We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing - lovely layout but poorly managed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
L'Orto Degli Angeli
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Disappointing - lovely layout but poorly managed”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Unfortunately, as often is the case in Italy with hotels in historic buildings, the service was not up to the standards expected. A very loud party was held in the restaurant, with music clearly audible in our room - when we telephoned the night clerk to complain, we were bluntly told that "it was to be expected" - frankly, when we stay at an upmarket hotel for the weekend, what we expect is a peaceful night!
The building is lovely, has not been overly restored so it is very authentic, many common rooms which are furnished as they were when it was a private residence, and a distinctly "non-hotel" feel to it. Fireplaces in the rooms (though ours smoked to much to be of much use), nicely authentic furniture - not a fake antique to be seen, plumbing and lighting excellent, but breakfast mediocre.

Room Tip: Ask them if ere is going to be a party in the restaurant - if so, be as far as possible or you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ursa387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    35
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
14
93
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Firstly I will start by saying that Bevagna is a place you MUSt visit. It is my favourite small town in all of Umbria, in fact Italy! It is the perfect base for day trips to Spello , Assissi , Monefalco, Orvieto , Todi and Spoleto. After staying there a week ,my partner and I felt like locals. Everyone was so friendly. Deciding where to stay- well in my opinion, there is no decision to be made. The only choice is L'Orto Degli Angeli. It is a little expensive , but worth every cent
( Euro). We were in the Fortunata room - it was HUGE and beautifully decorated. We had views of the stunning gardens of the hotel and neighbouring rooftops. The hotel itself was a medieval Palace and it has been tastefully restored and decorated to maintain the "palatial feel".
The staff are very friendly and helpful , and the breakfasts each morning were fanatstic!

My partner and i were in Europe for 2 months (in Spain, France and Italy) and our stay in Bevagna, and at this hotel, was the highlight for both of us!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We felt sort of honoured to be able to 'live' in a genuine Renaissance palace and for us this was compensation for the slight under-achievement of the hotel in other areas. As already reported the beds are slabs of concrete and I couldn't sleep, for 5 nights, although my husband (heavier and therefore able to make an impression in the mattress - just!) didn't find it a problem. I was disappointed that our bathroom didn't have a shower and when we arrived our room smelled of cigarette smoke which was unpleasant. Otherwise the furniture and furnishings were grand and the room spacious. The breakfast was one of the best we've had in Italy and we've been touring Italy each summer for 10 years now. Homemade warm croissants and cakes every morning and the offer of eggs cooked to order. The reception rooms were all grandly decorated as you would expect in any palazzo, and unlike other reviewers we never had any problem with wifi connections. We ate at Redibis each night that it was open because it was superb. The service, the menu, and the atmosphere - all utterly superb. What a thrill to sit under the vaulting of a Roman theatre 2000 yers old. We loved the medieval town of Bevagna, so charming, and perfectly placed to explore the surrounding towns and countryside. If we ever visit again we will definately stay at L'Orto though I might check on the beds first and maybe bring an inflatable mattress in my suitcase!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcus Beach
Level Contributor
168 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

It's hard to describe this hotel - it's like being transported back to medieval times or a film set. Everything feels as it might have centuries ago, including sooty fireplaces, draperies slightly dirty, and dark moody common rooms. The man on the front desk who does the night shift is decidedly grumpy, but Sourine who came to our room to 'fix' things was delightful. Breakfast was just ok. Our room was on the garden, and comprised 3 rooms - sitting room with fireplace (including the makings so you can actually light up), bedroom (with woven dark red throw which looked as if it had been retrieved out of a bin), and a strange bathroom with a sunken bath. We had no wifi (and no cable to connect my macair), no English tv (just to get the headlines which we like to do), and the handbasin cold tap ran hot water and the toilet flushed hot water. Sourine explained that the boiler was under our room and the pipes are too close together. A tray of wine and beer arrived by way of apology. Can't say I recommend this hotel, but it certainly was an experience. The hotel's Redibis restaurant in the remains of a Roman amphitheatre was quite good. The gardens are absolutely lovely.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the main building, and rooms in another wing which you enter by climbing the stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietraveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights and loved it. We found the staff very helpful. We did ask to change our room the first night since it faced the street and was a bit noisy. They did so with no problem . Our new room faced the garden and was lovely with a wonderful bathroom! The restaurant Redibis is amazing, The service and food were A+. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Bevagna.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSLFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

We chose Orto degli Angeli for our early summer wedding and it was one of the best decisions we’ve ever made. Having visited the hotel a few years earlier I was familiar with the understated historic elegance of the hotel and its setting, and it made a perfect location for our wedding. Alessandra and her team helped us through the planning stages, making suggestions and giving us advice where appropriate. In the lead-up to the event things ran smoothly and on the day itself they were always there in the background keeping a discreet eye on everything. We made full use of the garden for the aperitivo and dessert buffet, with dinner downstairs in the restaurant in between. The food was exquisite and very well matched. We had hired out all the rooms in the hotel for our guests, all of whom were delighted with their accommodation. Each room has its own style and layout and is beautifully furnished with stylish antiques; some have frescoed ceilings, others have sunken baths. We really couldn’t have been happier, it was a dream wedding and many of the guests described it as the best wedding they had ever been to. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

After rave reviews on TA and a glowing write-up in the NY Times, we arrived with great anticipation to spend two nights in a suite with a working fireplace. Immediately, the welcome at the front desk was tepid, to put it politely, and then we reached the suite and had a terrible shock. Though the ceiling frescoes were lovely and it was spacious, the furniture was rundown, the walls scuffed and in need of a paint job, and the bathroom barely serviceable for lodgings that were priced at a galling 350 Euros a night in a small country town. The bed was like a cement slab, with an itchy old blanket and just two pillows, no others in the closet. The hot water ran out both mornings we stayed here, and the wireless internet connection failed repeatedly until it finally went down and blocked our laptop computer with it. Breakfast was an dull affair with 'Tang' like orange beverage instead of real juice, and the buffet was dull and mostly composed of industrially made products. All told, this was an extremely disappointing experience after our sublime night at the Palazzo Seneca, one of the best small hotels in Italy, and the cherry on the cake was being charged twenty Euro centimes for a local phone call. Give this place a major miss.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InveterateExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bevagna
0.3 mi away
Residenza Porta Guelfa
Residenza Porta Guelfa
#1 of 8 in Bevagna
302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Brunamonti
0.0 mi away
B&B Porta Perugina
B&B Porta Perugina
#6 of 8 in Bevagna
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Agriturismo La Casetta di Chiara
0.1 mi away
Il Chiostro di Bevagna
Il Chiostro di Bevagna
#3 of 17 in Bevagna
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Orto Degli Angeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Orto Degli Angeli

Property: L'Orto Degli Angeli
Address: Via Dante Alighieri 1, 06031, Bevagna, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Bevagna
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Bevagna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Orto Degli Angeli 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A residence occupied by the same family since 1788, the Angels Mongalli Nieri, who have traditions passed down through the centuries and that, since 15 years, have opened their home for hospitality. The kitchen, furniture, hospitality and atmosphere have remained unchanged over time. Each room is different and wind up two different structures joined by a roof garden. Start your day with a breakfast buffet with typical products from Umbria, prepared by pastry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your L'Orto Degli Angeli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Orto Degli Angeli Bevagna, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing