconvenienced travellers somewhat.

So this was a potentially pleasant experience damaged by an untrustworthy and insincere manager.

I hasten to say that this was the only negative hotel experience that we had on our entire trip.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Patrick_Keogh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

My husband and I did not stay at the hotel, but rather had dinner at the restaurant, Ristorante del Castello. We happened to find this charming restaurant as we were driving from the Abbey di Oliveto Maggiore and saw a sign simply labeled "restaurant" on the hillside of the town we soon discovered called San Giovanni d'Asso. We walked up the hillside and entered the restaurant from the back where there were candlelit tables overlooking the Tuscan hills and a beautiful sunset. We decided to sit outside the front of the restaurant under a canopy, also with candlelit tables. It was a beautiful setting. Massimo gave us a warm welcome and based on his suggestion, we had a bottle of their house wine, La Locanda del castello. It was fantastic and we ended up purchasing a bottle as a nice memory. Dinner was terrific - get the white truffle and homemade pasta. We loved it so much we ordered a second round. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingPlats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Giovanni d'Asso
3.1 mi away
La Locanda di Montisi
La Locanda di Montisi
#1 of 3 in San Giovanni d'Asso
177 reviews
10.0 mi away
Le Ragnaie
Le Ragnaie
#8 of 17 in Montalcino
156 reviews
8.1 mi away
Hotel dei Capitani
Hotel dei Capitani
#6 of 17 in Montalcino
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
SI Montalcino Hotel & Restaurant
15.4 mi away
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
Castello Banfi - Il Borgo
#1 of 17 in Montalcino
443 reviews
12.1 mi away
Castello di Velona Resort, Thermal Spa & Winery
Castello di Velona Resort, Therm...
#1 of 1 in Castelnuovo dell'Abate
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Locanda del Castello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Locanda del Castello

Address: Piazza Vittorio Emanuele II 4, 53020 San Giovanni d'Asso, Montalcino, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Montalcino > San Giovanni d'Asso
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Giovanni d'Asso
Price Range: $116 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Locanda del Castello 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Locanda del Castello is located in the old part of the small village inside the walls surrounding the Castle of San Giovanni d’Asso, which dates back to the Sixteenth century (1500), built in lime-stone and bricks. La Locanda was completely renovated few years ago trying to pay specific attention to details and retaining as many of the original features as possible. Simplicity, Elegance, Specific attention for details. These are the characteristcs of La Locanda del Castello Hotel. 9 Rooms in total, decorated in a refined manner with antique style furniture. 3 Standard, 3 Superior, 3 Suite. The all rooms have queen size bed. The difference between them is only visible in terms of size, as quality is maintained throughout the range. The suites have an extra sitting area. Each room has a fine view looking out over the village rooftops and over the soft Senesi hills. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your La Locanda del Castello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Locanda Del Castello Hotel San Giovanni d`Asso
La Locanda Del Castello Italy/San Giovanni D'Asso, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing