We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and delicious,”

La Locanda del Castello Restaurant
Reserve with
La Locanda del Castello Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Relaxing and Yummy
Montepulciano, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and delicious,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Not the usual crostini and the eternal picci al ragu…..

Tuscan cuisine is delicious, but Tuscan restaurants usually lack of originality. How many times have we been compelled to eat "crostini misti" and "picci al ragu"? Not to mention the horrible house wine. Honestly, after a while, one gets fed up with it.

The Great Massimo rules this lovely medieval place benevolently. Knowledgeable and efficient staffs help him. Latif (AKA Ambroise) guides you through the menu; Luisa helps you to choose the wine that matches perfectly your choice. The talented cook offers a revisited version of Tuscan traditional cuisine.

Undoubtedly, the fun place to go when you are in Tuscany.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mdzbtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    39
    10
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Big Canoe, Georgia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Among the Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This should be number one on your gastronomic tour of Tuscany. My wife made luncheon reservations and were warmly greeted as we made our way to the terrace. Luisa our server answered our questions about our selections. My wife raved about the quail stuffed with bacon and onions, while I had the culatto with brioche bread and salted butter as appetizers. We skipped the first course and my wife chose the Cinta Senese Pork Fillet and I the grilled Chianino beef fillet. The wines recommended by Lusia were excellent. We finished our meal with a beautiful Chocolate Carrousel, as beautiful to the eyes as it was to the taste buds.
If you enjoy excellent food and wines, and great service, this is a must visit on your list of restaurants in Tuscany.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HappyTraveler34772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good food, reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

very nice service, good food, nice surringings in the middle of San Giovanni D'Asso. Open from 19:30 in the evening.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beata J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Really beatifull place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've stayed at a hotel and have taken several meals in a restaurant, and all of them was just brilliant! Exceptionally good food, very nice and kind staff! Highly recommended!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaD_YeTTi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Truffel Heavan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

You know the place next door to the truffle museum has to be good, especially if its up a long flight of stairs. Avante Tuscany-style, very well done. Excellent team and Maximo the owner is awsome. Great reason to visit this lovely town (and the truffle museum).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kenklark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locanda del Castello Restaurant also viewed

San Giovanni d'Asso, Province of Siena
San Giovanni d'Asso, Province of Siena
 
San Giovanni d'Asso, Province of Siena
Asciano, Province of Siena
 

Been to La Locanda del Castello Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing