We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveler rating
4
11
4
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4
11
4
2
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 21 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2014

Hotel Hansen is located in Bergisch Gladbach, 5 (car) minutes of the center.
The rooms are situated above the restaurant and cafe of the hotel.
It has it's own parking space on the back of the hotel.

Hotel Hansen's staff is friendly (family-run atmosphere).
I stated here for 8 days: first week the room was not very clean. After complaining by hotel management, the second week no further cleaning issues.
Mattresses are floppy (I put two mattresses on top of each other...)

Rooms are spacious but old fashioned. Carpet on the floor, old tiles in bathroom.
No atmosphere at all. Breakfast was buffet style and ok, but not spectacular.
Wifi worked the first week, but was down the second week because of problems with the provider.
In the hall is a fridge with free water (still and sparkling).
Although the hotel is located at a junction and the cafe is downstairs, there is no noise pollution.

In the end, the hotel for me has more disadvantages than benefits.
Won't go there again.

Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank OCdR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

I've stayed in better hotels and I've stayed in much worse. The Hansen was clean, the staff were perfectly adequate, breakfast was better than some I've had and I was pleasantly surprised to find it was included in the room price. The location is in a suburb of a suburb, but if you're heading east it is usefully east of Cologne and the Rhine so as to avoid the congestion when you leave. On the somewhat negative side, it is at a crossroads which gets busy early in the morning, and if you're any early-to-bed person, the noise from the customers in the bar might annoy.

Date of stay: July 2009
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2008

This is a simple hotel mainly for travelling salesmen (or whatever they are called today - customer advisors?) it seems; it reminds me very much of the way German small-town hotels looked some 35 years ago. The last review is very accurate; the rooms are spartan but clean, and in the evening when checking in, it really seemed not very hospitable because of the smoking and (heavy-)drinking locals, which I admit some might see as convival. And the lady in charge was not very friendly.

And for my taste, the rooms are too spartan, but everything works, and all essentials are there. Plus, the technical equipment is on a high level - very good self-dial phone with direct line, free wifi which works very well. Add a free car park and a not fancy but sumptuous breakfast (excellent coffee, fresh rolls, good eggs obviously from a farm) and you have a good deal if you stay within a moderate price range (I'd say below € 60 - max. 75 during fairs). Rooms are not to stay in but to sleep; they are not for holidays, but for travelling salesmen and the like it is not a bad place at all.

Date of stay: July 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Aethelred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2008

Stayed here for one night on business. The hotel stands on a crossroads and has a small car park. My room was simple and modern and very clean, but the thing that stood out for me was the friendliness of the staff. I had work that made meal times difficult and they went out of their way to cook especially for me - and the food was very good. I ate in the bar which had lots of locals in it - they also have a rather nice restaurant where breakfast is served - the waitress at breakfast was especially helpful and spoke english very well.

Date of stay: March 2008
Thank JohnUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews