We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms, lovely grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residenza Porta Guelfa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bevagna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here for five night while we toured the surrounding Umbrian towns. It is very well located right outside Bevagna. The rooms are really suites with both living and sleeping areas, and are very nicely furnished in a country Italian style with tile floors and stone bathrooms. The breakfast is bountiful and brought to your room (a really nice touch) by the cheerful and helpful host, Michael. Pool and grounds are well kept. The only small downside is there is some road noise which might disturb a light sleeper. Otherwise the place is close to perfect especially at a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: We liked our balcony room but there are stairs and it is closest to the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 312 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband decided that we were going to Italy this summer, and that we were only going to stay in smaller, less touristy towns so as to avoid the crowds. We found Porta Guelfa to be just incredible - a pearl among the other hotels in the area. Refined room decor and great attention to detail, and it was amazing to just open the windows each morning and be greeted by the most incredible green view. The pool was also lovely, and we took day trips to assisi and spoleto, so certainly didn't lack for things to do. The service people were kind and we've already decided to come back next Spring!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I loved this place: The room was modern and functional, but still had old-world character. The grounds, garden, and pool are lovely: A perfect place if you have children. There are a bunch of funky old bikes available, and the countryside is well-suited to bicycling. The inn is located just a half block from the old town, which means it's an easy walk in for dinner, while the residenza has plenty of parking. Michele was a wonderful and helpful host, really made the experience feel like Italy. Bevagna is the perfect small village to stay in while visiting Spelo, Orvieto, Assisi, and other touristed areas.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We booked into Porta Guelfa for 6 nights,because the reviews were so positive.The room we were initially given was a prime room upstairs,with balcony.The problem was,it was so dark;furnished with heavy,dark furniture,and the balcony faced a deRilict construction site rimmed with orange plastic.The hotel has no control over this,but the whole package was depressing.We switched to a much smaller ,cramped room downstairs,that opened on to a grassy lawn and was a bit lighter,but filled with huge,dark furniture.The breakfasts,delivered each morning were an insult:bread from a plastic bag,and do it yourself coffee from a machine.Wonder Bread in Italy????????
Michele,the manager was most cordial,and we so enjoyed walking into Bevagna for dinner each night.If you stay there,skip breakfast,walk into town for espresso and cornetti.

Room Tip: Check out a few.The best one is the downstairs one with huge doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginger20007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband Antoon and I, Tania, stayd last year at Puerta Guelfa. It was awonderful experience . Michele and his wife were very friendly. We stayd in an apart house that was cleaned evey day. The swimming pool was nice. You could choose every day whatever you preferred and evey day breakfast was brought at home. Have you ever known that people gave you vegetables to take home ? This just to illustrate how warm and friendly these people are. Ann address to remember and to go back. Era molto bene e piu !

Room Tip: Whatever you book will be fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed with our 3 little kids at this property. The room was a suite with a bedroom and a living room. The little kitchen with minifridge, toaster oven, and Nespresso machine was a really nice touch. The property es next to a litte medieval town. The restaurant associated with the hotel (in the town) is very nice. The food was simply amazing and with very local flavors.
Location is good for visiting Assisi, Perugia, and other Umbrian towns.The only reason to give it 4, instead of 5, is that the wifi never worked and it seemed like the staff didn't care much about fixing it. In other regards, the customer service level was superlative.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Beautiful and charming place, very nice breakfast, amazing bed and full bath also enjoyed using services - Turkish bath and Jacuzzi. Michael the owner of the place is a wonderful person. We recommend it has an amazing view, free bike and an amazing atmosphere.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yayanadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bevagna
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Brunamonti
0.9 mi away
IL Poggio dei Pettirossi
0.2 mi away
B&B Porta Perugina
B&B Porta Perugina
#7 of 8 in Bevagna
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Agriturismo Etico Le Grazie
2.2 mi away
Agriturismo Ristorante Casa Cantone
8.9 mi away
Hotel La Terrazza & SPA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Porta Guelfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Porta Guelfa

Address: Via Ponte delle Tavole 2, 06031, Bevagna, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Bevagna
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bevagna
Price Range: $66 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Porta Guelfa 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our residence offers comfort and service at a high level, in a quiet and suggestive contest. Inside the Residence Porta Guelfa you can find a small but exclusive natural Spa to regenerate the body and the mind, with a whirlpool, sauna and a relaxing area. The Residence has 12 apartments, softly furnished, that characterize the classical Umbrian style and all the comfort of the modern technological equipment: sky ppv, internet, tv lcd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residenza Porta Guelfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Porta Guelfa Bevagna, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing