We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Spot In Umbria”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residenza Porta Guelfa
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bevagna
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot In Umbria”
Reviewed November 17, 2011

This delightful small hotel combines all the elements that make for a great place to stay. The location is perfect for exploring the beautiful Umbrian countryside with vineyards, wineries, olive groves and hill towns only minutes away. The hotel has a bit of a country feel to it, although it is only a few minutes walk into the charming walled town of Bevagna. Bevagna turned out to be one of our favorite Umbrian towns. It is flat which is relief after hiking around the surrounding hill towns and has several very good restaurants. The grounds of the hotel are well maintained and the suites themselves spacious and comfortable. On arrival we were greeted and shown to our suite by the very enthusiastic manager, Michael. Michael left the next day on an apparently well deserved vacation and was replaced by one of the owners, Pilar, a charming and delightful woman with a very interesting background. Pilar
went beyond expectations in making our stay effortless. Thank you.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jfelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    74
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
70
170
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2011

hotel and manager Michele are just great! Rooms and place were clean and quiet, bed and bathrooms very comfortable. And anything else you wish to know about the town and surroundings you can ask Michele who will always be available and will be happy to help...Surely a place we will be visiting again!

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FadiH2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

We are a couple that stayed for 5 nights at this hotel and we have only good things to say about it. First of all the hotel is well-located making it a good base for touring Umbria, especially the central part of it including Assisi, Perugia, Spello and Spoleto. The hotel itself is set right outside the walls of Bevagna which is in itself a nice spot to come back to after a day of sightseeing.
The property is immaculate. The gardens and pool are well maintained and the rooms are large, beautifully furnished and spotless. The owner, Michael, was very helpful and this is part of what made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tt_stein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, Lancs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

The Residenza Porto Guelfa is a fantastic small hotel providing an excellent central base for touring the Umbrian towns, vinyards and countrside. The suites are superbly appointed with top class furnishings and equipment. This place is genuinely a real 'home from 'home. The immaculately kept gardens and pool are a great place to return to cool off after a days sightseeing. The 'hands-on' owner Micheal is very curteous and helpful and is very proud of his hotel and rightly so! He and his staff go the extra mile to ensure your stay is exactly how you would like it to be.
Due to the extensive gardens, the Porta Guelfa has a lovely 'countryside' feel to it, but you are only 2 minutes walk from the ancient walled town of Bavagne where there are numerous shops and restaurants as well as historic churches and buildings, some dating back to the 12th century. We would definately stay here again, and would have no hesitation in recommending the Porta Guelfa to anyone.
Howard & Diane (Rossendale. Lancashire, UK)

Room Tip: Speak to Michael - He will not let you down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2011

I have traveled to Italy many times (and to Bevagna as well); Residenza Porta Guelfa was a very impressive retreat after two demanding weeks traveling throughout Northern Italy. It was modern with comfortable beds, marble bathrooms, breathtaking views of the Umbrian hillside, impecably maintained grounds. The airconditioning was comfortable yet gentle (I could actually sleep with it on; something I can't even do at home!) . The pool was perfect after a hot day touring; not overly chlorinated and a perfect temperature OK: the breakfast was a little lacking, but it was nice to have the fruit and breads to munch on throughout the day; The photos don't do it justice, making it look a bit bare, but this is a very high end property at a reasonable rate. There is a comfortable sofa, tv's, kitchen in a cupboard with toaster oven and burners..what more could you ask for?
Bevagna is a lovely town, with easy access to neighboring towns. Yes, you need to be able to drive (and drive well; those neighboring hills are a challenge for the inexperienxed driver)and enjoy the simplicity of small town Italy; not for the American who vacations in Disney or Orlando. Thank goodness. Michael was a fabulous host.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily48228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

Brilliant place, friendly owners, free parking. Bevagna doesn't really have anything but is an excellent base to explore. Find Col Santo winery about 5 mins drive away. They workers showed us round and then free win tasting so as a courtsey budget to buy a bottle or 2 of wine. Very good wine and great prices.
Rooms excellent, clean and roomy with Balcony.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelor737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
penngrove
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 25, 2010

Gret value for the money - we had a suite of rooms including large living room/kitchen, bedroom, marble bathroom, all beautifully clean and in perfect condition. Also had a private patio attached to our ground floor rooms. Breakfast deliverd to the room at time of your choosing. Excellent location at the edge of town, feeling of the countryside but easy walking distance to town. Pool and spa available. Excellent host Michael was very helpful and he keeps everything running perfectly.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kayePenngrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bevagna
1.0 mi away
Agriturismo Etico Le Grazie
0.9 mi away
IL Poggio dei Pettirossi
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Brunamonti
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
La Bastiglia
La Bastiglia
#1 of 11 in Spello
453 reviews
1.7 mi away
Antico Borgo Carceri
Antico Borgo Carceri
#7 of 8 in Bevagna
8 reviews
3.7 mi away
Palazzo Bontadosi Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Porta Guelfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Porta Guelfa

Property: Residenza Porta Guelfa
Address: Via Ponte delle Tavole 2, 06031, Bevagna, Italy
Location: Italy > Umbria > Province of Perugia > Bevagna
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Bevagna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residenza Porta Guelfa 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our residence offers comfort and service at a high level, in a quiet and suggestive contest. Inside the Residence Porta Guelfa you can find a small but exclusive natural Spa to regenerate the body and the mind, with a whirlpool, sauna and a relaxing area. The Residence has 12 apartments, softly furnished, that characterize the classical Umbrian style and all the comfort of the modern technological equipment: sky ppv, internet, tv lcd. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residenza Porta Guelfa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Porta Guelfa Bevagna, Italy - Umbria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing