We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service, terrible neighbours”
Review of Freustil

Freustil
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Das freustil in Binz auf Rügen verwöhnt seine Gäste mit moderner, naturverbundener Küche von Sternekoch Ralf Haug. Neben Fleisch und Fisch ist auch eine vegetarische und vegane Menülinie im Angebot, so dass für jeden Geschmack etwas dabei ist. Der Innenraum verströmt eine lässige Eleganz und sorgt zusammen mit dem zuvorkommenden Service und dem leckeren Essen für ein rundum freudiges kulinarisches Erlebnis.
Reviewed January 27, 2018 via mobile

The food was both well cooked as well as interesting dishes and combinations. The wine pairing were a bit random, but not bad. Service was excellent all night, informative and attentive.
Unfortunately for us a couple with a +\- 1,5 year old daughter were also in the restaurant. And rather than placing the couple for them selves they were in the main restaurant were everybody were affected by the toddlers crying as well as them playing on the floor with her.
It affected my evening negative, and I was not expecting this in a restaurant like this where there were options to move them or at least make them aware of the effect on other guests.
It would have been a great night, it was at best average, and quite frankly poor for the type of establishment this restaurant wants to be.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank TNV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 322 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2017 via mobile

The one Michelin star restaurant is beautifully decorated ,full of small objects that make it unique .
The real surprise is the amazing menu : you can choose a 6 ,7 or 8 course menu .We had a 6 course and was perfect .For merely 60 euros we had amazing flavours exploding in our mouth and making our tastebuds going crazy and on heaven .
Each dish is served in a different unusual dish ,for the deer tartare was a warm stone ,for the scallop a half green glass bottle ,for the fish a long piece of wood ....
Each dish is served with a creative explication from the lovely waiters .Amazing presentation and great creativity but clean flavours .Loved everything ,the chicken with corn cream served with an herb coated quail egg ,fried and put in a nest was too good not to regret that I can't eat it also today .
Good wine choice and even wine by the glass not expensive.
Definitely one of the best restaurant where I have been so far in Germany .

Date of visit: August 2017
2  Thank Lella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017

Having been to many Michelin Star restaurants we had to try this one. We ordered the 7 course. I am a pescatarian and they had no trouble adjusting my dishes. All were quite innovative and tasty. I was already so full by the 4th course. Very good service too. We highly recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank T0niaYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2017

Great atmosphere and interior design, very friendly and forthcoming service, lovely 8 course meal with a strong focus on regional produce and fantastic wine pairing with mostly German wines - all in all a wonderful experience deserving of the high accolades. But the biggest highlight was that our two children (5 and 2 years old) also had a great time there for the entire evening, thanks to the caring and thoughtful service attitude. Lovely greeting from the kitchen also for them, a huge box with toys (all non-electronic) in our semi-private dining room to keep them entertained, two dessert courses also for them - they had as good a time as we did! Highly recommended for anyone who loves a great dining experience, also with children.

Date of visit: June 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CMAir77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2017

We visit Freustil at New Years Eve last year and return this year together with some friends. Thy serve us a 8 course meny with fantastic wines to every course. We will be back next year!!

Date of visit: January 2017
Thank Ann-Kristin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freustil also viewed

Ostseebad Binz, Rugen Island
Ostseebad Binz, Rugen Island
 
Ostseebad Binz, Rugen Island
 
Ostseebad Binz, Rugen Island
Ostseebad Binz, Rugen Island
 

Been to Freustil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing