We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Champagne at breakfast?!? SOLD!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bergisch Gladbach
Certificate of Excellence
Mirabel, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Champagne at breakfast?!? SOLD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here for a night during our honeymoon. After arriving, we were sad we had only booked one night.

Our room was gorgeous, spacious, and the shower was to die for! We also had an amazing view of the city (see pictures). When we checked in, we were walked to our room by the front desk clerk to make sure it was acceptable. I really liked this. Made me feel special. :)

The funny part was, there were two twin beds about a foot apart. For some reason it had that request on our reservation, no fault to the hotel. They quickly pushed them together for us, and I have to say, I'm now considering this arrangement for our own home! :) I felt like I got to sleep with my husband, but got my own set of blankets,and didn't feel him flopping around in the night!

The front desk called up after we had time to settle to make sure everything was okay.

The breakfast buffet was good. I recommend trying the hotel's own line of jams, I fell in love with them. And there was champagne! The only downside was that I felt a bit under dressed in my sweats, as most diners were business men and in suits. You might want to throw on a pair of jeans before heading down, but there is no technical dress code. So wear what you want!

The grounds outside the hotel are gorgeous as well. We are hoping to go back and visit again sometime!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sycamoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    117
    46
    19
    12
See reviews for
88
352
30
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

impressive place to stay this castle overlooking the cologne valley. we stayed one night, but we were missing the last dip of exclusive taste at this place - maybe we need to book the suite next time haha. the gourmet restaurant is really nice and hard to match in the cologne and duesseldorf area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doraemonPEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Chose to stay here on reputation and the fact that we were dining at Le Vendome next door and always nice to be able to stumble to the room after!!

The outside of the hotel is magnificent on approach and continues on the interior.

The welcome was fine but a little austere. They were pleased to tell us we had a room upgrade but when we got to the room we discovered it no longer had a view as our booked room did. They did not seem so keen on correcting this other than noting in the booking that in the future not to upgrade us - hmmmmmm!!!

The room itself was fine and in a "Laura Ashley" style. The batroom was narrow and filled with marble and gold touches - not really my thing.

There is no wireless internet access in the rooms as there are no repeaters fitted. This is not mentioned when they hand you the code for the internet at reception - big fail! It is available by wire in the room or wireless in the public areas. Not good enough in a five star hotel these days.

The only real positive part of service was the next day when we had overslept and missed breakfast. The F&B Manager kindly organised a small continental breakfast in the lobby bar. This was perfect and just enough.

I strongly recommend the restaurant (Vendome) which is outstanding but I would give the hotel a miss.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wockinwod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We had a wonderful 2-night stay here, lovely staff, beautiful room, delicious breakfast. Free minib bar every day. Complimentary fruits in the room. The food in the italian restaurant was very nice, but the second night in Vendome was the cherry on the cake. We had a very nice table, beautiful decorated interior, tables have good spaces between them. Most amazing food, very tasty and beautifully presented. Room svice was very friendly and they brought whatever you asked within minutes.
The only downsides;
- the toilet of the Vendome restaurant is not on the same floor, so you have to take the stairs or the elevator to go there, which is a bit of a hassle.
- The parking price was shocking, we were not even informed that parking was not included, so at 22 EURO a day, a real unpleasant surprise at check out.
I would, however, definitely stay here again and highly recommend to anybody who does love special food and TLC.

Room Tip: Our room had shower in the bath, so if you do like a good shower, ask for a room which has a separat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RX3L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiptree, Essex
Level Contributor
157 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

I stayed here as part of a 2 day - 1 night - conference and as the sun came out, the beauty increased. The taxi ride up to the reception entrance is quite impressive - although reception itself is quite a small area in comparison. after that though, everything is on a grand, spacious scale. Teh celings are high, the standard rooms are large (and Suites are very impressive), the bedrooms are spacious and the service is discrete but of a top standard.
Of course, eating in the Michelin Star Restaurant is not cheap (maybe €150 per person) but the other food around the hotel is just as good in my opinion.

It is worth a stay for a night or two if you are visting the area although there is a "sister" hotel called the Schloss Lerbach which is also worth considering if you are on more of a leisure break - and there is a free shuttle car (BMW 7, of course) betweenthe hotels if needed.

Room Tip: A normal room will probably be large enough for most people and - if not - at the hotel their is usu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had our roadshow there and both the location, the service and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmjaypee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
268 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

I booked this hotel because of the 3 star michelin restaurant it has (Germanys best restaurant according to the papers) far in advance as a special treat for my wife. We stayed two nights in a very nice room (you don't need a suite in this hotel to get a nice room). Good service allover. Had a few drinks on the terrace and a meal in the italian style restaurant. This is a very nice restaurant, more informal.
second night dinner in the michelin restaurant. We choose the option 2 (about 10 courses I think) which was more than plenty. We had a nice wine (will be difficult to get a wine for less than € 100). Food was very good, lots of surpises, but it was not my best 3 (or even 2) michelin star meal.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ekholland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergisch Gladbach
Savoy Hotel
#12 of 278 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 stars 341 reviews
Hyatt Regency Dusseldorf
#3 of 243 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 stars 915 reviews
Malerwinkel Hotel
#2 of 13 in Bergisch Gladbach
4.5 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt-Nord
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
Excelsior Hotel Ernst
#2 of 278 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
Hyatt Regency Cologne
#3 of 278 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,895 reviews
Romantik Waldhotel Mangold
#10 of 13 in Bergisch Gladbach
3.5 of 5 stars 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg

Property: Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg
Address: Kadettenstrasse, 51429 Bergisch Gladbach, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Bergisch Gladbach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Bergisch Gladbach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg 5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a truly fantastic location, high above the Cologne lowlands and with a wonderful view of Cologne cathedral, one of the largest baroque palaces in Europe awaits you. It is the spirit of history that fills and enchants the 5 star Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg. The multitude of details from times long gone still tell tales of unique people and moments that characterise this building so much: Goethe and Beethoven, as well as Napoleon and the Medici family resided here. But today you can enjoy stylish luxury in the magnificent, historic chambers and in unmistakable Althoff ambience. Supplemented by personal service, Joachim Wissler's 3-star cuisine in the gourmet restaurant Vendome and a Beauty & Leading Spa that satisfies even the highest demands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Althoff Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg Hotel Bergisch Gladbach
Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg Cologne
Grandhotel Schloss Bensberg Hotel Cologne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing