We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (919)
Filter reviews
919 results
Traveler rating
640
164
72
26
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
640
164
72
26
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews schloss bensberg valet service beautiful hotel fantastic stay three star junior suite reception desk nice bar dali bar enoteca spa vendome luxury germany wellness minibar relaxation
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 919 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2015

The hotel was beautiful inside and out. The room was spacious, clean, and the bathroom was impressive. Location is close to downtown, even when taking public transportation. Staff were very friendly, and I thoroughly enjoyed the personalized service. This has been one of the best hotels I have stayed at, and highly recommend to others.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MyCheekyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffHotelGroup, Manager at Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2015

Dear guests "MyCheekyMonkey",
thank you very much or your fantastic comments. It is great to see, that you enjoyed your stay with us and to be one of the best Hotels you have visited is just fabulous!
Looking Forward welcoming you again very soon.
Best regards from Germany,
Katharina Lauterbach
Executive Assistent Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2015

Stayed here for business in May 2015 (3 nights)

+ great, friendly, professional service staff
+ spatious and very clean rooms
+ amazing location and views

But, these minor flaws were frustrating :
- wifi coverage is a disaster (frequent cuts, low performance & unreliable connectivity)
- limited amount of television channels actually worked (low signal)
- water temperature in shower is unstable
- room service breakfast menu is not replaced the next day once used

A special thank you to the bartender Kai in the Kaminbar. Extremely friendly, experienced and tended to all our needs!

Room tip: Front view is amazing
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffHotelGroup, Manager at Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2015

Dear Stephan,
thank you very much for your detailled comments and your time taken to write it.
We feel sorry that the Internet did not work properly. We just upgraded our system and it is also for us dissapointing to see, that the connectivity was not strong in this case.
In regards to the other points we will check with our technicians, why those Problems were caused. We do apologize for the inconvenience caused.
We hope to be able to welcome you again in our Hotel.
Best regards from Bergisch Gladbach,
Katharina Lauterbach
Executive Assistent Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2015

Stayed here over valentines weekend and had a very good time with my partner. The Kurfursten Suites are excellent. Lot of space, very clean, very nice bathrooms and comfortable beds. Although the separate blankets were a bit weird, a king size bed can have one big blanket dear Althoff.
Food is wonderful, both the Enoteca as well as the Jan Wellem restaurant serve very nice dishes combined with a friendly atmosphere and very kind staff.
The location of the castle is excellent, on top of a hill with fabulous views, and within 15-20 you are downtown Cologne. What more do you need.
Oh, and the staff? Very helpful and friendly, just like you would expect.
I have stayed in this hotel twice now and both visits I was enjoying a very comfortable stay. Will I return? You bet!!!

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank fanofluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffHotelGroup, Manager at Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2015

Dear guest fanofluxury,
thank you very much for such a wonderful comment about your stay in our Hotel! Fantastic to see that you completely enjoyed your stay with us.
Looking Forward welcoming you again soon,
Best regards,
Kathrina Lautebrach
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2015 via mobile

Lovely hotel - room was beautiful with a great view down to Köln. Lounge area off the lobby very pleasant - in fact if you can judge a bar by its gin&tonic then it was perfect! Spa facilities excellent. Dinner with matched wine at Vendôme was faultless, a fantastic experience.

Date of stay: April 2015
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank rjldunning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffHotelGroup, Manager at Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2015

Dear rjldunning,
thank you very much for your nice Review. Our Bar Manager Christopher Uhl would be glad to have the Chance to Service you again a delicious gin Tonic here in our Hotel.
Best regards,
Katharina Lauterbach
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2015

Excellent hotel.
All staff were friendly and helpful and dealt with all our queries.
Food tasty and beautifully presented.
Room service quick and easy to order, as my son didn't want to go to the restaurant.

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlthoffHotelGroup, Manager at Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2015

Dear Allison R,
thank you very much for your nice comments. Good to see, that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Looking forward welcoming you again in the near future.
Best regards to Amsterdam.
Katharina Lauterbach
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews