We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in vegetables”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Restaurant Lerbach - CLOSED

Restaurant Lerbach
Price range: $35 - $61
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
200 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Excellence in vegetables”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

As Belgian people we do have our ideas about German food

All those ideas were killed after visiting this restaurant. Food, wine (if there is 1 remark to be made: wine list is expsneive), atmosphere, service... everything goes beyond expectations. We took a "vegetable-only" menu and we have been surprised by the result. Extremely good food and we did not miss the traditional fish or meat elements at all

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lialis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    9
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt3b
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Dream come true”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We booked this place after turning down the competitor Vendome in a castle near buy. The reason was that Vendome wanted a 5 day cancellation notice and a no show fee of 150 Euro per person ( not a mistake)

We enjoyed a perfect gourmet treat. We took the 4 courses "small lunch menu" and each planned and unplanned course were a surprise and a outstanding creation. The dishes were perfectly prepared and served as art works. The service outstanding and the owner came out to talk at the end with the clients.

If you are really willing to go for a 3 hours treat that is the best place in West Germany. The place is run by Nils for 16 years and every seating is a celebration for the guests.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank rcharit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A dreams come true”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Located in a fantastic place,with a swans lake,trough an hood,where the head chef is in the kitchen(does't happen often in this kind of restaurant)perfect service,fantastic wines list,incredible display of cheeses and dishes like a picture,no cheeper but one time in life must try it!Unforgettable

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zag16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
348 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Trying too hard to win back the 3rd star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

What does it take nowadays to get 3 stars? Some chefs obviously think they need to pack 10 different tastes and a food design of artistic levels into a tiny little appetizer. If successful, a dinner might be turned into an adventure for your palate. If not, the dining experience often becomes underwhelming. One of those is Gourmetrestaurant Lerbach. The cuisine aimes very high and serves complicated and sophisticated cuisine. The different flavors of the ingredients in one dish do blend in, but unfortunately do not create excitement. Only after one of the many dishes we had, our verdict was 'great'. Not enough for a dinner that expensive. We had better meals at restaurants of similar or even lower grade.

Also the service has room for improvement. It is professional, but too much so, somewhat obtrusive and lacking elegance and charme. And one big issue, one hour between sitting down until serving the amuse is definitely too long.

Our recommendation would be to simplify the cuisine. Less complicated and fewer tastes in a dish, but perfectly executed. This may not be sufficient for a 3rd star, but result in having more satisfied customers.

All in all, Gourmetrestaurant Lerbach definitely serves good, innovative and sophisticated cuisine at 2-star or 19 point prices. But we didn't like it enough to wholeheartedly recommend it or wanting to return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael-Traveller-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Out·stand·ing !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Gourmetrestaurant Lerbach lost his 3rd Michelin Star but it still deserves it.

The Degustation Menu is great. Every dish is tasteful. Products are of very high quality.

Service is perfect. The wine list is excellent and the sommelier is a true expert.

As we booked 3 dinners at the Gourmetrestaurant Lerbach, the staff spontaneously proposed after our first dinner that we enjoy custom degustation menus for the 2nd and 3rd dinners. And we were not disappointed at all. We enjoyed a total of 20 dishes in 3 dinners and even if two courses were average, all the others were excellent. A perfect mix of traditional cuisine and creativity.

No matter the Michelin guide and the Stars do not hesitate !

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Flo-and-Manu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Lerbach also viewed

Bergisch Gladbach, North Rhine-Westphalia
Bergisch Gladbach, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Bergisch Gladbach, North Rhine-Westphalia
Bergisch Gladbach, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Bergisch Gladbach, North Rhine-Westphalia
Bergisch Gladbach, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing