We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten tourist path...local gem”
Review of Anthos Gefseon - MOVED

Anthos Gefseon
Price range: $17 - $29
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: In a small cosy place in Kallithea, Giorgos Gerardos (one of this year's Master Chef finalists), cooks daily only with Greek ingredients of top quality.Extra virgin olive oil, free range eggs and chicken, unusual meat like wild pork and buffalo, cheese and cold cuts from small producers, fresh vegetables, accompanied by Greek refreshments and unique wines. Open midweek 6pm - 1am / weekends 11am-1am
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Off the beaten tourist path...local gem”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was hands down the best meal we had in Athens and we had some delicious food over the days we explored the city. My friend found the restaurant in a Travel&Liesure article and we made a reservation for 9pm on a Saturday night. When we got there, we almost had the place to ourselves and the owner/chef explained that it's customary to eat very late in Athens, much like in Spain. This worked out great for us because the chef personally described each dish for us, including where the ingredients came from, in true farm to table style.

We had multiple courses, and probably could have shared more of them because we left totally stuffed and completely sated. We had delicious Grecian wines and topped it off with desert. When we got the bill we couldn't believe what a good deal it was for the high quality food, service, and atmosphere.

Skip the Plaka and go for the "Anthos"!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Rachel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    26
    6
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best meal of our trip”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Not your typical greek taverna! The chef used only fresh organic products to make contemporary and original recipes. Great atmosphere, young and fun. Super service, friendly and fast. Simply loved it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Masoub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious food, local restaurant”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

The best meal we had in Athens - roughly 5 minute taxi from where we were staying by the Acropolis, and found through a friend.

Small, local and very friendly - the menu was entirely in Greek, but the owner Giorgos explained each option to us in detail in English. The menu was all about locally sourced ingredients, and traditional Greek food with an original twist. The buffalo was incredible, and also loved the wild boar sausages. The house Greek wine was great too.

Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Athens - hope to come again some time soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pleasant Dining Experience”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Highly recommended by a contact, we dropped in last night. Located on a quiet corner, but wedged between two major thoroughfares, it is easy to find. A very nice space for dining, well decorated with a pleasant ambience, open kitchen area where George does his work is the focal point. Quality and presentation of the food was excellent, service laid back and charming. I had the buffalo biftekia, which were light in texture and flavour, beautifully prepared and presented. The house wine (Cab/Merlot, and I also tasted the Agiorgitiko - outstanding - and Xynomavro) was an excellent accompaniment. We were pleasantly surprised at how affordable the bill was. Overall, a top-class dining experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant in Athens”
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service and very good food. We eat a chef recommendation and all was excellent. Great "Dakos" and taste meet with potatoes.

Helpful?
2 Thank Horacio P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anthos Gefseon also viewed

 
Kallithea, Athens
Kallithea, Athens
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing