We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (201)
Filter reviews
201 results
Traveler rating
123
57
11
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
123
57
11
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews flight reception island scooter beaches
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 201 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2018

two fabulous days in a cozy „dammuso“ end of July. As a hotelier I can only congratulate Toa and Ezio for their little village of authentic „dammusi“, the traditional small and simple buildings of the Pelagian Islands in local stone, immersed in the Mediterranean scrub, each one with so much privacy and with a beautiful view of the famous Cala Creta Bay.

A warm thanks also to their staff for a service suitable for a stay in Lampedusa: efficient and competent but at the same time gentle, relaxed and discreet.

Lampedusa in the last few years, has been overused much too much. An island that, with the closure of the reception center for illegal immigrants beginning of 2018, has returned to its original vocation: tourism. Beutiful beaches and small bays called „calette“ with cristal clear waters.

I speak both Italian and Sicilian and talking to local people I found a lot of renewed energy and optimism.

At the moment 99% of tourists come from Italy but I am sure that the rest of the world will discover and will learn to love Lampedusa very soon.
I guess it's just a matter of flight connections with only some expensive domestic flights from Rome and Bergamo, but with cheaper flights from Catania/Sicily operated by the danish DAT.

Ezio gave us many useful tips and we toured the island on eBikes, a real alternative to renting a car or a scooter.

Congratulations also to the unforgettable Grand Tour of the island that they organized for us on the super gulet “Turkuaz”, a wooden two musted sailship in beautiful mahogany.

We'll be back soon. Gerhard Schuler, Taormina, Sicily

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrGerSchuler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

I highly recommend it....amazing service!!! The owners are very friendly...we were picked up from airport which was only five minutes away, our luggages were carried to our rooms...rooms were very clean and organised daily!! The hotel is situated just above the beautiful Calacreta rocky beach... Also the islands centre is only 1p mins awat from Hotel!!!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Paula B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

My boyfriend and I recently stayed in the Dammusi di Cala Creta and we loved the experience!
The hotel is in a stunning location on the island of Lampedusa (Cala Creta). We are very frequent travelers with an acquired experience. What made the difference in the Dammusi di Calacreta is the staff. Stunning service and willingness to arrange our stay. All of them are amazing. Our favorite was Giovanna at the reception. When you see employees with a smile (even the cleaning ladies who did an impeccable job) this is the sign, they feel at ease working there. Everything worked fine since our arrival where we were picked up at the nearby airport. We liked the fact that everyone is accessible and ready to help even the responsible person for this hotel. Danilo, at breakfast time was super kind and chatty Carlo very entertaining when it came to help us set services around the island. We also tried their Tunisian dinner. Food was really good. The dammuso is the traditional house on the island. We loved ours, as it was cosy and well organized. It was a few steps away from Cala Creta where you can enjoy swimming in a stunning natural scenery. Bravissimi! To end, we also appreciated that the staff is gay friendly. We really felt at home with them!

Giuseppe Bellia

Room tip: If you want to experience the real Lampedusa ask for a traditional dammuso. We asked for one without air-conditioning. Why? The characteristic of this type of house is to keep you fresh inside even if outside the temperatures are very hot!
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeddruPicciottu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

I've wanted to visit Lampedusa ever since I saw the film Respiro. Staying at Hotel i Dammusi Di Borgo Cala Creta did not disappoint - it is higher priced accommodations, but entirely worth it. Knowledgeable and friendly staff, pick-up and drop-off at the airport and in-town, gorgeous sea-views and clean, simple rooms. We stayed in a dammusi and enjoyed watermelon slices at noon. If you want to vacation like an Italian and enjoy simple life and relaxation, book here... :o)

Date of stay: August 2008
Trip type: Traveled with friends
6  Thank BrooklynSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

We spent two weeks in Lampedusa, in the Dammusi di Cala Creta. Our stay has been extremely relaxing, and life easy going, also because of the helpfulness of the staff. The rooms are charming and clean, not huge but definitely comfortable, with a private terrasse. Although there is no air conditioning, we managed to sleep perfectly thanks to fan in the room.

Date of stay: August 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Love_generation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews