We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Negroponte Resort Eretria
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Eretria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 13, 2013

At the end of August me and my girlfriend did a visit to Greece. The first part of our vacation was a city trip to Athens and after a nice, cultural but intense visit to Athens we got to the Negroponte Resort for the second part of our vacation, the more relaxing part. Arriving at the reception we were greeted and our luggage was taken care of. We were shown our room. What a beautifull room! Large room, excellent view of the sea and a very nice bathroom with a large bath :) The bed was a square i think of about 2 meters on 2 meters and we had the best sleep in it ever (felt like home :) )

The breakfast was amazing: fresh juces, fresh bread, crosissants, eggs,yoghurt, ... everything you could wish for. Same with diner. Although its called a "bufffet" every day about 7 out of the 10 main courses are switched with something different but always very tasty. Fresh fish, meat, vegetables,rice , potatoes or french fries. And the dessert buffet is to die for !

Next to that everybody in the hotel is very friendly and willing to assist you in whatever you need. The owner keeps checking if all his guest are treated correctly, if the food is filled up quickly enough and i general is very caring for his hotel.

Special thanks to the lady at the reception that booked for us a private taxy to do a day-visit of the north of the hotel. The driver was very friendly, gave lots of explanations and spoke good english. The price was right for the quality.

In general this hotel meets / or exceeds any expectations you could have and is defenitely worth its 5 starts.

Keep doing what your doing cause its working!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bart G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 566 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Beautiful resort with magnificent service.
You feel like home after one day.
English and Dutch speaking.
Positive:
- very clean
-spacious rooms
-friendly service at the reception, bar and restaurant
-very good and varied main course
Minus:
Although the starters and the dessertbuffet are very tasteful, a bit more variation is recommended.
For some a blessing, for others a pity: there is no animation.
TIP: book on half board with seaview.

Room Tip: Book room with seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiencopNinove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I would be more favorable towards this hotel if it was not a 5* and if it was priced more moderately. However, taking under consideration these two factors, I was rather disappointed from what I saw. A nice pool area, comfortable room and small, but picturesque beach. Nice enough, but...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jolotravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negroponte, Owner at Negroponte Resort Eretria, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Dear WorldTravelgrl,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post on Trip Advisor. Your comments and critic help us improve our services.

We are a small Resort which offers a big range of services and infrastructure, from indoor heated swimming pool to soccer court and state of the art fitness room. We are a second generation of hoteliers who pay attention to details without sparing efforts for the well being and the best experience of our guests. We choose the best from local products to prepare the dining using olive oil from the island of Evia.
Taking into consideration the economical crisis in Greece, we apply prices lower than the competition of other 5 stars properties in the proximity without compromising the quality of our services.
We are very happy that you have enjoyed our rooms equipped with Coco Mat beds for best comfort. As you mention the beach is small but picturesque and the most important is natural! The mastic trees along the beach offer refreshing shade as the sea breeze circulates among the branches. The sea water is immaculate and the presence of the unique seagrass Posidonia Oceanica proves that. (One square meter of Posidonia Oceanica sea grass produces up to 10 liters of oxygen!)
We hope to welcome you again in our Resort and give you the feeling and the experience of the Negroponte Resort Eretria hospitality!

Nikos Stratis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Anyone wanting a relaxing break in a beautiful setting, should look no further than the Negroponte Hotel in Evia, Greece. We spent a week there at the tail end of August and the combination of great food and accommodation and friendly and attentive staff made for an all-round terrific family holiday.

Although a large hotel, it has the best characteristics of a small B&B - i.e. it’s family owned and they are personally involved in its day to day running. There’s a sense that they are genuinely interested in their guests’ wellbeing without being intrusive in any way.

The food (plenty of traditional Greek dishes) is also worth special mention. It’s fresh, locally sourced and well prepared. The breakfast is hearty and the perfect start to the day. Dinner is something to look forward to in the evening - the perfect end to a day spent swimming in the sea or relaxing by the Olympic sized pool. After all, what could be better than sitting on a balcony overlooking the Gulf of Evia, soaking up the view and enjoying a sumptuous meal, accompanied by a glass of wine.

I’m certain that, like us, you’ll leave Negroponte feeling relaxed and revitalised.

Thank you to the Stratis family and staff of Negroponte for making our holiday so special. We look forward to seeing you all again.

Room Tip: Suite 111 at the back of hotel, large and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhillipDiane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Fellow parents
If you are looking for a hotel that combines all the facilities that make kids happy and at the same time your mind relaxed look no further,Negroponte is the answer....
We checked in July 28th and we were supposed to depart August 4th,we only did on the 14th and only after there was no more availability in the hotel.
To make the story short:
Swimming pool excellent with the clean beach next to it,
Breakfast,lunch and dinner amazing(keep in mind pls that the hotel uses its own ingredients to prepare food)
Location very convinient(not even an hour away from Athina),
Playground for kids,
Matresses and pillows from cocomat,(supreme quality of sleep...)
but above all the professionalism,kindness and eventually friendliness of all the staff starting from Mr.Nikos owner and manager of the hotel going all the way to literally everyone working there,proving that in these tough times there are still people and establishments that do appreciate and respect someone's money for holidays,my sincere congrats!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexipavli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

its a really good hotel, they need some small changes but they are trying to do the best for our accommodation, if i had the chance i would visit again that hotel!!! there are many things to do even the the adolescents, like water-sports!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

Modern, perfectly situated and very comfortable, this resort gets high marks in all categories. A very family friendly (if you want adult only quiet go someplace else) resort which offers activities and boasts a friendly staff. Ask about meal plans. Breakfast is usually included but dinner (lunch in Europe) is an option. The views are spectacular, the pool refreshing and the beach, although rocky, just steps away. A perfect choice for relaxing or using as a jumping off point to explore the island.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike23b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eretria
2.8 mi away
Avantis Suites Hotel
Avantis Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in Eretria
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palmariva  Beach Bomo Club
2.8 mi away
Grand Bleu Beach Resort
Grand Bleu Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Eretria
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sun Rise Hotel Studios & Apartments
12.0 mi away
Almira Mare Hotel
Almira Mare Hotel
#4 of 6 in Khalkis
56 reviews
9.7 mi away
Petit Village Hotel
Petit Village Hotel
#9 of 12 in Eretria
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Negroponte Resort Eretria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Negroponte Resort Eretria

Address: 19th Km Nat Rd Chalkida-Kymi, Eretria 340 08, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Greece > Euboea Region > Eretria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Eretria
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Eretria
#1 Family Hotel in Eretria
#1 Green Hotel in Eretria
Price Range: $98 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Negroponte Resort Eretria 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is a family establishment and has been in operation since 2004. Since its opening, distinguished clients have shown their appreciation for the owners’ passion to offer outstanding services and accommodation in the most attractive setting. Our aim has always been to create a comfortable yet refined ambience accompanied by the best authentic Greek cuisine. The selection of fresh vegetables, fruits, meat and seafood from the local farmers is done with personal care day in day out. The in-house bakery and pastry preparation guarantees premium quality fresh, non – frozen, bakery items throughout the day! In a nutshell the hospitality of Negroponte Resort reflects the experience and values gained by the owners at Swiss Hotel Schools and in premises of Swiss Palace Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Negroponte Resort Eretria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negroponte Resort Eretria Hotel Eretria
Negroponte Hotel Eretria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing