We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveler rating
9
7
6
6
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
7
6
6
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 31 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2017

We had a reservation for 30 people to have Sunday brunch - fathers 90th birthday. Reservation was appointed for 10.30. When we arrived at 10.30 the arrangement of the tables was not as discussed with the host. After a short discussion with the staff we rearranged them ourselves - no help from the staff. Counting the dishes on the table we realized there were just 25 of them. The owner asked us to be calm - at 11.30 the guests of the hotel would finish their breakfast and enough places would be available??? One hour after the time to which agreed??? Not a nice experience. Food for breakfast was average quality, price for a brunch with no specials except a pumpkin soup, smoked salmon and sliced roast beef was high at 40 EUR per person. No recommendation here.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank Jonlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2017

The hotel was booked on the 3/Jan for a stay on the 17/Jan via Late rooms, arrived at in the reception and had to wait 10 minutes before someone came to check me in. They could not find the booking on the system and phone call later, told they had the booking but it was not on the system and no room were now available. I have never had any problems with any booking via late rooms and can only think the hotel could get a higher price for the room and did not inform us it had been cancelled or they changed they minds on the booking.

They did manage to find me a hotel, longer driver and very late at night not what is needed after a 15 hours day travelling and meetings, The comment on leaving was the other “hotel is cheaper”, I don’t care about cost I just wanted the room which was booked over two weeks ago.

We have now taken off this hotel our business recommend hotel list for the group.

Room tip: Check and doule check the booking
Date of stay: January 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bshaw711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights for a get away/spa retreat. We took advantage of the Relaxation 2.0 package and extended the package an extra night:

"Early check in" from 11:00 clock in the morning
a cozy bathrobe and sauna towels are provided in the room for you
a day ticket for the sauna and spa oasis “Mediterana” (Germany's most beautiful sauna)
two nights including breakfast buffet
a 3-course romantic dinner in our restaurant "Waldstuben"

We chose the middle room price "romantic" and we were pleased with the room (#25) with a nice view of the Bensberg Castle. The large room was very comfortable and nicely appointed. The bathroom (tub with hand held shower though no standing room) and WC were seperate.
Breakfast each morning was very good and the dinner was excellent. It included a very nice serving of tender filet mignon among creative & tasty first and second courses.

The hotel itself felt like a well cared for upscale skiers lodge. It seems to be very well run with the family members intertwining their resposibilities in a comfortable friendly manner.

Reasons for 4 rating instead of 5:
"Cozy bathrobe & sauna towels "were not provided in room, but for an extra price in the lobby.
At dinner we were told that drinks were included, then received a bill for 50€ at check out.
Matress was too soft for both of us and bath ceiling was just too low.

We do recommend this hotel especially when the weather is warmer for a hike in the hills adjacent to the property.

Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kenda_Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2018
Google Translation

Room tip: Es gibt Zimmer im Haupthaus und in einem Nebengebäude - Haupthaus ist mE die bessere Wahl
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jochen M, Inhaber at Romantik Waldhotel Mangold, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews