We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The hotel we come back to every year”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Negroponte Resort Eretria
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Eretria
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“The hotel we come back to every year”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Our family comes back to this hotel every year. It has everything you need for a nice, relaxing holiday. The beach is very good plus there are many trees, in shadows of which you can hide on a hot afternoon. The hotel is good for family with kids and for couples as well. The sea there is exceptionally calm and very warm in the summer period. The breakfast on terrace is always a pleasure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarpeDiem_Travel14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    93
    32
    4
    2
See reviews for
169
165
10
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
113 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent New year's eve in this resort, supposed to be a 5 stars hotel...well I have been in more luxurius 4 star hotels in Europe. The place opened for Χmas and the feeling was that it opened just to have a good payday...150 euros per night for a dull dinner, personel that looked as if they were doing labor time in prison and a relatively small boring room, with CRT tv (please come to the 21st century), and a bathroom where the water pressure depended on whether the next room was also using it (must have waited for1-2 minutes on soap just to wash out. I must say though that the window was just on the sea, so in summer I suppose it would be rather more interesting. Also the swimming pool looked really nice ant the setting near Eretria, very appealing for families. The buffet had most of the things you can find in hotels of this nature. For New Year's eve, the dinner was to my opinion very poor and the entertainment for pensioners. In conclusion, I would not make this choise for a second time, at least for the winter, at such a high cost...

Room Tip: rooms with balkony at the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dominus73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negroponte, Manager at Negroponte Resort Eretria, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Mr Kyriakos,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor.
We would like to make clear that the rate arrangement you have agreed with your travel agent did not include lunch in the package, so the bad experience you had the first day of your vacation was due to the misunderstanding between you and your travel agent. Although our staff politely explained you that lunch was not included in the price of your room, your frustration was so great that you reacted aggressively and impolitely like being in an ordinary pub and not in a 5 star resort. Furthermore you have instructed our front office staff to contact another travel agency to pay, sponsor the lunch bill of that day on your behalf. Despite this bizarre wish, we have been very polite and understanding and we did so, although we do not cooperate with the specific travel agency.
Mr Kyriakos, Negroponte Resort Eretria opened in 2004 and since then operates all year round and has never closed down not even for one day. It is a shame and insulting to write that we open for Christmas just to have a good payday.
All our food is daily, freshly prepared in our hotel, including breads and sweets. We use the best ingredients and we are very proud for the very good reputation our hotel has gained for its cuisine. The fact that we do not give free lunches cannot change this.
Our prices are in the same level –if not lower- with the price range of hotels of the same class in Greece.
Our New Year’s Eve dinner started with a sparkling French wine. We continued with a Veloute of spring chicken and Sautéed shrimps with saffron. The main course was roasted loin of veal with Madeira sauce, pommes risole, Green apple and steam vegetables. Guests could also choose from a refreshing salad buffet with a great variety of seasonal salads, smoked salmon and trout and 5 sort of cheeses. For desert we let the guests choose among 6 different homemade sweets, Greek yoghurt, honey, fruit salad and sliced seasonal fruits. I would be grateful of a more constrictive feedback about the New Year’s Eve dinner.
The size of a double room in Negroponte Resort is in accordance with Greek regulation and it is 24 sq. m. To this you should add another 6 sq. m for a balcony just two steps from the sea and the beach and under a pine tree grove.
Our entertainment program was adapted to please all guest of different ages. I really do not understand why should we exclude pensioners from our entertaining program. Comments like this are shameful and socially unacceptable.
Mr Kyriakos in Negroponte Resort Eretria we consider our guests’ feedback and critic the most valuable tool to improve our services. We do not compromise quality for any reason.
With kind regards,

Nikos Stratis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Friendly people and wonderful view from our room
The indoor pool was excellent.
The gym has new equipment
The food was of good quality and the room quite specious.
A very nice hotel – just 1 hour from Athens

Room Tip: nothing to say - just pich a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryAthens_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umea, Sweden
Level Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

A very nice hotell, with beautiful view, friendly staff and food of good quality. The wine celler could perhaps be better, as the local wines are OK but not excellent. We also enjoyed the salt water pool and the spa area. The beach, however, was not to impressing - if that is what you are looking for on your holiday choose another hotel.

Room Tip: Room 249 is really nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We spent holidays at this hotel and we were quite satisfied with our stay. However we didnt like couple of things:
You have to make many extra payments - internet, drinks, spa... wich is nothing rare but taking into account how expensive it was, I found it a little abuse.
The beach is not sandy, wich is a bit unconfortable for some people, its nothing really especial, but its calm and private wich is perfect for relaxing.
The food is good but after the first week it started to repeat and we had enough, especially breakfasts.
Its completely isolated, if you want to take a walk, there are not many options.
The good thing is that really close to the hotel you can take the public bus that in just an hour takes you to Athens.
Its a nice place if you want to enjoy Athens and the island at the same time. Perfect combination, just overpriced.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piacheli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Great buffet breakfast and half board buffet dinner.
Under staffed with pool side staff hiding away with a grumpy face during the day.
Bathrooms need immediate refurbishment. Beach small but lovely and private with good, clean swimming pool.
Reception could be friendly and approachable. The Owner/Manager seems to patrol the public areas but does make himself known to guests or anyone!
If you do manage to order lunch or drinks from staff then they are of a good standard and rate.

Room Tip: Go direct to hotel and ask for sea facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ValentineWelwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is the only 5 star hotel in the central Evvoia and certainly the best hotel I have visited!
The amenities offer you a great opportunity to relax and enjoy a nice time throughout the year.
Wonderful interiors, good service and excellent dining, accompanied often by live music.
The personnel is very friendly and both the outdoor and indoor swimming pool are amazing.
The beach is just in front of the hotel in case you prefer the sea to the swimming pools.
Very close to the town (5 mins drive) it combines both a quite scenery and the opportunity to visit the town as many times a day you want.
Very reasonably priced too for a luxury hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARIA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eretria
2.8 mi away
Avantis Suites Hotel
Avantis Suites Hotel
#2 of 12 in Eretria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Bleu Beach Resort
Grand Bleu Beach Resort
#3 of 12 in Eretria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palmariva  Beach Bomo Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Sun Rise Hotel Studios & Apartments
4.2 mi away
Miramare Hotel
Miramare Hotel
#5 of 12 in Eretria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
12.0 mi away
Almira Mare Hotel
Almira Mare Hotel
#5 of 6 in Khalkis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Negroponte Resort Eretria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Negroponte Resort Eretria

Property: Negroponte Resort Eretria
Address: 19th Km Nat Rd Chalkida-Kymi, Eretria 340 08, Greece
Location: Greece > Central Greece > Euboea Region > Eretria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Eretria
#1 Green Hotel in Eretria
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Eretria
#1 Family Hotel in Eretria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Negroponte Resort Eretria 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Resort is a family establishment and has been in operation since 2004. Since its opening, distinguished clients have shown their appreciation for the owners’ passion to offer outstanding services and accommodation in the most attractive setting. Our aim has always been to create a comfortable yet refined ambience accompanied by the best authentic Greek cuisine. The selection of fresh vegetables, fruits, meat and seafood from the local farmers is done with personal care day in day out. The in-house bakery and pastry preparation guarantees premium quality fresh, non – frozen, bakery items throughout the day! In a nutshell the hospitality of Negroponte Resort reflects the experience and values gained by the owners at Swiss Hotel Schools and in premises of Swiss Palace Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Negroponte Resort Eretria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Negroponte Resort Eretria Hotel Eretria
Negroponte Hotel Eretria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing