We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (897)
Filter reviews
897 results
Traveler rating
627
161
68
25
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
627
161
68
25
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsschloss bensbergvalet serviceluxurious hotelan italian restaurantspa areathree starreception deskhotel barstar michelin restaurantdali barenotecasuitevendomeluxurygermanywellnessminibar
Filter
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 897 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had our roadshow there and both the location, the service and the food was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emmjaypee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I booked this hotel because of the 3 star michelin restaurant it has (Germanys best restaurant according to the papers) far in advance as a special treat for my wife. We stayed two nights in a very nice room (you don't need a suite in this hotel to get a nice room). Good service allover. Had a few drinks on the terrace and a meal in the italian style restaurant. This is a very nice restaurant, more informal.
second night dinner in the michelin restaurant. We choose the option 2 (about 10 courses I think) which was more than plenty. We had a nice wine (will be difficult to get a wine for less than € 100). Food was very good, lots of surpises, but it was not my best 3 (or even 2) michelin star meal.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ekholland27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The shear scale of this property is quite extraordinary. The hallways are grand and the original architecture quite outstanding. The service matches the first impressions of a rather special place and rooms are very well detailed. This is a hotel than can be utilised if you are working at Cologne Messe. You just need a car and at just 15- 20 minutes up the autoroute it is an easy journey (with direct access off the autobahn) so long as you miss the rush hour. Definitely a place to put on the 'must' list whether it be for business or pleasure.

Stayed: February 2012
1  Thank anthony r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the 4 days we stayed in the hotel - service is excellent; complementary minibar and fruit in the room (and even some easter cake) were pleasant surprises. Room was spacious. Dinner in Enoteca and Vendome were both excellent.
Only minor points as pointed out be previous reviewers would be the smoking in the bar, which still smells when you pass in the morning and the price of the parking (more expensive than the parking near the Dom in the very center of Köln) - luckily, there are alternatives, like in the Bensberg station which allows free parking with your ticket, or one side of the hotel where there usually some places. If neither of those options works, you can also park near the football stadion. It's a bit further and quite a steep walk, but you'll also discover some very pleasant walks in the forest which begin just near the stadion.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casteko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in a superior room. Overall a very pleasant stay, service leaves nothing to be desired. Some remarks on things that stood out, pro and con:

Pros:

Parking service. As there was a VW event going on it was nice not to have to slalom your car in between the expo cars yourself.
In your room you find a menu of different kinds of pillow to choose from. Makes for a great sleep.
Breakfast is buffet-style but you have the option to order a la carte as well. Special coffees and teas are available.

Cons:

A good chance that an event or wedding takes place during your stay.
The standard coffee served at breakfast was only lukewarm.
The Kaminbar allows smoking. Horrible smell when you pass it, even in the morning. Skipped the invitation by management to have a drink there because of this.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews